We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great city centre location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Meninas Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Meninas Hotel to your Saves list
Meninas Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Campomanes 7, 28013 Madrid, Spain (Centro)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #164 of 453 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great city centre location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2010

Stayed at the Meninas for 2 nights. Staff were very friendly & efficient. The hotel is within a 5 minutes of Puerta del Sol in the centre of the city & a stroll form the Royal Palace.
As we did not stay consecutive nights the hotel held our luggage in storage for the night we did not stay there without any problem. We stayed in two different rooms both were a reasonable size. I find it difficult to see how some reviewers complain that the rooms are small.
I do agree with other reviewers however that as the hotel is on the street it was noisy at night. But that said , this I would not consider a major negative given that the hotel is in the city centre where street noise at night is to be expected.
There was a good buffet breakfast provided. The TV in both rooms were were given were almost impossible to use! ....but as we did not go on holiday to Madrid to watch TV this did not bother us.
I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PedroAlonso, Director General at Meninas Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2010
Dear guest,

Thank you for your wonderful comment regarding your stay with us, here at the Hotel Meninas.

Meninas Hotel is situated in the centre of Madrid, and Madrid is a city with a full of live, and sometimes we aren’t able to control the noise in the street.
Despite of this, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
From the heart of Madrid and from our entire team we extend our warmest regards.

Pedro Alonso
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    218
    62
    31
    19
See reviews for
117
271
55
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2010

I cCannot fault our stay at this hotel. Central location, quiet side street, public areas and room all in very good order, excellent breakfast. A great base for sightseeing. Would recommend.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PedroAlonso, Director General at Meninas Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2010
Dear guest,

Thank you for your wonderful comment regarding your stay with us, here at the Hotel Meninas.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

From the heart of Madrid and from our entire team we extend our warmest regards.

Pedro Alonso
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2010

Hotel Meninas is in a prime location, and has all the necessary amenities that one needs. The rooms are chic and modern, however, its space was not optimized as the bathroom was really spacious relative to the room size.

I must say, my stay at this hotel was rather unpleasant. A hotel may have top notch amenities and features, however, if it lacks the most basic feature, then such primitive hotel cannot be and should not be compared to other leading hotels. Hotel Meninas is a 4-star hotel, and not cheap relative to other counterparts due to its location. When I am paying $150 - $200 for a night, I expect to get good sleep from the hotel. Unfortunately, I did not get good rest, which has a detrimental effect for your schedule if you are a tourist. The circuit board in the room made a loud buzzing noise, although my girlfriend and I are not sensitive to small noise, that noise really irritated us. After seeking 6 hours of sleep, due to the noise, we only got 2 hours of sleep. When we woke up at 10:45, we called the reception if we can still make it for the breakfast (as BK is open until 11), upon confirming we went down, only to be shut down by a staff saying that it was closed. I looked at my watch and said we still got 15 minutes, and she brushed it off, and we were forced to leave.

When we told the reception about the noise from the circuit board, they seemed to have known about this problem. They called the electrician to fix it, and I was guaranteed that it should be fixed. Due to this mishap, our tour started at 11 and made a trip to Palacio Real, only to come back 2 hours later since we were so exhausted. At night when we came back, we were notified that an electrician has resolved the issue. We must say, that the electrician was a brilliant genius, as s/he tried minimizing noise by forcefully sticking in a cardboard to close the opening, rather than perhaps fixing the actual electrical circuit board. Bravo to the hotel, and the hired electrician… thanks to that, 1 hour sleep on our last night.

When I confronted them about the problem, the receptionist said she’s truly sorry, but please sign the receipt. Normally, I’d fight about paying for the last night, but due to no sleep, we were extremely late for our train ride to Sevilla.

My experience at this hotel may have been just a bad luck, but there’s this benefit of doubt that the problem has been a recurring incident, which upsets me. Plus the internet connection in the room was really poor, and i had to use the wifi in the lobby, which impaired my business work.

All in all, I do not recommend and will not go back.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2010

We loved this hotel. We stayed for 5 nights on the top floor in one of the loft rooms. It was a really large room, the hotel does not skimp on anything. Stacks of towels, pillows, toiletries in the room. The breakfast is nothing short of amazing, you certainly don't need lunch. Great location, really quiet and easy walking to all the galleries and plaza's. Just a great spot, highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PedroAlonso, Director General at Meninas Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2010
Dear guest,

Thank you for your wonderful comment regarding your stay with us, here at the Hotel Meninas.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

From the heart of Madrid and from our entire team we extend our warmest regards.

Pedro Alonso
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brazil
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2010

Spent 2 nights at this hotel. Staff were friendly, but the room wasVERY small (hardly find a place for my luggage) and noisy (heard a lot from the neighbour room). Location is OK. Has a nice lobby to relax with free wifi and computer. Good breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2010

We chose this hotel for its central location and were not disappointed. The staff were very helpful and all spoke good English. Room size was ok for two people however the television was difficult to operate with few English channels (not uncommon for Spain it would seem). Had some difficulties with accessing internet in our room but wifi was fine in the hotel foyer. Hotel was quiet but our bed was on the small side (for husband who is over 6 foot tall). Highlight was the breakfast - served until 11am with a large variety to choose from.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PedroAlonso, Director General at Meninas Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2010
Dear guest,

Thank you for your wonderful comment regarding your stay with us, here at the Hotel Meninas.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
The next time we will assign you a Superior Room, you will see the difference with the Standard room.
I am sure that the marvellous views and the spaciousness will become your stay in Meninas Hotel in an unforgettable experience.

From the heart of Madrid and from our entire team we extend our warmest regards.

Pedro Alonso
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2010

I recently stayed at this little boutique hotel. It's at a very central location, has a hip design and friendly and helpful staff . The rooms are equipped not only with TV, but also with a DVD player, which is a plus. I slept very well in the comfortable bed.

However, the rooms are tiny and the lightening is not very good. Also, the internet connection both in the room and the lobby was very slow. So, it is not really suitable for people having to work in the hotel. For this reason I moved to another hotel after one night.

I will consider coming back to this hotel when visiting Madrid for leisure.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PedroAlonso, Director General at Meninas Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2010
Dear guest,

Thank you for your wonderful comment regarding your stay with us, here at the Hotel Meninas.

First at all, we apologize for you inconvenience and we are pleasure to inform you that thanks you comments we can detected the problem and solve it.

Meninas Hotel is situated in the centre of Madrid, and the “Austrias Area” the most antique part of Madrid and sometimes we have slow conection of internet.
We inform you that we have two Meeting rooms with internet free connexion, and one Business Point with unlimited Wi-Fi conection.
Hotel Meninas offer too in from desk, laptop free for the business-clients, and fax service.

From the heart of Madrid and from our entire team we extend our warmest regards.

Pedro Alonso
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Meninas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meninas Hotel

Address: Campomanes 7, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#100 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#126 Family Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Meninas Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Splendia, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Meninas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meninas Hotel Madrid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meninas Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.