We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic facility” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Madrid Centro

Save Saved
You added Ibis Madrid Centro to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ibis Madrid Centro
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Manuela Malasana 6, 28004 Madrid, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #82 of 456 hotels in Madrid
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Basic facility”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

The room I had seemed to meet my basic needs for a two night stay while on a recent rail trip around Europe. As the hotel name notes the hotel is centrally located within a five minute walk of the Bilbao metro station which makes for easy access for those traveling light. The breakfast in the hotel is reasonably good as well. The thing that to me needs drastic improvement is the Internet speed which was extremely slow.

Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

711 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    215
    358
    114
    18
    6
See reviews for
133
330
71
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Caracas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We stayed in total three nights in this Hotel located in Madrid near historic center. Bilbao subway (metro) station is 1 block away. Rooms are very small, but very very clean, beds are amazingly confy. Bathroom was bigger than I expected, you can open your arms completely in the shower. the price I paid for the first two nights was a bargain. It doesn't have a parking, but there's one half block away. I think is one of the best options in Madrid.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I will certainly return to this hotel if I will return to Madrid. The reception staff were extremely helpful and assisted us in an outstanding manner. The room was quiet, clean and included all the requirements that one needs.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northwest
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

This is an ibis and they are quite similar. The service was excellent and there is an underground car park which was very convienient.
There was a limited choice of food, but next door was a supermarket and there was a great traditional spainish tapas bar a few doors down. Our room had a great view overlooking the bull ring. Its in a great part of town. As Ibis basic hotels go this was a good one, great service and great location.

Room Tip: book a car park space as its really easy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

If you have stayed in an Ibis hotel before you probably know that Ibis hotels in Europe generally have a standard design. The things that set them apart are staff and location.
In terms of staff, Ibis Madrid Centro is really blessed. The staff are professional yet very warm. We had a problem with getting some bullfight tickets we had ordered from an external vendor. Even though it had nothing to do with the hotel, the staff worked diligently to help us obtain our tickets. They did not have to do this - but they did. This is the kind of service that sets a hotel apart. Beyond this they were always happy to help us out with directions and ideas of things to do - really knowledgeable and happy to help out.
In terms of location, when one is new to Madrid, the name Bilbao does not mean anything to you. What does mean something is that it is just 10 metres off a main street - Calle Fuenecarral - which is lined with shops and restaurants and will take you directly to Puerto del Sol -one of Madrid's key sites. We actually ended up walking pretty much everywhere in Madrid. It is a safe location and can arrive home late into the night and not be worried.
Bilbao metro station itself is actually about 10 metres for the hotel and the Madrid subway is clean, safe and efficient (North American subway systems take note!).
Hotel itself lovely and clean. Breakfast at the hotel was great - excellent selection for a great price.
Our room was also lovely and clean - standard Ibis layout. It isn't 5 star, but it is very comfortable. Bed was lovely and room quiet - great quality of sleep.
Shower-gel is provided (it's actually pretty good), but don't expect a range of mini soaps and shower gels - this is Europe!
Housekeeping also kept the room really clean for us. Just remember that when you stay here it is not a luxury hotel - but it is a clean, efficient, safe and comfortable Ibis hotel with great staff and an excellent location!
Would we stay again? I sure hope so!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We had a lovely time at the hotel , it is close to evertthing. McDonalds and Starbucks just around the corner. The only thing we missed was a minibar. We bought a small piece of cake and asked if they could keep it for us in a fridge for the afternoon , and it was rudely denied.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We really liked and enjoyed staying in Ibis Madrid Centro. The location was nice, centrally located, very close to the Bilbao Metro stop, and we walked easily to Sol. Neighborhood was reassuringly quiet and safe.

The room was spacious, a great bed and pillows, and clean. The bathroom was spacious enough, with a great shower. Free wifi was nice to have. The breakfast buffet was sufficient and a good selection with a good selection of breakfast items.

If you love a warm room, you may it a little cool because the hotel shuts off the heat starting in April,

I will definitely use this hotel again and would recommend this to anyone looking for a Madrijd place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ibis Madrid Centro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Madrid Centro

Address: Calle Manuela Malasana 6, 28004 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#61 Family Hotel in Madrid
#69 Business Hotel in Madrid
#70 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Madrid Centro 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ibis Madrid Centro hotel is located right in the city centre of Madrid, next to Plaza Bilbao, close to the historical centre of Madrid, a 10 minute walk to Plaza Mayor and 5 minutes from the Castellana and Plaza Colon. Ideal for bussiness or leisure trips. It is just a 20minute walk to the main museums, the Prado, Reina Sofia and Thyssen Bornemisza. In the Malasaña Road, next the restaurants, bars and shops. It offers 64 airconditioned rooms, a bar and snacks 24 hours, public parking 50 m away and WiFi Internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, ACCOR, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Ibis Madrid Centro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Madrid Centro Hotel Madrid
Accor Madrid Centro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Madrid Centro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.