We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Petit Palace Posada del Peine

Save Saved
You added Petit Palace Posada del Peine to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Petit Palace Posada del Peine
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Postas, 17, 28012 Madrid, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #247 of 457 hotels in Madrid
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Great hotel right near the Plaza Mayor which is surrounded by lots of restaurants, entertainment and San Miguel Tapas markets.
The hotel reception although dark was welcoming and staff were very helpful providing maps and advice on tourist attractions including Madrid walks.
Room was very nice , clean, and comfortable with a wonderful hydromassage shower . Would definetely return to this hotel

Room Tip: Request a room on top floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eri_Martinez_Varela, Online Sales Department at Petit Palace Posada del Peine, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

I appreciate a lot your wonderful review. I am delighted to read such a gleaming report of our services and facilities.

I hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    83
    177
    78
    30
    23
See reviews for
93
107
17
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

It was an excellent location, walk out of the hotel and right into the tourist attraction's, If you staying in Madrid for a few days and like to visit the museums, walk through the cathedral, take the tours, this is the perfect place to stay
I recommend taken the tourist bus, it will take you to all important locations, you can get out to any location and back on the bus for the next one
we also took the tour to Escorial, valley of the dead and Toledo, Toledo is a must visit town, we took a half day tour, it was great but you may need a full day for this one

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eri_Martinez_Varela, Online Sales Deparment at Petit Palace Posada del Peine, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear guest,

We appreciate your very complimentary review. We are glad to read you have enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

lovely hotel, room was great plenty of wardrobe space, a safe, amazing hydromassage shower, spotlessly clean. location couldn't have been better, about a second from Plaza Mayor. Would certainly return of we go back to Madrid.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eri_Martinez_Varela, Online Sales Department at Petit Palace Posada del Peine, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to send us your comment about your stay in our hotel. I am glad to read that you enjoyed our rooms and services.

Hope to see you again very soon.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in April 2013 in a room in the 4th floor.
Hotel is located just steps from Plaza Mayor and the Sol Metro Station. Crowds of people are around at all times. Lots of restaurants and shopping.
Reception:
Very amicable and attentive.
Rooms are modern, cozy and comfortable.
I have read the comments from others about how noisy it could be. For me it was a non-issue. Maybe because I stayed in a 4th floor.
Breakfast:
Maybe the best feature of the hotel. Great service, nice spread. It is very clean and modern. It includes scrambled eggs, different types of breads and hams. Fresh juices, tea and excellent coffee. The room is spacious and there are TV monitors around.

I would probably stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eri_Martinez_Varela, Online Sales Department at Petit Palace Posada del Peine, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for taking the time to send us your comment about your stay in our hotel. Thank you for your very complimentary review of High Tech Hotels. It is very nice to know you have enjoyed our rooms and services.

Petit Palace Posada del Peine will always be there to welcome you back.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

we choosed this hotel because we thought it is a 4* at the end the hotel merit only 2* also they don't mention that you have to handle all your luggage for 200 meters on arrival cause no cars are allowed to enter this zone and you have to leave the hotel before 7am on departure to be able to get taxi front hotel door otherwise 200meters again.
the good thing it is in the heart of the city for those who don't look for a comfort the hotel still acceptable.

Room Tip: It is not a 4* hotel I think it just 2*
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is well located but some challenges with noise from street from (no matter that there appears to be sound proof windows - just noises till mid a.m.). Rooms nice but avoid 119, windowless dungeon (should not have to pay full price for such a room). Staff friendly, breakfast good, wi-fi worked well. If you want to sleep this may not be hotel for you.

Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eri_Martinez_Varela, Online Sales Department at Petit Palace Posada del Peine, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Guest:

We appreciate for taking the time to write the comment, we appreciate knowing that your stay at Petit Palace Posada del Peine has met their expectations, although specific details were not to his liking. Thank you for your confidence in us. We hope to see you soon.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights in Sept 2012. 1st impressions were bad. A dingy, tiny foyer and it took forever to register and get a key. Our 1st room on level 1 had cafe/restuarant tables literally right outside our window. After insisting on another room we were moved to the second floor where the noise was marginally less. This hotel was very noisey at night, with cafe patrons etc until 11.30-12.00pm then at around 4am every morning the garbage hopper trucks sounded like they were coming thtough the door! Everytime you opened the door to the room, 3 or 4 ceiling tiles lifted and dropped with a bang - too bad for the people on either side if they were asleep.

The bathroom needed lots of attention and there was no plug for the sink. That didn't matter too much as the water took forever to leave the basin anyway. The hotel is very dimly lit and dingy looking. I'd rate it 2 star at best.

The breakfast room was the best feature of the hotel. Well lit and a good spread of food.

Didn't like being so close the Plaza Mayor because there were just too many people and there were lots of beggars etc in this part of Madrid. If I ever go back, I'll stay in a modern hotel in the newer part if the city.

parrabill

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria G, Manager at Petit Palace Posada del Peine, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear guest,
 
First of all, thanks for your feedback. Your comments are very important to improve our services and facilities. As you said, the hotel is located in the heart of the city, next to Plaza Mayor, opposite the famous and visited Mercado de San Miguel and a short walk from Puerta del Sol, which is a great advantage for the most of our guests .

Regrettably, we can not prevent it from being a busy street, but as you may check, the hotel is soundproofed with double window. We can't do anymore, I'm sorry if it was a nuisance. We are glad that our breakfast buffet was to your liking, we will strive to improve it.
 
Best regards
Prado Nombela Barroso | Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Petit Palace Posada del Peine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petit Palace Posada del Peine

Address: C/ Postas, 17, 28012 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#134 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Petit Palace Posada del Peine 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellent location right next to the famous “Plaza Mayor” and just 50 meters from the “Puerta del Sol”. This 4 star hotel offers elegant and contemporary accommodation in a beautiful historic building.The builing is known by its name alone, Posada del Peine, since it was opened in 1610. with almost 400 years of history, this is the oldest registered hotel in Madrid, in which many famous people have slept until 1970 when the hotel was finally shut. However, on the 15th of September 2004 the hotel reopened its doors. The original exterior design contrasts with an elegant and modern interior design, making it an attractive and comfortable accommodation with modern installations and the latest technology.Hotel Petit Palace Posada del Peine - historic charm from the 20th century, elegance, and all the best installations and services with a privileged location.In the comfortable rooms with modern design you will find the ultimate technological innovations like personal computers with free WIFI and hydro-massage showers.Our canine friends are welcome. This hotel is glad to open our doors to your faithful companion (up to 15 kg). Rooms are prepared with a doggy bed and feeding dishes. Let us know when you make your reservation.Our friendly staff will be more than happy to advise you on the best restaurants, shopping zones and local excursions.We also offer a unique free bicycle rent in order to get to know the city in an ecological way, and a free coffee and juice service in the reception.Don’t loose the opportunity to visit us!!If you have any special requests please don’t hesitate to contact us, we will be more than happy to make your stay as memorable as possible!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Splendia, Tingo, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Otel, Expedia, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Petit Palace Posada del Peine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petit Palace Posada Del Peine Hotel Madrid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Petit Palace Posada del Peine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.