We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow....!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Room Mate Alicia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Room Mate Alicia to your Saves list
Hotel Room Mate Alicia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Prado, 2, 28014 Madrid, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 458 Hotels in Madrid
Campbellton, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wow....!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We decided to end our month long family vacation in Madrid and we decided to stay at the Alicia after reviewing it on Trip Advisor. You will not be disappointed! Great location...great rooms....awesome beds....and a perfect ending to our trip. We got the breakfast added on to our hotel and well worth the price. The hotel is strategically located between the markets, palace and the great shopping in the plaza de sol. Very vibrant location as Plaza Santa Ana is one of the best spots in the city and when we come back to Madrid we will be staying here. The front desk staff, on our stay, helped us with booking travel from the hotel to the airport and they showed us where to go. The staff and housekeepers were tremendous. It actually felt like we were in our own home, it was that comfortable. I really think that this hotel could give any 4 or 5 star hotel a run for their money.

Room Tip: Any room is good :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Itziar C, Director de Recepción at Hotel Room Mate Alicia, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear Otoolenb

Wow .... !!! The title of this review is the same that we have thought when we have read it!!!
Many many thanks for writing such a complete and nice words to review our hotel.
We will be waiting for you back! :) A big greeting from all Room Mate Alicia's team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

844 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    429
    332
    63
    15
    5
See reviews for
63
516
51
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

The hotel has a very good location,at Plaza Santa Ana...it is very close to the Gran Via, Museums, Parque del Retiro etc. At the Plaza there are different choices of restaurants and bars.

Staff very kind and helpful.

Room Tip: The room overlooking the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Itziar C, Director de Recepción at Hotel Room Mate Alicia, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear Claudio E

Thank you for your review! We really hope you ahve enjoyed your visit with us. Hopefully we will see you son :) Kind Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

Excellent location, good value, friendly staff. The bathroom layout was of no concern to us. Although we were on the first floor overlooking Plaza Santa Ana, we were not disturbed by the evening noise. Would stay again and would recommend.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Itziar C, Director de Recepción at Hotel Room Mate Alicia, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear PB57

We would like to thank you for writing your review and share your experience with other travellers. We really hope you have enjoyed your visit to Madrid and felt comfy in our hotel.
It would be great if we will see you in a future! :)

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

This hotel is a pleasant discovery in madrid, a city I know very well: 1.it is perfectly located in Plaza Santa Ana, an ideal base to explore Madrid's city centre, nightlife, La Latina and northern areas of Chueca and Malasana, 2. the staff is very kind and available to resolve any need, 3.rooms have a lot of light (at least the external ones) and are furnished with contemporary pieces - a little downside is the toilet room...as the separating door does not close fully, so...if you want a bit of privacy you will need to ask your partner to leave the room!

Great value for money, clean, with personality...good spot really. Our small favourite hotel in madrid for now.

Room Tip: External rooms have more light, ask for one of these
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Itziar C, Director de Recepción at Hotel Room Mate Alicia, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Warpa

IS a pleasure to read a good review of a great critic and traveler like you.
We are pleased that enjoyed your stay in Madrid and felt comfortable in our hotel.
It will be a pleasure to welcome you in the future!

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Our room was quite large and decor was dramatically "modern". The hotel is at the corner of a quiet square, a nice place to have a drink or meal in the evening. Some reviews say the rooms overlooking the square are noisy - not so for me. The central location is perfect - You can walk either to the Prado, the Thyssen museum, or the old town center in 15 minutes. The totally amazing breakfast (only 8 Euros extra) was served adjacent to the lobby, in a space that becomes a Sushi bar in the evening. Staff also very helpful. Parking, if you need it, is available in a public parking lot, under the square.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Itziar C, Director de Recepción at Hotel Room Mate Alicia, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear kenw15

A huge thank you for your great words about Alicia
We are so glad you enjoyed our hotel and also the life in Madrid and Santa Ana square

Hope you can repeat with us soon in the early future!

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

From its edgy artwork in the lobby to the pop art on the walls of its postmodern rooms, aesthetically Room Mate Alicia was fantastic. The room was big enough for two plus a ton on luggage, and while the hotel didn't offer much in the way of amenities, its unbelievable location made things like in-hotel meals utterly unnecessary. Bed was comfortable with nice linens. It was surprisingly quiet at night despite our room location overlooking a busy street, and we didn't notice any inter-room noise. The walkable accessibility of the major sites was beyond comparison. If you need a place to crash that's surrounded by good food and lots to do, Room Mate Alicia really fits the bill.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Itziar C, Director de Recepción at Hotel Room Mate Alicia, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Krista F

Thank you so much for your opinion!
We hope you have enjoyed your visit and as we can read you really have enjoyed the city from inside.
We will wait you visit us in the oasis again! :)
Kind REgards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Great hotel, so glad I found it on trip advisor. Clean rooms, friendly staff, great location and Wi Fi that works. Travelled trough Europe and Marocco for 3 weeks and this has been one of the best places I stayed at.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Itziar C, Director de Recepción at Hotel Room Mate Alicia, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Karin O,

Thank you for your great evaluation
We really hope you have enjoyed your visit in Madrid and all your fantastic trip.
It will be a pleasure if we see you in a future! :)

Kind Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Room Mate Alicia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Room Mate Alicia

Address: C/ Prado, 2, 28014 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#23 Family Hotel in Madrid
#69 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Room Mate Alicia 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Splendia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Room Mate Alicia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Room Mate Alicia Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Room Mate Alicia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.