We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Great Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Catalonia Las Cortes

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Catalonia Las Cortes to your Saves list
Catalonia Las Cortes
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle del Prado 6, 28014 Madrid, Spain (Centro)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 458 Hotels in Madrid
Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, Great Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2010

Catalonia Las Cortes was a great place to stay. The staff were efficient and friendly, with no issues checking in or out. We had a room on the fourth floor. The room was quite large with a king sized bed, or at least equivalent. The bed was a bit firm, but not unbearable. The room had a mini refrigerator which was great for storing drinks as it was quite hot during our stay in Madrid. The air conditioning in the room worked perfectly. The bathroom was tremendous with a gigantic shower stall, and also a bathtub with shower. So more than one person could shower at the same time in this large bathroom! The room was very clean also. You could hear noise if a person were walking by in the hallway due to tile/wooden flooring, but never at any time were there problems with noise. We did not use the restaurant, but the hotel was in decent walking distance to the main attractions and other restaurants. I would definitely stay here again!

Tip: The Cuban restaurant that is located across the street diagonally from the hotel is very good!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

780 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    507
    230
    29
    5
    9
See reviews for
131
403
51
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dobbs Ferry, NY
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2010

Madrid was our first stop on a 4 city trip thru Spain. I will admit that our impression of Madrid was a bit marred by the fact hat my luggage was misplaced and did not arrive until 2 days later. However, this hotel was lovely.

While the rooms are not fancy or plush they are well appointed. The bathroom was large and the shower was very good. The AC worked perfectly and the bed was comfortable. Our rate include breakfast which was very nice with lots of choices and very attentive coffee service.

The location is great - Plaza Mayor, Puerta del Sol, The Prado were all within a 10 or 15 minute walk. There are lots of nice tapas bars right on the Plaza. While there is alot going on in the Plaza the hotel was nice and quiet and we slept great.

This is really a very good option in terms of rooms, ovation and service. But if you are looking for trendy or plush, this is not for you

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2010

Catalonia Las Cortes was an elegant hotel in a comfortable yet happening area of Madrid. The staff was helpful with directions and holding bags before and after our room closed - the hospitality was notable for a large chain. The room was properly outfitted with a great marble bath, large bed and new television. We had beautiful large windows that looked out onto the street outside, and we opened them to let the breeze in during the afternoons (pleasant jetlagged siesta...). Everything was very good.

As for downsides, the overall facility had a surprising dearth of amenities with limited usable common space. One night's price was not cheap either, as i was there the weekend of the Champions' League final. To be fair, the next night was MUCH cheaper too. I would go back, and I would recommend it, but if given the shot I might stay somewhere with a touch more personality. From our mere two nights this was a very good but not excellent hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2010

We arrived at the hotel late on a Saturday night and were told that it was fully booked. The staff were very apologetic and said that the hotel would pay for a taxi to take us to one of their sister hotels (Catalonia Gaudi). We decided to move back to the Catalonia Las Cortes after one night. Although the staff were very helpful, the moves wasted a lot of time on what was only a long weekend stay, and we had to pay for our own taxi when we returned after one night at the other hotel.

The staff at the Catalonia Las Cortes were very nice, and all spoke very good English. They were helpful with advice on how to get to places, and kept the breakfast going a little while longer if we came down late. The restaurant was bright and clean, and the selection of food at breakfast was amazing.

The hotel itself was very charming and well-decorated, with spacious seating areas outside the bedrooms and a grand staircase. The room was very big, and the bathroom had a separate bath and shower.

The hotel is a minute’s walk from a square which was bustling with people sitting outside eating in the evenings. There was a supermarket very nearby which was convenient, and the metro station was a 5-7 minute walk away. The hotel itself was on a quiet street, and although there was some construction work going on outside, this did not bother us (there was no noise from it).

It is quite a trek on the metro from the airport to this hotel (you have to change lines twice and there are lots of stairs to manoeuvre if you have suitcases), and a taxi is expensive (at least 30 euros).

I would recommend this hotel for comfort, elegant décor, friendliness and location. I found it a bit pricey, but you may be able to get a better deal if you book early.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia, Pennsylvania, USA
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2010

This is a very nice hotel and we got a good rate of 130 euros for a single (which had a king size bed) and 149 euros for a twin (two single beds). Breakfast was not included and is rather pricey at 16 euros, so we went elsewhere. The rooms were very large and comfortable. The bathrooms are big and well stocked with toiletries. My only complaint is their odd lighting/air conditioning system which requires a room card to work so the rooms were very warm when we first entered (it was 90 degrees in Madrid while we were there). As previous posters have noted, it is a very short walk to a plaza with many outdoor tables for restaurants that ring the plaza. We can second the recommendation for the restaurant Lateral, which has wonderful tapas. The construction work has moved down the street so noise is not an issue. The hotel is well located within walking distance to the museums in one direction and the royal palace in the other.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2010

Great hotel that was walking distance from the Atocha train station. The hotel rooms are adorable and nicely furnished. Our double bed was HUGE and very comfortable. The hotel staff were helpful and spoke English. There is a nearby plaza with a restaurant by the name of Lateral. We highly recommend it. We ate 6 or 7 tapas and had beer and sangria and our bill came out to under 40 euros. The food was excellant. There is construction going on right in front of the hotel which kept the street closed to traffic. This was great so at night there was no noise from outside. Even with the nearby plaza and all the outside restaurants we were able to sleep without a problem. We didn't have breakfast at the hotel and found nearby places to have coffee and toast. Overall the location was good. We were able to walk to all the places we wanted to see. Very close to the museum and botanical gardens.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nijmegen, the Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2010

We had an great time in this beautiful hotel with very friendly hosts, in an ideal spot close to both the old center (with tapas bars and jazz cafes) and the Prado and Thijssen-B musea. The service was excellent, the room was spacious and clean, the buffet breakfast delicious..

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Catalonia Las Cortes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Las Cortes

Address: Calle del Prado 6, 28014 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro , Cortes / Plaza Santa Ana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#4 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#10 Family Hotel in Madrid
#19 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Catalonia Las Cortes 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Catalonia Las Cortes is located in Madrid's famous 'Barrio de las Letras', or writer's district, it is just a few metres from Plaza Santa Ana square and equally closes to the city's main shopping and leisure districts. Opened in January 2006, the hotel is situated in an old 18th century small palace whose interior has maintained all of the original frescos, as well as the main staircase and coving. This four-star hotel has 63 elegantly appointed rooms with every convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Catalonia Las Cortes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Las Cortes Madrid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Catalonia Las Cortes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.