We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Silken Puerta America

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Silken Puerta America to your Saves list
Silken Puerta America
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida de America 41, 28002 Madrid, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #103 of 453 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Incredibile design. Every floor is designed differently. Great staff and services. Enjoyed it a lot. Great food. Î loved the bathroom, very spacious bath tub.room service sas great, brought us ice and blankets, beside the food we ordered. :)

Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valeria K, Public Relations Manager at Silken Puerta America, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Anca M,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments on Tripadvisor.

We are glad to know that you enjoyed your experience at the Silken Puerta América.

Thank you for your time and we look forward to welcoming you back!

Kind regards,

Valeria Knop
PR & Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    564
    462
    134
    46
    34
See reviews for
87
617
66
282
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Curitiba, PR
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed 2 nights at the 10th floor, which has an interesting design, kind of modern japanese style based. Nice glass elevators with a great view of the city. Rooms were a bit small, great bathroom and nice designed bathtube on wood. Confy king size bed, automated room light system was cool to play with. Close to metro station and free airport shuttle is a plus. Almost forgot, something I enjoyed was the front desk allowing us to choose which floor to stay, showing through an ipad photos of the different floor/room styles.

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Good hotel,(even if the front girl was actually rude)
Also if you want to eat breakfast at the hotel make sure you purchase that in your holiday package if not it will cost you an extra 22 euro per person.

Room Tip: any rooms but the smoking ones,the vent is to loud so you cant rest
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valeria K, Public Relations Manager at Silken Puerta America, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear myca25,

Thank you very much for choosing the Silken Puerta America during your recent stay at Madrid.

Firstly, I am pleased to know that you give us a generally positive assessment.

However, we regret to hear your comments regarding our front desk staff, we work hard to ensure that every guest feels like home and it’s saddening to know that in this occasion we did not come up to the standards of excellence and quality we would like to offer.

Thank you for your time and we look forward to welcoming you back!

Valeria Knop
PR & Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Puerta America provided a very pleasant stay in Madrid. We booked on with BA flights & hotel and paid a very reasonable rate for the hotel. Each floor of the hotel is created by a different designer, there is a very small pool/gym area and lively bar atop the roof. Breakfast is of a high standard and the restaurant in the hotel is also good. Location is good for business trips, but for a holiday you may want to be further into the city unless you don't mind a small €15 taxi fare

Stayed April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valeria K, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Silken Puerta America, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Freddy W,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your valued feedback.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Silken Puerta América.

We would like to remind you that our hotel is well located, just 3 minutes walk to the metro station, we offer as well, a complimentary shuttle service to and from the airport & city centre.

We look forward to welcoming you back at our hotel.

Kind regards,

Valeria Knop
PR & Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I went here last week for a conference with my fiancé . Was really looking forward to see this stylish hotel. It was cool but a little disappointing in terms of service and practicality. The room was stylish but no good for 2 people. There wasn't enough storage and it was hard to share the bathroom with its tiny sink and large over styled bathtub that I bet doesn't get used very much. We tried to get dinner on room service. It took 1 hour, 8 phone calls and 2 trips to reception! Breakfast was nice. We didn't use the restaurant as the menu looked a bit pretentious. The downstairs bar was good. Nice drinks and bar snacks and friendly staff and an outdoor terrace. We visited the bar on the roof. It has a great view of the city. I wanted to have a swim in the pool but although it looked cool it was far too small to swim in. Over all its very stylish but not very ergonomic hotel. A little disappointing.

Room Tip: Each floor is different but I wouldn't recommend the red floor we stayed in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valeria K, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Silken Puerta America, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Adrian F,

Thank you very much for choosing us and for sharing your comments on Tripadvisor.

The Silken Puerta América, has an extraordinary and no conventional design, something that make us different, we regret to know, that in this occasion, we did not live up to your expectations.

We would to have the opportunity in the future, to improve your experience with us!

Kind regards,

Valeria Knop
PR & Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed at this hotel because i heard that the design was rare. I do not recommend this hotel if you plan to go with family. The beds are bad. The hotel and people that you see is like more or less a motel. I do mot recommend people to stay there for the price you can have way better options. Next day we moved to Westin.

Stayed January 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valeria K, Public Relations Manager at Silken Puerta America, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Rapimovil,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments on this site.

It’s saddening to hear that you found your stay disappointing due to our mattresses and ambiance

We respect your opinion, and we regret that in this case, we won't have a new opportunity to change your impressions

Kind regards,

Valeria Knop
PR & Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
518 reviews 518 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 153 cities Reviews in 153 cities
293 helpful votes 293 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

After reading TA reviews, we thought we'd hit the jackpot booking three nights at Silken Puerta America. I'm sorry to say it didn't begin to measure up.

We didn't even get off to a good start. We'd made reservations with the hotel a month prior to our stay for the airport shuttle to collect us upon our arrival in Madrid. They confirmed via email that the shuttle would arrive at 8:50 a.m. to give us time to clear Customs and collect our bags. The shuttle never showed.

Being in a foreign country, we had no cell phone service and refused to pay the minimum 25 Euros to use a pay phone at the airport. So we waited. And waited and waited. Finally at 9:35 we hailed a cab and ended up paying 30 Euros for the ride to the hotel.

Upon check-in we mentioned this to the staff. They asked if we had an email confirmation of the shuttle pick-up and, when I said we did, they apologized. One of the staff handed us cards for two complimentary drinks in the hotel pub to make amends for their failure to show up as promised. Two free drinks didn't begin to make up for 30 Euros spent. Oh, and we couldn't even order top shelf drinks with our cards - they had to be the house brand.

