We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy central heating” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Petit Palace Italia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Petit Palace Italia to your Saves list
Petit Palace Italia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gonzalo Jimenez de Quesada 2 | esquina con C/ Gran Vía, 32, 28004 Madrid, Spain (Centro)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #255 of 457 Hotels in Madrid
2 reviews
“Noisy central heating”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Central heating system did a very strong noise all the night long. The personnel was helpful and let me change the room but unfortunately the noise issue continued. Although location is excellent and price was not too bad for the area, sleeping was impossible and that made the experience frustrating.

Room Tip: Rooms will be quieter in summer time, when the central heating is not working.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    86
    57
    16
    12
See reviews for
61
56
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
GVA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Wide and comfortable 5 people room on the 4th floor (room 403).
Terrific location for shopping, walking everywhere, eating well, having cocktails... we didn't take the underground at all!
To improve:
- The sink and shower plate bundled up with water as if the pipes were obstructed.
- The toilet smelled a bit like urine (as if it needed a whole deep cleansing)
- We found empty soap bottles in our toilet bin from a previous guest.
- The breakfast room was terribly cold (they said they had a problem with the warm air conditioning)
We got a fantastic deal (70 € per person for 2 nights) So I think that covers and makes up for the rest! Honestly, one cannot demand 5 star facilities paying a price of the hostel next door.
Great for a group of friends.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed for 3 nights at the end of November. Hotel location very central just off the Gran Via, very close to the Gran Via Metro stop. Our room was on the 4th floor, 1 king size bed and bunk beds. Great shower. Breakfast included in the price of our booking - selection of cold and hot meats, fruit, cakes, tea, coffee, fruit juices. Safety feature - you had to ring bell to gain access during the day and night. Paid £220 for 3 adults, 3 nights with breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher room as hotel is just off a busy road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2014

Extremely expensive for a hotel not any better than a hostel. The staff at the reception not particularly helpful and the whole place is in serious need of renovation. Do youself a big favour and avoid it. t

Room Tip: My room was terrible. I don´t know about the others
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolina C, Manager at Petit Palace Italia, responded to this review, September 29, 2014
Dear Fernando,
first of all many thanks for leaving your comments.
I am verry sorried to hear that you didn`t enjoy your stay.
Rates change depending on the availability and the city events. This dates there wasn`t any room available in Madrid because of ESMO congress, Alvaro Portillo`s beatification and the Arnold Classic Europe 2014. Then rates shoot up.
We made a renovation in 2012, however we will bear in mind that maybe we must do another renovation.
I hope that you will give us a new oportunity in the future.
Kind regards
Carolina Cervera (Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
593 reviews 593 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 117 cities Reviews in 117 cities
223 helpful votes 223 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

At EUR 120 per night our room was ok. It was spacious and we had 2 balconies overlooking Gran Via, and although we were concerned about traffic noise this was not an issue. The hotel is definitely not a three star hotel though - it is very basic, slightly run-down and in need of redecorating. The beds are very firm. However, the location is great for sightseeing as one can walk to all the main sights and the reception girls were all really great and helpful. Don't stay here if you are looking for luxury; do stay here if you want to spend EUR 120 a night on a basic hotel in a great location. We have stayed in Madrid several times and always stayed on Gran Via, but this was far and away the cheapest hotel. If cost is an issue, then this place should check the boxes...

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolina C, Manager at Petit Palace Italia, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Neil,
many thanks for leaving your comments, they help us to improve everyday.
We are glad to know that in general you enjoyed the stay because our location is so strategic to visit the city.
Rates change depending on the availability, for example, the cheapest prices are on summer that it is our low season.
We hope that you will visit us again.
Kind regards
Carolina Cervera (Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

I have stayed in this location for over 40 years. It used to be Hotel Italia then purchased by this chain. I so prefer the old hotel. The breakfast was great but it stopped there. We were traveling w/ my 85 yr old parents and a 4 yr old. There was not assistance nor any cart to take our luggage to the room. The room we had had the wall paper around the window was peeling off and had mildew all over it. The shower pan had a hole and the flooring underneath had water damage because it would move. I was scared it was going to give way. We asked for another room and were told that they had nothing else available and that we had to wait. It never happened. The maid would start early and you knew, so forget about sleeping in the morning on your vacation. When we asked her to please keep it down because we were sleeping, she informed us that she was doing her job in a very nasty way. The floors were so dirty, that I had to throw away any socks that were used to walk on the floor. I guess the maid didn't have time to clean the floors.
Will NOT stay there again. Not worth it for the money. Many other hotels in the area. Took note of them for our next trip in two years. It's a shame.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolina C, Manager at Petit Palace Italia, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear guest,
many thanks for leaving your comments, they help us to improve.
We are very sorried abour your stay in our hotel, it is not the experience that w want to give to our costumer.
If you want to contact me, feel free to do it in the following email adress: italia@petitpalace.com
Best regards
Carolina Cervera (Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

The hotel itself was very basic but to be honest we were there two nights and we really didn't spend that much time in the hotel to care that much. But would like to add there was no English TV channels, Iron or lock on the door (which was awkward as we booked a triple room and 3 of us sharing).
The location was perfect and this made it worth while. You have some great restaurants and bars behind the hotel and the metro is on its doorstep as well as wonderful shops.
You are also across the street from the road that leads straight to the centre square 5 min walk.
you can hear the noise off the street but faintly, think the new windows help.
It was my husbands birthday and the hotel arranged for x2 mini champagne bottles to be put in our room which was really nice of them to do.
The staff were friendly and helpful. Overall I would def stay here again.

Room Tip: Go for a room on the higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolina C, Manager at Petit Palace Italia, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Dear guest,
many thanks for leaving your comments, they help us to improve everyday.
We are happy to know that our situation enjoy you. We are really central located. Also, that our staff and our facilities cover your expectations.
We are very sorried about the noise. All rooms have soundproof windows but it is true that we are in one of the most crowded streets in Madrid.
We hope that you visit us again in other ocasion.
Kind regards
Carolina Cervera (Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Petit Palace Italia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petit Palace Italia

Address: Gonzalo Jimenez de Quesada 2 | esquina con C/ Gran Vía, 32, 28004 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro , Sol
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #255 of 457 Hotels in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Petit Palace Italia 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Petit Palace Italia has been entirely renovated and transformed into a modern 3-star hotel, with the latest services and equipment and the most innovative technology making it one of the best hotels in the heart of Madrid. The hotel, which is both elegantly furnished and well equipped, offers all types of commodities and installations, like hydro-massage showers, free safety boxes, free Wi-fi Premium connection and Free use of Ipad (subject to availability). All rooms are stylish and comfortable, with the latest in advanced technologies. We will be more than happy to attend your special requests (bed type, room views, special bedding for pets...) The staff is friendly and helpful and will be more than happy to inform you on the best restaurants, shopping and places to visit. Amongst other free services, the hotel offers free WIFI connection throughout the building and free bicycles rent (subject to availability). A luminous meeting room with exterior views is available with free Internet connection (please contact the hotel for more details) and two free Internet points are to be found in the hall, making your stay in the Petit Place Italia ideal for business and vacation travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Petit Palace Italia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petit Palace Italia Madrid
Petit Palace Italia Hotel Madrid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Petit Palace Italia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.