We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, staff, and breakfast all outstanding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Room Mate Alicia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Room Mate Alicia to your Saves list
Hotel Room Mate Alicia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Prado, 2, 28014 Madrid, Spain (Huertas)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 453 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
274 reviews 274 reviews
118 hotel reviews
Reviews in 127 cities Reviews in 127 cities
159 helpful votes 159 helpful votes
“Location, staff, and breakfast all outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

I can heartily recommend this hotel in central Madrid. It's within walking distance to the museums and all the main sights, sits on the corner of a lovely plaza with lots of outdoor cafe seating, offers a great breakfast, and has exceptionally friendly and helpful staff with good English. We stayed in a standard room, which while not large, was sensibly laid out and included a useful settee and table. It is important to note that only the toilet is private (NOT the shower stall), so you may only want to share the room with a significant other. If you are a jazz lover, be sure to go to Cafe Central for live music one evening -- it's just a block away.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Itziar C, Director de Recepción at Hotel Room Mate Alicia, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear Wanderlust777

Thank you so much for your kind opinion!
We really hope that your visit was great and you felt special in our hotel.
It will be a pleasure to see you again soon!

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

891 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    457
    346
    67
    15
    6
See reviews for
68
545
55
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

We stayed at this Hotel for 3 nights in May 2014. It was a great location with most places in walking distance. Although it was so central we were pleased that it was not noisy. Unlike other visitors to the hotel we found that the staff working while were there had limited English. The part that we were not prepared for was that the room did not have an en-suite although it did have a basin (in the room), loo (separated from the room by an ill fitting sliding door) and a shower (glass surround). Fortunately I was with my husband of 24 years so we were able to laugh about the room and lack of 'en-suite'. Not all guests may appreciate the lack of privacy.One reason I had chosen the hotel was because it had breakfast included which we always like before a day's sight seeing. This was adequate although I have had more enjoyable breakfasts in other cities. The coffee machine was very peculiar and took a certain amount of working out how to extract any coffee. On check out the staff tried to charge the full amount although I had paid a deposit. As soon as I pointed this out it was corrected however I had a feeling that this would happen. I suspect that this is tried on all visitors. While the hotel was OK we would try some where else should we visit Madrid again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Itziar C, Director de Recepción at Hotel Room Mate Alicia, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear Catherine,

First, we would like to thank you for your review and we hope you really have enjoyed your stay in Madrid.
We are glad to know that you have also realized about how special is our hotel design and the "open concept" of your room.

We regret that breakfast did not meet your expectations. The coffee machine grinds coffee at the time, that is why it takes a little longer, so that the quality is excellent.

Regarding about check out, it certainly was a mistake, and as you have commented, it remedied as quickly as possible. The most important aspect to us is our customer and your satisfaction.

We hope you come back to Madrid in a future and enjoy our beautiful city,

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

This is a good value hotel in a great spot in central Madrid.

I booked a junior suite for 5 nights and was really comfortable and happy. Everything you want to see is probably within walking distance, or, the hop on hop off bus stop is about a 10 minute walk away at Sol.

The room itself was really good, it had huge windows overlooking the square which were double glazed so you get the great view without the noise. There are also double blinds meaning it is quite dark. Once you close the blinds you would never know you were in the middle of town. There was also a huge bath against one of the windows, it was very nice to spend a bit of a siesta having a soak and watching people out the window (am assuming they couldn't see in!). The bed and pillows were also very comfortable.

There are a couple of spots in this hotel which need a bit of TLC, for example, there were a few stains on the carpet, and in a few spots some of the vertical blinds were coming off their tracks. But that is being very nit picky.

I had breakfast included in the package. It is really just a continental offering, with a coffee machine and a juice machine. I think they could improve it a bit by actually making coffee to order and having some fresh juice.