I sent an email to the employee who had originally confirmed our shuttle reservation, reporting the incident and asking how the hotel would compensate us for the 30 Euros spent. I never heard a word.

We weren't assigned a room upon arrival because check-in is 2:00 pm, and none were ready for occupancy at 10:00 a.m. So our luggage was stored and we asked about breakfast. There was none, except bread and coffee. So we bought three overpriced cafes con leche at 3.40 Euros each, and a plate of bread for 5 Euros. That totals about $17 US for coffee and bread.

When we were eventually assigned a room at about noon, the staff gave us key cards to a room on the 6th floor, which was impressive upon first inspection. But the longer we occupied it, the more annoyed we became.

The shower is too small, and the shower head is directly centered in the ceiling. So the entire time you're showering, your head is being doused and you half drown. Water pressure is wimpy, so it takes forever to rinse off. And the water temperature keeps fluctuating from cool to scalding, without you ever touching the controls.

The hotel prefers you don't use the bathtub in consideration of saving water. After Day One, there was no way I was using that shower again.

We learned early on that the rooms are not soundproof. One night an infant was screaming relentlessly at 4 a.m. and again at 5:00. I heard every shriek. Another night someone was playing loud music next door. And during normal noise levels, I could hear the water running in the next room.

The complimentary wi-fi was one of the slowest connections I've experienced in a hotel. Hubby thought there was something wrong with his computer because it took so long for webpages to come up. And the ISP kept kicking us off as soon as we left the computers idle for awhile. We had to keep logging in.

The TV had zero English language selections, except a couple of 24-hour new networks. Don't plan to turn on the television unless you speak fluent Spanish.

The hair dryer had one setting - scald your scalp. I couldn't finish drying my bangs.

Two days into our stay, Hubby lost an item and went to the front desk to ask if anyone had reported it found. One young lady did her best to provide assistance, and he very much appreciated her help. But that's when we discovered they didn't even have the correct guests registered to our room number. A male staff member insisted that a Mr. Goldstein was staying in our room, when of course he was not - the room had definitely been assigned to us for three nights. He eventually corrected the error and ensured that our room wasn't charged for Mr. Goldstein's incidentals.

The room's storage space wasn't functional, so there wasn't any room to unpack our clothes. A mini-bar took up an entire cabinet shelf, and a safe used up another shelf. There was no counter space for water glasses or wine glasses, so glasses and an ice bucket took up yet another cabinet shelf. There were 5-6 total hangers in the closet.

There was no counter space in the bathroom either, so glass water glasses were perched on the edge of the bathtub - a potential hazard. I foresaw broken glass and cut feet. On Day Two, I moved them to the floor next to the tub, where they remained for the duration of our stay.

The hotel location in Barrio Salamanca is miles away from the heart and soul of Madrid, definitely not within walking distance. You can take the metro or a bus. I wouldn't recommend driving, even with a GPS, because downtown is a non-stop traffic jam. But if your visit is for leisure, you'll want to spend time downtown because there's not much to see in Barrio Salamanca, unless you like expensive shopping and restaurants.

The good news is that Cartagena Metro Station is a 1-minute walk from the hotel's front door. You can buy a multi-use pass, 10 trips for 12 Euros.

A day in advance we made a shuttle reservation to return to the airport upon check-out and were confirmed for 10:35 a.m. We thought it best to show up early, in case the driver was a few minutes early. At 10:14 a.m. we checked out and were told that our 10:20 (not 10:35) shuttle reservation was confirmed. The driver pulled in just prior to 10:20 a.m. Had we come downstairs early for the 10:35 shuttle, we'd have been without a ride again.

We did experience a few positives. The bed was comfortable, though the pillows were not. The room darkening curtain facilitated sleeping late enough to overcome jet lag, the bathtub was large, the toiletries supplied included body wash instead of just bar soap. They did manage to do our wake-up call at the right time on the morning of check-out.

The hotel design is used to promote Silken Puerta America as a 5-star facility. Twelve renowned architects each designed one floor. The decor is funky, contemporary, interesting. And there's a night club on the 13th floor with excellent views of the city. But design alone doesn't make a 5-star hotel. It certainly doesn't even begin to make up for all the negatives we experienced.

I don't recommend this hotel, and I'd never stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valeria K, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Silken Puerta America, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear MLT,

Thank you for choosing the Silken Puerta América and for taking the time to leave your comments on Tripadvisor.

I would like to apologise for the inconvenience caused by the misunderstood regarding your shuttle service, and also for the mistake in the room assignation, as soon as we detected the mistake, it was solved without any consequence.

Guest feedback is essential to us consistently developing the guest experience in the Silken Puerta América , we would like to inform you that all of your comments have been taken into our weekly management meeting.

We have checked the shower of your room, and everything is working properly.

I am hugely disappointed to hear that you will not be returning to stay with us. I would be delighted to have the opportunity to amend this experience.

Kind regards,


Valeria Knop
PR & Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Silken Puerta America? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silken Puerta America

Address: Avenida de America 41, 28002 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#62 Business Hotel in Madrid
#65 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#78 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#85 Family Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Silken Puerta America 5*
Number of rooms: 342
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Venere, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Silken Puerta America reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silken Puerta America Madrid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silken Puerta America, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.