We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Catalonia Las Cortes

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Catalonia Las Cortes to your Saves list
Catalonia Las Cortes
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle del Prado 6, 28014 Madrid, Spain (Huertas)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 452 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good value for money!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

A very nice hotel located in the city centre. I can really recommend this hotel. Friendly staff, very nice rooms (I stayed at the fourth floor and my room was HUGE) with everything you need for a pleasant stay such as a very nice bathroom, nice interior, a big and comfortable bed and clean and fresh. The breakfast was very nice with a high standard. A funny thing happened when I went down for breakfast at around 0900 and came back 40 mins later the maid had already made my room, brilliant!
Only negative thing I can come up with was the poor standard of the free wifi. When the wifi occasionally worked it was very slow (but it worked).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionLasCortes, Gerente at Catalonia Las Cortes, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear guest

Thank you so much for your feedback and recommend our Hotel. I'm glad that you liked the service.
Regarding the wifi, we are improving the system to satisfy our customers.
We hope to see you again , soon

Best regards


Paula Camblor
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

932 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    617
    268
    31
    6
    10
See reviews for
166
483
58
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Booked a double room. Staff are fantastic especially Esther, Caqui & Ricardo (Not sure of the spelling of the names). They are lovely and went out of their way to make us feel welcome, answer numerous questions, indulge my fledgling Spanish and be generally helpful.

Please note that only the superior rooms (much more costly) and above have extra facilities.
This hotel would have been perfect if they had just put coffee and tea making facilities in all the rooms not just the more expensive ones, all the others extras like bath robes etc we could do without 8-). I couldn´t understand why they don´t supply this basic service as the outlay for them is minimal. Perhaps they want people to upgrade to the next level?

We didn´t have the hotel breakfast as found a bakery round the corner selling freshly squeezed juice, coffee, toast etc for under 4 euros, a fraction of the price of the hotels.
The location is excellent. We ate at the reasonably priced La Parilla Argentine restaurant twice. Viva Madrid restaurent was overpriced for what it was. Great fruit grocery round the corner too and a Spa supermarket further past the square open 7 days a week.

The beds were way too hard though this could just be the way Spanish like their beds?

Well placed for all the museums. Just remember that most museums shut on a Monday, we did´t and this was no one´s but our own fault. :-p

Would consider returning if in Madrid.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room as Spanish merrymaking can go on into the wee hours especially over the weekend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
125 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Positive points:
+ brilliant location in the centre of town
+ large, well equiped rooms
+ cosy interior
+ friendly staff (with dutch speaking waiter)
+ elaborate & high quality breakfast
+ very clean , nice towels , free amenities in the bath room
+ free water and cookies on hotel room
+ free wifi
+ extreme large showers

Points for improvement:
- the (free) Wifi did not always work correctly
- slow coffee machines

overall : excellent value for money !

Room Tip: Room 111 is at the end of the hallway and facing a very quiet street. Perfect silence!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Small intimate hotel in a lovely location. Stayed for 2 nights at beginning of November on our way to Toledo.. Didn,t eat there but great location for restaurants, bars and sightseeing. Staff lovely and friendly. We would return there and to fabulous Madrid.

Room Tip: high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
241 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

On Calle del Prado near Puerta del Sol. The location is perfect for Madrid. What was more surprising was the hotel itself. The rooms are gigantic and decorated with a chic traditional style. The staff speak fluent English and go far out of their way to help you out with meals, bags, etc. The price point was surprisingly modest for Madrid. I have stayed here twice, and would repeat everytime I go to Madrid.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We had a great stay at the Catalonia Las Cortes Hotel. The staff were friendly throughout our stay. The hotel does a great job with combining historical elements of the building with modern amenities. Although our room featured a balcony with a street view, the double-doors kept any noise from entering our room. The great location is an easy walk to the Prado, the Reina Sofia, Puerta del Sol, and all of the great bars and restaurants in between.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionLasCortes, Gerente at Catalonia Las Cortes, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your pleasant coments, we really apreciate it.
We would like to accomodate you , in your next stay at Madrid.

Best repards

Paula Camblor
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaftesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We stayed here for three nights with our seven year old daughter. As other reviews mention, it is very well located within walking distance of Prado, Retiro park (good for children) and right beside Plaza St Ana which is fun and lively. We had booked an ordinary double room but when we arrived, we felt it was a little small by the time the foldaway bed was put up for our daughter. We asked if they had a bigger room, which luckily they did although we had to upgrade (approx 50 euros a night), however it was well worth it as the extra room made all the difference. The staff were very helpful and always cheerful and although our room was on the street side, you don't hear any noise because of the double glazing. Would thoroughly recommend and would stay again although as some other reviews have mentioned, we also did not have the all you can eat breakfast in the hotel @ 19 euros each, choosing to go and find a cafe nearby.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionLasCortes, Gerente at Catalonia Las Cortes, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear Olivia

Thank you very much for your pleasant coments, we really apreciate it.
We are happy you liked our Free Snack Buffet
We would like to acomodate you in your next stay

Best Regards

Paula Camblor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Chueca
Only You Hotel & Lounge
Only You Hotel & Lounge
#2 of 452 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 stars 574 reviews
Malasana
Hotel Atlantico
Hotel Atlantico
#8 of 452 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 stars 2,720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hotel Preciados
Hotel Preciados
#7 of 452 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 stars 2,474 reviews
Chamberi
Hotel Orfila
Hotel Orfila
#1 of 452 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 stars 433 reviews
Lavapies
Artrip Hotel
Artrip Hotel
#3 of 452 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 stars 824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Las Cortes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Las Cortes

Address: Calle del Prado 6, 28014 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#4 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#8 Family Hotel in Madrid
#56 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Catalonia Las Cortes 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Catalonia Las Cortes is located in Madrid's famous 'Barrio de las Letras', or writer's district, it is just a few metres from Plaza Santa Ana square and equally closes to the city's main shopping and leisure districts. Opened in January 2006, the hotel is situated in an old 18th century small palace whose interior has maintained all of the original frescos, as well as the main staircase and coving. This four-star hotel has 63 elegantly appointed rooms with every convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Catalonia Las Cortes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Las Cortes Madrid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Catalonia Las Cortes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.