We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Talk about a find!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Room Mate Alicia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Room Mate Alicia to your Saves list
Hotel Room Mate Alicia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Prado, 2, 28014 Madrid, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 457 Hotels in Madrid
Asheville, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Talk about a find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

Great location, great price and great rooms. +++ extremely courteous and helpful front desk. Itziar, at reception, is one of the best in the business. Hotel is a modest size in the heart of old Madrid. Would definitely stay there again.
42 countries visited and counting…..

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Itziar C, Director de Recepción at Hotel Room Mate Alicia, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
Dear Jim2882

Wooow! I have no words! Thank you so much for your opinion!
It's a real pleasure to read that one does the job well.
This motivates to me and all staff to improve every day.
It would be great to see you again!!
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

846 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    430
    333
    63
    15
    5
See reviews for
63
517
51
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

I was traveling on business and had a tight budget and this hotel came up trumps. Personalised service with the receptionist taking the trouble to change my room when I asked for a quiet room on a high floor (having been allocated one on the first floor originally) and taking the trouble to do a quick internet search for me when I needed information on a local venue.

My room was a good size, with no desk but a good sized round table and chair that served as my desk for the one night I stayed. Free wifi was very welcome.

I loved the style of the hotel and the clear values based approach of the chain. An unexpected 'bonus' was the Universal Declaration of Human Rights booklet that was in every room. Two downsides that I'm sure would have been sorted out if I'd been staying longer and had picked up with the staff was that the room was incredibly hot, even with the windows open; and my safe didn't work. Breakfast was adequate but nothing spectacular and if you're not in a hurry, there are loads of local places that may be cheaper and tastier.

Overall, I'd definitely recommend

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Itziar C, Director de Recepción at Hotel Room Mate Alicia, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
Dear TheAmandaB

Thank you so much for your opinion!
We really love to read your comments, in this way we can improve day by day.
Our commitment is to make your stay as pleasant as possible.
Next time, we hope you can stay more days with us (and not just for working!)

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincoln
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Just back from our first trip to Madrid. The location of the hotel is excellent we could walk everywhere. The staff go out of their way to be polite and offer any advice or guidance There are parts of the hotel such as carpets that could do with replacing but generally it was very clean and well maintained. We werent happy with our initial room and although they were full that night - as soon as one was available the following morning they knocked on our door to take us to new room and ensured we were happy with it.

The breakfast although fairly basic was adequate for our needs and the fact it was available until 12 meant we only ate out once each day. Santa Ana square is packed with great bars and restaurants with excellent tapas to choose from.

Overall the hotel is good value for money and we would recommend it for the location and staff.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Itziar C, Director de Recepción at Hotel Room Mate Alicia, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
Dear K8T_M

We would to thank you to take your time write your opinion about your stay with us.
Your comments are really useful for us, in order to improve day by day.
We hope you have enjoyed Madrid and this is not your only visit to this wonderful city.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mosta, Malta
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

The hotel is situated in a good location & centralised. Minutes away from Plaza Mayor & other historical places. Our room faced Plaza St Ana & we had an enjoyable stay. All receptionists speaks English & were very cordial at all times. Madrid is a beautiful city but unfortunately it was filthy last week cause there was an industrial action re garbage collection & the local government cared less to provide emergency services.
I recommend to use the airport transfers, very reliable & affordable.

Room Tip: Our room was in level 2 & no complaints whatsoever,my only concern was that needs some maintenan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Itziar C, Director de Recepción at Hotel Room Mate Alicia, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
Ray_Zammit

We would like to thank you for your opinion about your stay in our hotel.
It's a shame that your stay coincided with the strike of cleaning.
We hope anyway that you have enjoyed the city.
It is a pleasure if you decide to come back in a future. We will wait for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

This was our first visit to Madrid and we stayed at Alicia twice during our stay in Spain in 2012. We stayed 4 nights at the start and 2 nights at the end of our holiday. We had an executive room with a spacious terrace which overlooked Plaza Santa Ana.

