We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Catalonia Las Cortes” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Catalonia Las Cortes

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Catalonia Las Cortes to your Saves list
Catalonia Las Cortes
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle del Prado 6, 28014 Madrid, Spain (Centro)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 457 Hotels in Madrid
Newburgh, Indiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Hotel Catalonia Las Cortes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This hotel was recommended by another trip advisor traveler. My 21 year old daughter and I were there for 7 nights at the end of March. The hotel was perfect. Great location. Friendly staff and wonderful service. Everyone there made sure our stay was great. We had absolutely no problems. I would defiantly stay there again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionLasCortes, Gerente at Catalonia Las Cortes, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Ann

I would like to thank you for your recent reviewof our Hotel. I am glad that everything was to your satisfaction .
I hope that we can be ofservice to you again in the future

Best Regars

Paula Camblor
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

782 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    509
    230
    29
    5
    9
See reviews for
131
404
52
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lijiang, China
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

it is probably the best hotel I have visited in the past years(and we spent there 6 nights!)
Great location -
it is in the center of the center.
walking distance to everything! great neighborhood, just you can say on Anna Square

Great, very helpful staff -
each morning we had a few questions and they assisted with those
they also did a check-In for us into the plan(we had a problem with it)
They booked us a few activities and gave us great local advises(not trivial!)

the room was clean and nice, but not big
we didn't experience any noise or other issues

the Breakfast - I'll say to decide by the prices.
the normal price for the breakfast is 19 euros! and it is a lot for one person for breakfast no matter how good it is!!
During our stay, it had a promotion discount so we did eat and enjoyed it.

special thanks to Venesa(I hope I remember her name correctly) She really was there for us with a big smile!
and to all other great service providers of this hotel !
even the person that was responsible of the Breakfast and the Bar was very nice!

Room Tip: higher floor(meaning upper then the first floor that is very close to the street and the walking peo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionLasCortes, Gerente at Catalonia Las Cortes, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear customers

It is a joy for me to read their comments. I really appreciate all your kind words about our hotel.
The entire staff is happy to read your comments, especially Vanessa.
It would be a pleasure to have them with us again

Yours sincerely

Paula Camblor
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

If you love art like my husband and I do, then this Hotel Catalonia Las Cortes is for you. It is perfectly located for sightseeing (right in the "golden triangle for art"), wonderful restaurants, and the latest events in this happening city, Madrid. The staff is extremely pleasant and helpful and the hotel facilities are very modern. The rooms also are spacious and immaculate equipped with all your vacation needs. Try it; we guarantee that you will enjoy your stay here.

Room Tip: Book on the hotel's website to get the best rate which includes an upgrade, if available, and a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionLasCortes, Gerente at Catalonia Las Cortes, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear customers

I am very glad to read your words about your stay in our hotel. It is a pride that leave with such a good impression of our Hote and Spain.
We hope to see you soon

Yours sincerely

Paula Camblor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

Just got back from a four night stay at the Catalonia Las Cortes. Our fist time in Madrid and the hotel made it a memorable and enjoyable trip. The tips given by tripadvisor were right on. Hope the following helps future travelers:

Pros:
-Location right on city center. Walk to the right of the hotel and you will get to the Prado Museum. Turn left and you will get to Santa Ana plaza which has some good tapas. Walk 5 minutes and you will reach Plaza del Sol. A larger plaza which is A popular destination for shopping and dining. Another 5 minutes will get you to Plaza Mayor which is the most popular plaza in Madrid. We felt safe walking in the area late at night.
-The staff was very accommodating and always greeting us as we live or return. Just like being home. We had a plumbing problem and you can tell they were very concerned and took care of the problem right away. They were very helpful with touristy questions and go out of their way to help you.
- The hotel is beautiful and very well maintained. You can tell that the staff are proud of their hotel. Our room was always clean and our requests taken care of right away.

Cons:
- No coffee maker in the room and if you purchase one at their restaurant it costs 2EUR.
- no iron
- Wifi problems

Considering the convenience and hospitality offered by the hotel - the cons seem trivial. We will be back at the Catalonia and will highly recommend this great hotel!


Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionLasCortes, Gerente at Catalonia Las Cortes, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear client

Thank you so much for your comment on this page. Add to thank you for all the time you has taken to write about our hotel and the recommendations for future clients.
All Hotel staff are happy to serve customers like you.
Regarding the wifi, we are changing the whole system in order to improve. We have available coffe & Tea facilities at Premium, Superior, Junior Suites and Suites rooms
We hope to serve you again in the future

Attentively


Paula Camblor
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Our two-night stay was very pleasant. The standard double room was not particulalry spacious but nicely furnished, comfortable, clean and quiet. The bathroom was actually luxurious. And the service was excellent and friendly. The breakfast, offered at a discount upon arrival, was standard. The location of the hotel is difficult to beat - being right inside the centrte, sorrounded by restaurants and shops and very close to the big museums. Overall, certainly to be recommended.

Room Tip: rooms on third floor overlooking the side street are very quiet and receive full light
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionLasCortes, Gerente at Catalonia Las Cortes, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Guests

Thank you very much for using your time to write a few lines.
It is a pleasure to know that your stay was pleasant, and the hotel, its location and service you liked.
We hope to have them back with us

Yours sincerely

Paula Camblor
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

I stayed here on a business trip and would definitely stay again. Nice staff, huge room, great location and an absolutely stunning building. Good restaurants at the nearby Plaza Santa Ana. I had excellent pinchos at a place called El Lateral.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionLasCortes, Gerente at Catalonia Las Cortes, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Erik

Lots of thanks for your review on TripAdvisor, we are delighted to know that our guests have a pleasant stay.
We hope to have you back with us

Attentively

Paula Camblor
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somerset
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We stayed here on a mid week break, the hotel was very nice. It was immaculately clean and all the staff were very helpful and friendly. It was in a good location for the centre of Madrid and near bars, restaurants, shopping and a great Flamenco bar.
I would recommend this to couples and would happily visit again.
The standard bedrooms were spacious and the bathrooms had a bath and large shower room.
We had a meal there one night which was nice and reasonably price. We didnt have breakfast as I think 12 euros was too much but we got breakfast in a cafe bar right next door. The only point that was disappointing was that we had twin beds.
I would go back to this hotel and Madrid but maybe in the Summer as it was freezing and snowing whilst we were there.

Room Tip: Ask for a double bed rather than a twin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionLasCortes, Gerente at Catalonia Las Cortes, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Customer

Thank you very much for your review of our Hotel . I am pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay .
I hope that we can be ofservice to you again in the future

Kind regards

Paula Camblor
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Catalonia Las Cortes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Las Cortes

Address: Calle del Prado 6, 28014 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro , Cortes / Plaza Santa Ana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#4 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#10 Family Hotel in Madrid
#20 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Catalonia Las Cortes 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Catalonia Las Cortes is located in Madrid's famous 'Barrio de las Letras', or writer's district, it is just a few metres from Plaza Santa Ana square and equally closes to the city's main shopping and leisure districts. Opened in January 2006, the hotel is situated in an old 18th century small palace whose interior has maintained all of the original frescos, as well as the main staircase and coving. This four-star hotel has 63 elegantly appointed rooms with every convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Catalonia Las Cortes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Las Cortes Madrid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Catalonia Las Cortes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.