We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'd give it three and a half if I could” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Madrid - Las Tablas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Madrid - Las Tablas to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Madrid - Las Tablas
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Maria Tubau 16, Fuencarral, 28050 Madrid, Spain (Formerly High Tech Nueva Castellana)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #267 of 453 Hotels in Madrid
London
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“I'd give it three and a half if I could”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

It is a 'standard' type Holiday Inn so you get the typical amenities like a safe and comfortable bed and pillows. And coffee and tea in the room.

The hotel is in an office park so a bit barren but great if you work there (as I was) so you can walk very quickly to work. It is nice and quiet which is a bonus.

Restaurant facilities are quite limited and sometimes there isn't a chef around. The menu is actually the room service one so don't stay more than about five days or you'll have been through it completely. Breakfast is good and there's hot food as well as the traditional continental ham and cheese.

On my last night I went around the area and there are quite a few restaurants just a block or two up towards the west. This is a residential part of Las Tablas so obviously the people living there have to eat. I went to the Victoria Bar in Calle de Isobel Colbrand and the tapas were good.

There is a Metro station about ten minutes walk from the hotel and it takes about 30 minutes to get into Sol with two changes (the first one is on the same line, Linea 10, which is a bit weird) so that's not bad. I got a combinado ticket for EUR18.30 for ten trips which worked out at about £1.50 each - not bad to get from Las Tablas to Sol or Plaza d'Espana as one viaje. The RENFE station at Fuencarral is about 20 mins walk so maybe a bit of a strain unless the shuttle takes you there. It is apparently a lot quicker into town, though. I never bothered as the Metro was fine.

If I could give a single word to describe my negatives on this hotel it would be 'sporadic':

1. The aircon can be sporadic and not always cooling as much as you need. Mind you, you can open the windows to cool things down a bit at night. The problem is compounded by the need to switch on the electrics by putting your room key card (or other card, I eventually found) into a slot. This is really irritating when you return to the room after a day's working and find it's hot as the aircon wasn't on. Why can't they supply a second card to allow the thing to run all day?

2. Shower is also sporadic - water pressure rises and falls, and despite the thermostatic control you can get frozen and then scalded in a moment. This is really irritating.

3. Wifi - albeit free - can be sporadic. During the day it can be fine but in the evenings when everybody comes back from work or tourism the bandwidth just isn't enough and you can sometimes actually not get any feed at all.

4. The shuttle is also sporadic as it only works during the week so if you don't have a car it can be quite bad. There are taxis but they're quite expensive.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    26
    20
    7
    1
See reviews for
17
12
6
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Stayed just one night on business, and I have no complaints whatsoever. Everything I wanted from a short business stay : Friendly & efficient check-in, very comfortable room, functioning bathroom, comfortable bar, decent breakfast. When I asked directions to a local customer I was visiting, they even took me for free in their hotel van ! Thank you Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John O'Groats, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
154 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

I chose this hotel for 2 reasons. 1/. because it was close to my business destination and 2/. because it was a Holiday Inn - after all this is Spain and I wanted to have a reasonable chance of eating at times that suited me.

But it was a mistake. There is no room service until 2030 and the breakfast was poor. i specifically chose a Holiday inn so that I could avoid the carb-fest that is breakfast in the Express nearby. All I wanted was 2 fried egs. But the hotel does not cook real eggs - due to salmonella (!); however, it does offer eggs on the in-room breakfast menu. Something not right here.

And security is poor. I never speak my room number, rather I show my card. This didn't stop the waitress shouting out my room number to all in the restaurant.

So, all-in-all pretty poor. This is unfortunate as the hotel has the potential to be better.

Room Tip: I asked for a quiet room with no connecting door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Madrid - Las Tablas, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear Sir,

I have been really surprised about your comment regarding the room service because this service is available 7 days a week from 6.30 am to 23.00 pm and not only from 20.30 hrs as you have mentioned.

I apologize for the inconvenience you had with breakfast and I assure you that we value your feedback because it helps us to keep improving to achieve our goal of delivering excellent guest experiences.


Thanking you for sharing your comments,

Best regards,

Beatriz del Rio
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kortrijk
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

I had a perfect weekend stay in Holiday Inn Madrid Las Tablas.
The hotel is a 10 minute walk away from the metro station Las Tablas. To the city centre it will take you about 40 minutes (10 walk + 30 metro).

Rooms are spacious and offers you a tremendous bed with a lot of pillows. Bathroom is also spacious and has a very nice walk inn shower. Excellent amenities!

Also a terrific breakfast buffet, which is worth the money (11,50 euro per person).
Staff is very friendly and helps you with any issue.

Conclusion: Excellent hotel (only quite a bit from the city centre).

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn T, Director General at Holiday Inn Madrid - Las Tablas, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Thank you very much for sharing this feedback about your recent stay with us.

It is great to read that you enjoyed the Holiday Inn experience and we hope to have the opportunity to see you again on your next trips to Madrid.

Best regards,

Beatriz del Rio
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

The Holiday Inn Las Tablas is the best (the only?) option if you have meetings planned at one of the big companies in the industrial park.
As it’s located quite far from the city center, this hotel is not suitable for tourists.
Rooms are modern, spacious and Wi-Fi is free.
The restaurant next to the lobby serves good food. That’s a big plus as there are not many other restaurants in the vicinity.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn T, Director General at Holiday Inn Madrid - Las Tablas, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your feedback.

We love to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and hope to see you again on your next business trip to Madrid.

Best regards,

Beatriz del Rio
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

The hotel is conventionally located close too many business centres in Las Tablas, Madrid. There is nothing fancy about this hotel - it serves its business purpose. The room is good size, WiFi in the room and decent breakfest

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

I was in this hotel for 3 nights with my wife and 3 years old son.
We decide to have breakfast in the hotel which is simple but enough, the only problem is that You have only one lady asking for your room number but they do not teach her to Be Nice and helpful.
On the last night we wake up at 8h50 with a big noise coming from maintnance works in a room nearby.
In This hotel You feel the managment simple dont care about their guest.

Poor Service, poor maintnance and poor cleaning

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn M, Director General at Holiday Inn Madrid - Las Tablas, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Google Translation
Estimado huésped,

En nombre de todo el equipo le doy las gracias por compartir sus comentarios sobre su reciente estancia con nosotros.

Brindar un servicio excelente a nuestros clientes es una prioridad para todos nosotros y es por ello que lamentamos profundamente que su percepción sobre el servicio en el buffet de desayuno no fuera la esperada.

Le agradezco que eligiera nuestro hotel para alojarse con su familia y espero, ahora que el hotel está completamente renovado, poder tener una nueva oportunidad de recibirles, en caso de próximas visitas a Madrid.

Atentamente,

Beatriz del Rio
Directora General
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Madrid - Las Tablas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Madrid - Las Tablas

Address: Calle Maria Tubau 16, Fuencarral, 28050 Madrid, Spain (Formerly High Tech Nueva Castellana)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#148 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Madrid - Las Tablas 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, IHG, BookIt.com, HostelBookers, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Madrid - Las Tablas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Tech Nueva Castellana Hotel Madrid
High Tech Nueva Castellana Madrid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Madrid - Las Tablas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.