We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well Located, Pleasant & Professional” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Catalonia Las Cortes

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Catalonia Las Cortes to your Saves list
Catalonia Las Cortes
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle del Prado 6, 28014 Madrid, Spain (Centro)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 456 Hotels in Madrid
Sydney
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Well Located, Pleasant & Professional”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Very personable helpful staff. City Centre location allowing walking distance or short cab rides to most attractions.
We were only doing a two night stay, visiting the Prado, shopping, and were meeting up with an old friend. The hotel was perfectly located for our needs. It was very clean, and well managed. Our room was full of light, well appointed and very comfortable. There was no noise, our room was away from the street on the 2nd floor and had windows on two walls allowing delightful morning sunshine. A good morning coffee spot was just down the street, and it was easy walking distance to an amazing array of restaurants and bars..which my old mate made sure we saw Many of !!.. along with a wealth of local knowledge on what was what & where best to get it, bless him... we've already booked flights to revisit Madrid next year and spend more time soaking up the grandeur and atmosphere of this great city. We may well stay here again. Great lollies at reception too hehe

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionLasCortes, Gerente at Catalonia Las Cortes, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Mr Dryden

As manager of the Hotel, I thank you for your feedback at Catalonia Las Cortes. I'm glad you liked both the city of Madrid, so we hope see you again.

Best Regards

Paula Camblor
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

798 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    522
    233
    29
    5
    9
See reviews for
135
413
52
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

A very nice hotel located in the city centre. I can really recommend this hotel. Friendly staff, very nice rooms (I stayed at the fourth floor and my room was HUGE) with everything you need for a pleasant stay such as a very nice bathroom, nice interior, a big and comfortable bed and clean and fresh. The breakfast was very nice with a high standard. A funny thing happened when I went down for breakfast at around 0900 and came back 40 mins later the maid had already made my room, brilliant!
Only negative thing I can come up with was the poor standard of the free wifi. When the wifi occasionally worked it was very slow (but it worked).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionLasCortes, Gerente at Catalonia Las Cortes, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear guest

Thank you so much for your feedback and recommend our Hotel. I'm glad that you liked the service.
Regarding the wifi, we are improving the system to satisfy our customers.
We hope to see you again , soon

Best regards


Paula Camblor
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Booked a double room. Staff are fantastic especially Esther, Caqui & Ricardo (Not sure of the spelling of the names). They are lovely and went out of their way to make us feel welcome, answer numerous questions, indulge my fledgling Spanish and be generally helpful.

Please note that only the superior rooms (much more costly) and above have extra facilities.
This hotel would have been perfect if they had just put coffee and tea making facilities in all the rooms not just the more expensive ones, all the others extras like bath robes etc we could do without 8-). I couldn´t understand why they don´t supply this basic service as the outlay for them is minimal. Perhaps they want people to upgrade to the next level?

We didn´t have the hotel breakfast as found a bakery round the corner selling freshly squeezed juice, coffee, toast etc for under 4 euros, a fraction of the price of the hotels.
The location is excellent. We ate at the reasonably priced La Parilla Argentine restaurant twice. Viva Madrid restaurent was overpriced for what it was. Great fruit grocery round the corner too and a Spa supermarket further past the square open 7 days a week.

The beds were way too hard though this could just be the way Spanish like their beds?

Well placed for all the museums. Just remember that most museums shut on a Monday, we did´t and this was no one´s but our own fault. :-p

Would consider returning if in Madrid.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room as Spanish merrymaking can go on into the wee hours especially over the weekend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Positive points:
+ brilliant location in the centre of town
+ large, well equiped rooms
+ cosy interior
+ friendly staff (with dutch speaking waiter)
+ elaborate & high quality breakfast
+ very clean , nice towels , free amenities in the bath room
+ free water and cookies on hotel room
+ free wifi
+ extreme large showers

Points for improvement:
- the (free) Wifi did not always work correctly
- slow coffee machines

overall : excellent value for money !

Room Tip: Room 111 is at the end of the hallway and facing a very quiet street. Perfect silence!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Small intimate hotel in a lovely location. Stayed for 2 nights at beginning of November on our way to Toledo.. Didn,t eat there but great location for restaurants, bars and sightseeing. Staff lovely and friendly. We would return there and to fabulous Madrid.

Room Tip: high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
239 reviews 239 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

On Calle del Prado near Puerta del Sol. The location is perfect for Madrid. What was more surprising was the hotel itself. The rooms are gigantic and decorated with a chic traditional style. The staff speak fluent English and go far out of their way to help you out with meals, bags, etc. The price point was surprisingly modest for Madrid. I have stayed here twice, and would repeat everytime I go to Madrid.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We had a great stay at the Catalonia Las Cortes Hotel. The staff were friendly throughout our stay. The hotel does a great job with combining historical elements of the building with modern amenities. Although our room featured a balcony with a street view, the double-doors kept any noise from entering our room. The great location is an easy walk to the Prado, the Reina Sofia, Puerta del Sol, and all of the great bars and restaurants in between.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionLasCortes, Gerente at Catalonia Las Cortes, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your pleasant coments, we really apreciate it.
We would like to accomodate you , in your next stay at Madrid.

Best repards

Paula Camblor
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Catalonia Las Cortes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Las Cortes

Address: Calle del Prado 6, 28014 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro , Cortes / Plaza Santa Ana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#4 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#7 Family Hotel in Madrid
#15 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Catalonia Las Cortes 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Catalonia Las Cortes is located in Madrid's famous 'Barrio de las Letras', or writer's district, it is just a few metres from Plaza Santa Ana square and equally closes to the city's main shopping and leisure districts. Opened in January 2006, the hotel is situated in an old 18th century small palace whose interior has maintained all of the original frescos, as well as the main staircase and coving. This four-star hotel has 63 elegantly appointed rooms with every convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Catalonia Las Cortes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Las Cortes Madrid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Catalonia Las Cortes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.