We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Centrally located hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Praktik Metropol

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Praktik Metropol to your Saves list
Praktik Metropol
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Montera 47 (esq. Gran Via), 28013 Madrid, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Free room upgrade
Ranked #75 of 457 Hotels in Madrid
Los Angeles
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Centrally located hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

I stayed at the Praktik Metropole for 1 night in March 2012. It's on Gran Via and next to a Metro station so basically centrally located. You can walk to places like Sol and Plaza Mayor. The price was very reasonable and the room was clean. The building houses different hotels, and reception is on the second floor.

The only problem was that the bathroom smelled like sewer. I opened the windows to let the air out and the odor was gone when I returned a few hours later. Aside from that, the hotel was a good value for the money. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

761 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    350
    302
    82
    17
    10
See reviews for
52
386
72
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

The location is absolutely spot on! shopping, cafes, metro, sight seeing... everything! very central. We had the Gran Via conner room. Loved it! The staff are fantastic ...so helpful and friendly.
The only thing is that in the room they didn't have luggage racks and they didn't refill our shampoo and shower gel.
All in all a great place to stay ...would definitely recommend this hotel and if I go back to Madrid I will be staying here again!

Room Tip: Gran Via corner room is great. Bigger than the other rooms and much spacious. Good views and balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

This could have been much higher rated but for the bad experience leaving. When asking for a wake up call was asked if I wanted a cab called to go to the airport. I accepted. Luggage was loaded quickly and only then did I see the cab was unmetered. Thought there was no time to unload and find another cab. Cost $40 to airport. Getting there from airport in metered cab cost $32 and on Columbus Day making us take many detours at closed roads. Also before we left cabbie went to talk to reception-odd. I suspect some kind of connection.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Praktik M, Director General at Praktik Metropol, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking some time to share your experience with us.
We are at the same time a little bit surprised after reading these comments, because you did not say anything about the hotel, room, your stay...
On the other hand because the normal rate from/to the airport is around $40-45, which is 30-35€. I include a text taken from our website: ((TAXI:The drive from the airport to the city centre takes about 30 minutes.It cost around 30-40€ (Depending on traffic) The Radio Taxi Madrid cab company accepts all credit cards and takes reservations.))
An also if you book a taxi, the metter starts to count before arriving to the hotel, and this has a cost of 2-3€.
And finally just to let our guests to know it, we work always with the same taxi company, we know the taxi drivers, and often the same driver come to transfer different guest during the day. Then you are right!! We have a connection. But a safety connection to avoid that taxi drivers charge more to our guest. But always we give the clients the chance to choose. You can book a taxi, or you can take it in the street.

Please contact me personally as I think you should take off this review, because always is better to book a taxi at front desk to avoid any kind of problem. And do not consider these comments as a good suggestion for other guests.
direccion@hotelpraktikmetropol.com
We hope that apart from this you enjoyed during your stay.
Kindest regards

Carlos Gómez
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larchmont, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Hotel Praktik is centrally located ( at the end of a pedestrian street -- ask taxi to drop you near Gran Via Subway which is adjacent to entrance of hotel - that way you do not have to walk up the street with your luggage). Clean, comfortable hotel - simple and functional rooms - the location is perfect. If you want a large room - this is not the hotel for you. Wonderful front office staff - cheerful and very helpful. They have computers available in the lobby

Room Tip: ask for a room with a balcony - even though it faces the street - not noisy since pedestrian street
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We loved the hotel and will stay again. The staff was always helpful and the room well appointed. The rooftop lounge was great for relaxing and enjoying the Spanish sun. The location is great and very close to the subway and restaurants all around. The door to the bathroom in the room was a little odd since it's not a solid door.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

I could not believe how reasonable the prices of this hotel were considering the location and the quality of the hotel. I wanted to know "how do they do it", its quite simple really they have taken out all the unnecessary luxuries of traditional hotels like excess staff, formal dining room, breakfast, mini bars, spa and stripped it down to everything you really need. Large rooms, with enough space for all your luggage, lots of hanging space on the walls, a seriously comfortable bed, clean bathroom, and as a nice plus, the hotel is seriously cool, as you can see in the photos, its modern, fresh, and minimalistic. We loved having a little drink in the common recreational area downstairs before heading out to the many restaurants and bars in the local area (Go to Plaza Santa Ana for dinner). The common area has huge chesterfield armchairs to sink back into whilst you sit in front of the faux fire with a glass of red and some manchego cheese, there is a big glass window over looking the pedestrian area below- makes for some "interesting" people watching! (Don't mind the sex workers- sadly they're mostly desperate young girls, but they're harmless and don't affect your stay at all) The staff were helpful, but few and far between, but you don't actually need them! You help yourself you everything you need, coffee in the morning and a little pastry and you're on your way. Stay on the Calle Montera side to avoid the bright lights streaming in through the windows. Don't worry about noise, the windows are double glazed I believe. If you can, the rooms with a balcony are most certainly the cut above, they're very big too. The location is certainly hectic and busy, but you are right in the thick of it and within walking distance to everything, not once did we use a bus, train or taxi (actually we got the train when we first arrived at the hotel which was fantastic, the train station literally is at the bottom of the building). The front entrance of the building, and all the corridors leading to the rooms are a bit disconcerting, but the owners clearly invested all their time and money into the fit out of the rooms and common areas :-) which are fantastic. We also stayed at Praktik Ramblas in Barcelona- also amazing. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Take a room on the Calle Montera side rather than the Gran Via side (Gran Via has bright neon lights...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

If you want to be in a middle of everything for a reasonable price, this hotel is your choice. You are literally in the center of the city (one block from Puerta Del Sol, which is considered to be a geo center).
The accommodations are pretty European size wise. We barely had a room to place our suitcases. But our friends in a similar room had a sink in the room (not in a bathroom like ours), and they had even less room left for their stuff. However if you prefer to unpack, there is a decent size closet in the room.
The hotel has a terrace with awesome views of the whole city. We even had a picnic there one night.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Praktik Metropol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Praktik Metropol

Address: C/ Montera 47 (esq. Gran Via), 28013 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#60 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#74 Family Hotel in Madrid
#89 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Praktik Metropol 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, HostelBookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Escapio, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Praktik Metropol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Praktik Metropol Hotel Madrid
Metropol Hotel Madrid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Praktik Metropol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.