The room was modern, very clean, stylish and well-fitted with a separate bathroom; and although not a huge room, was perfect for a couple. The enormous terrace was great for relaxing outdoors. The bed was very comfortable and and we slept very well as the room was well insulated against noise and light.

The location is central to everything and we didn't use taxis at all during our stay in Madrid. It's within walking distance of most inner-city attractions and very close to major museums and galleries. The Prado is less than a 10 minute walk away and similar distance to Plaza Mayor and Puerta del Sol.

Santa Ana Plaza is full of bars and restaurants if you don't feel like going further away to dine. We loved the Miau Restauarant in the square and very close to the hotel; great food and helpful staff who were happy to help us navigate the menu.

The staff at Alicia spoke English and were always helpful with advice and directions. I would particularly like to thank the staff for organising an English speaking, experienced doctor to visit my husband in the hotel. They did this at short notice and without any problems; they were great.

They also looked after our spare luggage for two weeks until we returned to the hotel after our travels around Spain. We loved this friendly little hotel and its staff and will definately stay there again.

Danielle

Room Tip: Choose an executive room if you're not sure about the 'in-room' shower and also if you w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Itziar C, Director de Recepción at Hotel Room Mate Alicia, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Danielle

Wow! I think I am quite overwelmed whith this review...

We are really glad you enjoyed your stay with us and most of all, glad you felt the Room Mate vibe that we always try to make our guests feel.

We do wish to see you again in the future and send you our kindest regards.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Modern and stylish hotel on Plaza Santa Ana offers well fitted rooms , perhaps on the small side.Great shower with room for 2 if that's your thing.The location could not really be better as there is very little traffic in these narrow streets ( but plenty of people all day and most of the night). Restaurants, bars , the main museums ,shops etc all within easy walking distance.Metro stops at Sol and Anton Martin both within about 5 mins. Terrific hot and cold buffet breakfast available up to midday. Overall good value for money and well recommended, I would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms are more likely to be quieter as they are set back and do not suffer from street noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Itziar C, Director de Recepción at Hotel Room Mate Alicia, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Westernroadtripper20

Thank you for taking your time writing this review and for sharing your opinion with other people who could be interested in visiting Madrid
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we do hope to see you again the next time you will come to Madrid.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Madrid was the first stop on our Spain vacation. Room Mate Alicia was the least expensive hotel we stayed in and I was a little nervous about it, but it ended up being a great choice.
We upgraded to a Jr Suite on the third floor and our room was really spacious and had an amazing view of Plaza Santa Ana. It gets a little rambunctious in the plaza at night but the double windows and blinds kept the room quiet and dark. And the AC worked perfectly and quietly! For a hotel we both slept really well here.
Our room was pretty clean overall, except the carpet was pretty stained up. The public washroom by the breakfast area is nasty.
The breakfast buffet was just perfect, a pretty little room also looking out on the square.
This location is great, we walked everywhere from the royal palace to atocha train station, no cabs needed. Lots of restaurants nearby, our favorite was Ginger. Even the restaurants on the square which seem touristy were not bad at all.
Staff is friendly enough, helpful though there were fewer English speakers than our other hotels. No problem, i wanted to practice my (poor) Spanish anyway. The nicest person by far was the breakfast buffet lady.
Great hotel, great location, great price. Recommended.

Room Tip: the junior suites have the great windows that overlook the plaza
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Itziar C, Director de Recepción at Hotel Room Mate Alicia, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear KitchaMitcha

Thank you very much for leaving your opinion on this web page and for sharing your experience with other people who could be interested in visiting our beautiful city.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Room Mate Alicia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Room Mate Alicia

Address: C/ Prado, 2, 28014 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#24 Family Hotel in Madrid
#70 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Room Mate Alicia 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Room Mate Alicia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Room Mate Alicia Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Room Mate Alicia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.