We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Petit Palace President Castellana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Petit Palace President Castellana to your Saves list
Petit Palace President Castellana
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Marques de Villamagna 4, 28001 Madrid, Spain (Formerly High Tech President Castellana) (Salamanca)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #251 of 457 Hotels in Madrid
Barcelona, Spain
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Not bad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I travel to Madrid regularly on business and although the High Tech President is not my first choice, neither am I particularly disappointed when I stay there. The service is very friendly, the bathroom is fine (good shower, no bath). WiFi worked fine, TV had lots of channels and the bed was nice and firm. Breakfast mildly disappointing but not very different from competing hotels in the area. I like the location, handy for a few bars and restaurants close by. The lifts are a bit slow and I'm not a big fan of this chain's corridor lighting scheme but nor does it bother me excessively. One thing I did think was strange - the combination of children's bunk beds and decorative photos of naked people in the same room...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria G, Online Sales Department at Petit Palace President Castellana, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear guest:

Thanks to inform to our staff and to Tripadvisor user´s about your stay and experience in High Tech President Castellana .
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We do hope you find the time to return to Madrid and stay with us again, you will be very welcome!

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    69
    60
    15
    16
See reviews for
37
50
14
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

A short biz trip to Madrid.
The Internet only worked in the reception on my laptop.
The staff although trying to be helpful we're not.
-1 outside, the heating was off in the room when I came back after dinner and took 2 hours to get up to temp.
Got up in the middle of the night to have a glass of water. And only hot water coming out of tap, which was scolding.
The bedside table was on such a slant that the mobile fell off twice.

Not very high Tec!

Room Tip: Don't.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria G, Gerente at Petit Palace President Castellana, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback; it helps us to improve our services day by day.

We regret the inconvenience caused by the internet connection during your stay and let you know it was immediately fixed.

We want to reiterate our apologies and we hope you give us the opportunity to serve you during your next visit to Madrid.

Kind regards.
Mª Prado Nombela | Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

After spending a few days at a Centro hotel I had to switch for a business conference to this hotel, and frankly the 3 star was much better. First the neighborhood...it's much less interesting unless you like high-end shops and all in all was pretty sterile for me, especially after staying close to Calle Huertas and Plaza Santa Ana the week before. The staff here were friendly enough for sure. But the price/value is not very good and for a 4 star it certainly needs updating. Rooms were fine except they had one light switch that turns on blue runner lights under the bed...pretty cheesy. And the cabinets were covered with a cheap veneer sort of masonite look that shows its age. Elevators were well worn as well, with dust collected around the upper edges. All in all fine, I suppose, but certainly not for the nightly rate I was charged; the Centro hotel was half the rate and much better. So, if you want the flavor of Madrid and all its wonderful energy around you, check out the Santa Ana Plaza area instead.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria G, Online Sales Department at Petit Palace President Castellana, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback which always helps us to improve.

We regret that the hotel location was not of your liking and we definitely understand that if you were searching an establishment located near the night life clubs, restaurants and business, exclusive area of el Barrio de Salamanca (Plaza de Colón- Castellana- Calle Serrano), where our hotel is located, whould not offer what Plaza de Santa Ana does.

The Petit Palace President Castellana allows guests to enjoy peace of mind but it is a 15 minutes walk or about 5 minutes by taxi away from the city centre.

We want to reiterate our apologies and, if you stay with us again, we hope you may enjoy our location without giving up the centre and its charm five minutes from us.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

This hotel is located centrally in Madrid within walking distance from an array of shops, resturants and nightlife. There is also a nightclub next-door but despite this you cannot hear this in your rooms. The Hard Rock cafe is a 3 minute walk down the road and just the same as every other Hard Rock cafe in the world (why do I still pay them a visit?).

7 of us aged mid to late 20's embarked on a weekend of fun in Madrid this November. It is definitely worth taking the tour of Real Madrid's stadium (19 euros). I loved the Stadium but will be keeping Barcelona as my Spanish team. On nights out the drinks are expensive but no more then any other capital city.

I would recommend this hotel as it is clean, with friendly staff, laptop with internet access and tv in your room. Also free wifi used by us for iphone's.

Madrid es una ciudad hermosa llena de gente amable

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria G, Online Sales Department at Petit Palace President Castellana, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear guest,

We appreciate your wonderful review of our hotel. We are really glad you enjoyed your stay in Madrid. We would be more than happy to see you again.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

The location is very convenient. Walking distance from almost everything - shops, metro, bus. The room is very small, with little place to put things. The room was also extremely hot as the aircon doesn't blow cool air in "winter" - so you sleep naked on your bed while sweating. Wi-fi is free and good enough. Breakfast is standard. Everything was clean and well maintained . Staff could even speak some english - unusual in Madrid. My rating would be better if the room had ventilation

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria G, Online Sales Department at Petit Palace President Castellana, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear client,

Thank you very much for you comment about our High Tech President Castellana. We will bear in mind your comment about the ventilation room. We will do our best to improve in this issue. Your feedback helps us to improve.

Hope to see you again soon .

Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

As a matter of fact, my stay was not pleasant at all, not because the hotel wasn't good nor because the staff was unfriendly -- on the contrary -- I had a stomach flu for over 6 days , and I have nothing but the greatest comments concerning the staff; especially for the chef Israel, whose wholeheartedly will to cook a home made chicken soup from scratch was , by far, one of the greatest details th staff have with me.

Laura, a beautiful dark- haired spaniard, recommended me the nearest medical center near me and as well made sure the staff could provide me enough liquids in order to look after myself.

The rooms are a bit porno style at my taste ( flashy blue lights, a lot of dark, lots of different lights) , however , the only critique I have to address is probably that I was put on a smoker's room, whereas, I had booked a non-smoking room. The beds are very hard and not too comfortable. Nevertheless, my previous china experience helped me carry on with the concrete type bed.

Finally, the other critique, was the rush of the cleaning staff to make room. Since I was ill and with an ilness, I felt they rushed there way in and even rude at times suggesting that " customers are not allowed whenever they clean the room ". Still, I was happy enough with the details Laura and Israel served me with.

Room Tip: Definitely non-smoking rooms. Smoking rooms have a horrible smell.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria G, Online Sales Department at Petit Palace President Castellana, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Diego,

What a shame, we regret your situation. However, thank you very much for you comment about our staff hotel. We try our best to make you feel at home.

Anyway, we hope to welcome you back again soon in a better situation.

Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WR
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here during a conference. The rooms are weird; weird interior design and colours (purple). The bed is hard as rock, the food is boring, definitely no master chef. The only nice part of this hotel is the shower with massage sprayers from the side. Stay here if you have no where else to stay. Otherwise.....try any of the other better hotels.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Petit Palace President Castellana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petit Palace President Castellana

Address: C/ Marques de Villamagna 4, 28001 Madrid, Spain (Formerly High Tech President Castellana)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Salamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#135 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Petit Palace President Castellana 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Petit Palace President Castellana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Tech President Castellana Hotel Madrid
High Tech President Villamagna Madrid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Petit Palace President Castellana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.