We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just stunning” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de las Letras

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel de las Letras to your Saves list
Hotel de las Letras
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gran Via, 11, 28013 Madrid, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #69 of 457 Hotels in Madrid
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Just stunning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We spent 4 nights here and it was amazing. Great location, wonderful staff and amazing food! Two thumbs up..... worth every penny!
The roof top bar is awesome but a little on the expensive side. We had cocktails before we went out each night. The reception were very helpful and book a dinner and dancing night for us which was really cheap.

Room Tip: Top tip, book a room with a jacuzzi! Great views and very private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

981 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    459
    388
    73
    39
    22
See reviews for
92
474
74
117
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

As previously noted, Hotel de las Lettres is centrally located, within easy walking distance of the three great museums. While there is a lot of street action and noise from the Gran Via, the windows, when shut, block the noise. I had a corner front facing room, but I suspect rooms in the back along a side street would quieter. I booked a superior room but the basic single would probably have been adequate for one person. The room decor is fresh and rooms are quite comfortable. All and all, an excellent hotel at reasonable rates.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guaynabo, Puerto Rico
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

This is the second time that we stayed in this hotel, and both times we stayed at the Hotel de las Letras the experience was SUPER. They did it again, what GREAT HOTEL it is!!! It keeps getting better and better each year! This year they gave us an excellent room with a great view to the beautiful building besides the hotel. The reception staff that received us for the check in could not be better. They were very friendly and attentive. The facilities are great. The room was beatiful, neat and clean. And the food in the restaurant was excellent!! We invited some friend to come over and have a drink and they all were very nice impress with the room and the whole hotel overall. This was our last hotel before coming back to home, and what great way to finish our vacations in Europe. We had a GREAT STAY!! Hotel de las Letras, thank you for all the attentions and for a wonderful stay in Madrid!! We will be back with no hesitation!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We had a very, very brief stay at Hotel De Las Letras - we came in from Salamanca early evening and were catching an early flight from Barajas the next day, so basically just needed somewhere to lay our heads. What a beautiful place! Amazing building, clean and modern. Excellent and attentive service from the front desk - as soon as we mentioned we needed to check out at 5am they offered to book us a taxi to the airport.

Our room was beautiful, high ceilings, comfy bed, cool and spacious - I imagine this would be a great hotel for hot summer nights. There were floor to ceiling windows that opened out onto a little terrace overlooking the Gran Via. The bathroom was AWESOME. Power shower, his and hers sinks, bathrobes and fluffy towels... couldn't have asked for more.

We had a caña downstairs in the bar and then went out for some food - perfect location.

We plan on returning, but for longer next time!

Room Tip: Everyone says choose a room away from the Gran Via, but I can't say that we found the noise part...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenerife, Spain
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Good location for business and culture. Reception was very friendly and very helpful. We got undated to a room with balcony, pity we only stayed one night. Bathroom was modern and very clean, towels nice and soft.
The restaurant I knew from before, we had a quick "tapa" upon arrival and had full diner after work. Very good quality and reasonably priced.
I did give a remark at the reception about the low light in the room, very inconvenient when you have to get up very early in the morning. But in this case, design goes before function.
But: I´ll be happy to come back here any time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Funky hotel - modern/hip. We had a huge room with a large bathroom (with a tub!) and a balcony. Excellent price for such a great room. There is a fun bar in the hotel as well. Front desk staff were very helpful and spoke excellent English. Near a metro stop and easy to walk to many restaurants, shops, and museums (Prado).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

I would have expected to pay far more for this hotel. It's hip and elegant, the rooms are spacious and comfortable, and the location is central to everything in Madrid. We really loved our stay here and found it to be a great value. There may be better hotels in Madrid -- but not at this price.

Room Tip: There are some rooms on the top floor with large terraces and a hot tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel de las Letras? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de las Letras

Address: Gran Via, 11, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Family Hotel in Madrid
#47 Business Hotel in Madrid
#49 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#51 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de las Letras 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel de las Letras reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Las Letras Hotel
De Las Letras Madrid
Hotel De Las Letras Madrid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de las Letras, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.