I would definitely recommend staying at this hotel though, it was a lovely spot.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the junior suite - it is a really nice aspect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

Alicia is a small, centrally located, cute, funky and modern hotel. All major attractions are walking distance from the hotel.

On arrival, we took the airport express bus to Plaza Cibeles (EUR 5 p.p.) and from there we walked to the hotel along Paseo del Prado and then Cala del Prado (approx. 800m). On the way back the bus does not stop at Cibeles, so we had to catch it from Atocha station. Atocha Retiro is 2 metro stops away from Anton Martin station (that is 2 blocks away from the hotel). It is possible to walk mostly down hill to Atocha (approx. 20 min).

We were staying 6 nights in a regular double room, facing the street and the plaza. The open plan room/bathroom makes the room reasonably spacious, however it takes a bit of time to get used to the glazed shower enclosure in the middle of the room. All bathroom fittings are of a very good quality. All is kept very well and clean. The bed was large and comfortable.

Very good and quiet air-con. Very good and stable WiFi.

The room is well insulated from the outside noise with double windows, even if facing the lively Plaza Sta. Anna. A bit different internally, not that well insulated between the rooms.

Very good buffet breakfast (EUR 8.90 p.p.) that could be taken without booking in advance and it is served until noon.

Nice touch: at the reception there are always jugs of cold water with orange and lemon slices inside.

Plaza Sta Anna is very busy and full of restaurants. Our favourite tapas was at Lateral restaurant.

Also went to Toledo by fast train from Atocha (EUR 20 p.p. return). The tickets should be booked in advance as it is a very popular route.

Last but not least thanks to the absolutely wonderful, helpful and friendly staff, especially Itziar and Jose.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Such a cool hotel - very modern rooms and the lobby is practically an art gallery. Staff were super helpful and spoke great English. I was so impressed when they told us that all guests can borrow a portable wifi from the front desk so that you have internet with you at all times while exploring the city! Probably the best feature is the location as it is very easy to get around on foot. The reasons I give it 4 and not 5 are that the carpet was dirty (stained) in our room and our bed sheets were wet which was a bit weird. Other than that it was a perfect stay.

Tip: try the vinoteca restaurant adjacent to the hotel - fabulous!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

This Hotel is situated on the corner of Plaza de St Ana, a absolute perfect location. We stayed in a Junior suite which looks onto the square on the 2nd floor. The room was a decent size with separate shower and bath and the bed extremely comfortable. The service was great and the hotel staff so friendly and helpful. A lovely buffet breakfast is on offer if required. The rooms are insulated, however noise can still be heard from the street below, but I must say it didn't bother me.
Excellent location and definitely recommended - great value for money.

Room Tip: Corner suites look onto the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

My wife and myself have recently returned from staying 5 nights at The Room Mate Alicia in Madrid. We booked a Junior Suite on the front of the hotel, and were not dissapointed. First things first, the staff were absolutely first class,nothing was a problem to them, I mean nothing.This hotel is idealy situated for literaly anything,from shopping on the Gran Via, to visiting museams and castles and anything further there are taxis galore outside the hotel.The breakfasts were adequate hot or cold.The suites are nicely furnished if a bit quirky in the washing and toilet arrangements, the bath being separate in the room, this was no bother as we both prefer showers.The views of the square were really good and you can sit and watch the world go by.The only downside was that being in 103 you could here the automatic doors of the hotel and adjoining resturaunt opening and closing at all hours.The rest of the soundproofing from the outside was wonderful.I would definately recommend this hotel but book a junior suite on the second floor.Finally this is one of the best 3 stars I have stayed in

Room Tip: The corner suites are large airy and light, but if your a light sleeper pick a suite on the second f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Room Mate Alicia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Room Mate Alicia

Address: C/ Prado, 2, 28014 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#41 Family Hotel in Madrid
#44 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Room Mate Alicia 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Splendia, EasyToBook, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Room Mate Alicia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Room Mate Alicia Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Room Mate Alicia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.