We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Madrid Home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of AC Palacio del Retiro, Autograph Collection

Save Saved
You added AC Palacio del Retiro, Autograph Collection to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
AC Palacio del Retiro, Autograph Collection
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Alfonso XII 14, 28014 Madrid, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Hot rate & 15% off dinner
Ranked #89 of 458 hotels in Madrid
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Our Madrid Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

My wife and I stayed 4 nights in this hotel in Madrid and had a great time. We were on our way home from a Mediterranean cruise and decided to spend some time in the capital of Spain as we had visited 9 Spanish ports but nothing in-land. This hotel is small,centrally located, friendly, well appointed and we had the best time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    135
    74
    22
    15
    6
See reviews for
44
124
13
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southern California
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Small, renovated, upscale hotel, in good location, across from Retiro Park. The FRONT DESK STAFF WAS FANTASTIC, very accommodating and helpful with dinner reservations, parking issues, obtaining tickets for a local music venue. They couldn't have been more willing and helpful. There were some NEGATIVE points though: a) the Internet connection was horrible. Incredibly slow, like the old "dial-up" speed. If you need to rely on a good connection, well, you just can't here. Extremely frustrating. Five days of this, and I was tearing my hair out. b) Breakfast was weak, very disappointing. As a Marriott member, we received Continental Breakfast gratis, consisting of OJ, Coffee, a croissant and toast. To upgrade to a full buffet breakfast, it was $20E more (x 2 would be $52US) for a moderate spread...but felt it was just too costly for value received. c) Only one English speaking TV station (CNBC) and not a single newspaper in English, sorry to report. I can't say we'd stay here again...as the negatives outweigh the positives for us.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Loved, loved, loved this hotel. Perfect location and just the right size. We enjoy staying in hotels with a past. The front desk staff was very attentive and always knew our names as we were coming and going.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Highly recommend staying here. It's right across the park, with a short walk to the metro. The rooms are not of a stereotypical "European small" variety. Croissant + coffee is included if you're Marriott platinum. Paying full fare for a breakfast is not worth it, however - it's pretty overpriced then. If you walk 5 mins, there is a street called Calle de Montalbán with 4-5 restaurants as an alternative. Cafe Cibeles is really good.

Overall, I highly recommend staying here, very nice, clean, modern hotel.

Room Tip: The corner rooms seem bigger but they face a wall of a building next to the hotel. Didn't bother...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Canada Flintridge, California
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We stayed here one night at the end of a five-week trip, arriving in the rain and leaving at 6:45 a.m. The young lady at the desk was very warm and welcoming. The porter was gone when we arrived but returned in time to take our luggage to our room. He offered us restaurant recommendations but we did not want to go out. The bartender was very nice, brought us food and wine. Dinner at 8:30 was too late for us as we were very tired, so we enjoyed our snack in the bar which sufficed for dinner. The room was very comfortable, we were awakened as requested, breakfast was brought to our room at 5:45 and we left in time to get our plane to the U.S. The ultra modern decor in the lobby of the historic building seemed jarring at first, but our room was well-equipped, bathroom had separate tub and shower, double basins, all very nice. We will stay at this hotel again if we are in Madrid.

Room Tip: We had room 404 and it was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

I love:
- the location, walkable to museums, old town, shopping and just across from retiro park
- the stylish contemporary decoration in a wonderful historical building
- Laura the housekeeper for her great job she did, rooms perfectly neat
- Molton Brown toiletries in bathrooms
- Breakfast buffet with excellent products

I liked less:
- WiFi not free in rooms

Room Tip: corner room with great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

The location is great and the building is beautiful. The staff is very unwelcoming and have no desire to be nice or graceful. There is no concierge, and the staff are clueless of the city, restaurants and entertainment. Asked twice for help with a reservation in a restaurant, after 245 minutes decided to make it myself. The decor of the rooms is like it came from Ikea, good looking, but very cheap. The rug is old and dirty. Fr a four or three star hotel I would have rated it better. But if they claim 5 starts and they charge for it, they should give 5 start service, clean rooms, and good furniture.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to AC Palacio del Retiro, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AC Palacio del Retiro, Autograph Collection

Address: Alfonso XII 14, 28014 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#59 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#89 Spa Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — AC Palacio del Retiro, Autograph Collection 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Marriott, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline and Venere so you can book your AC Palacio del Retiro, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ac Palacio Del Retiro, Autograph Collection Hotel Madrid
Ac Hotels Madrid
Ac Hotel Madrid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AC Palacio del Retiro, Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.