We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, service and price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Iberostar Las Letras Gran Via

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Iberostar Las Letras Gran Via to your Saves list
Iberostar Las Letras Gran Via
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gran Via, 11, 28013 Madrid, Spain (Formerly Hotel de las Letras) (Centro)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 452 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good location, service and price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I spent three days there and I can confirm that everything has been fine.
Clean, good free Wi-Fi and the location is at walking distance to many interesting places.
In the room I liked Ikea's style lights and so much the poems on walls

Didn't tried breakfast nor dinner.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    526
    444
    82
    40
    20
See reviews for
108
536
81
137
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

My fiance and I had the pleasure of staying at the Hotel de las Letras back in October of this year. All I can say is "Thank You". The room was super chic and very clean. The staff was super courteous and friendly. We traveled from the states and arrived in Madrid way before noon time, but the front desk staff was able to accommodate us without any problems. I definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Clean & modern. Perfect location for walking to major sights. Great staff - spoke good English and were very helpful with requests or advice. Really nice rooms - great bathroom, but if you're not travelling with your spouse/partner, be aware that it doesn't have a door that closes - just a panel that slides in front of the door frame. Wasn't a problem for my wife and I, but if you were staying with a friend, it might be a bit awkward.

As for Madrid advice:
-Do lots of walking, tons of stuff to see in the city centre.
-Definitely check out the Mercado de San Miguel. Amazing culinary experience.
-Use the metro to get to/from the airport or around town. Frequent trains and tons of stations all over town.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We received a warm welcome on arrival at Hotel de las Letras! The lobby/reception area is very small, with an adjacent lounge area, but the staff were very gracious. Our room was on the top floor with a great terrace. The hot tub on the terrace was a nice touch but we would have enjoyed the water temp to be hotter in order to fully enjoy this amenity. Room service breakfast was on time each morning and overall housekeeping was terrific. The guest room bathroom was a bit dark and the water splashes out of the tub on each side (wet floors!). These were minor in the scheme of things. Location was terrific as we had the ability to walk to many attractions around the city. A great stay and we will happily return!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

I have just returned from a 3 night stay in this hotel, Madrid. I booked online for a standard room and upgraded to a superior room 610 for an additional E20 per night. I had seen this recommended on trip advisor. Thank you. The views were amazing and the upgrade added to the Madrid experience. There was no noise and we slept like tops. Hotel staff were very helpful and pleasant. We took the yellow airport bus outside terminal 2 and this took us very close to the hotel, stopping at Palacio de Cibeles, and a 5 minute walk to the hotel. Would recommend the bus which is a 15 minute journey cost E5 per person. Loved Madrid. Such a friendly city and the numerous bars meant we were spoilt for choice, Tried VIPs chain - very popular with Spanish and very cheap. Good option for breakfast. Im not a huge art buff but enjoyed visiting the three main art galleries, Prado, Reina Sofia and also Thyssen-Bornemiza, all very different and the last private collection of Thyssen Bornemiza was amazing and my favourite. Didnt need to use the metro as everything was walkable. Great city break and Madrid certainly didnt disappoint.

Room Tip: Definitely 610 is the room to go for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

I stayed eight nights at the hotel. I found the hotel staff friendly and helpful. The room I stayed in was cleaned everyday. The hotel itself is located in a very central area of Madrid. Most attractions were walking distance. If you needed transport there were no shortage of buses, taxis and metro stations nearby.

As the location of the hotel is situated on a main road there is a lot of traffic noise throughout the night. I could hear it from my room which was on the fourth floor at the back of the hotel, although I must admit the noise did not bother me. My room was comfortable although it was on the small side. The size of the room was not a problem to me either, but for an upmarket hotel it would have been nice to have a kettle in the room to make a cup of tea or coffee. In fact the room had no extra amenities at all except for the mini-bar in the fridge. Any items you took from there had to be paid for of course.

The bar and restaurant areas are decorated nicely. There is a nice ambiance in the lounge if you wanted to relax after a day of sightseeing.

To sum up I would recommend this hotel, except, maybe for families, although I cannot be 100% sure on this, but going from my experience I think it would be a bit cramped for families to stay there. Although the hotel was busy with people from different walks of life, I did not notice any family groups.

I had an enjoyable time in Madrid and my stay at the hotel was a pleasure. I would go back to the same hotel again, but first I would check out what other hotels on the same scale has to offer.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
139 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

My husband and I really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. Found it to be an excellent location on Gran Via - close walking distance to the Prado, Plaza Mayor and Plaza Santa Ana. Also nearby metro station, which was great to get to the train stations for our day trips to Segovia and Toledo. The staff was very friendly and helpful. By agreeing to stay in another hotel for one night they upgraded us to a junior suite with a terrace, which was a nice size room. There are bars and restaurants close to the hotel as well. We never made it to the roof top bar. I would recommend this hotel. Thought it was good value as well - even more so as we booked a special rate of stay 3 nights and get the 4th night free.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Malasana
Hotel Atlantico
Hotel Atlantico
#8 of 452 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 stars 2,727 reviews
Centro
Hotel Preciados
Hotel Preciados
#6 of 452 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 stars 2,489 reviews
Huertas
Urban Hotel Madrid
Urban Hotel Madrid
#20 of 452 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 stars 1,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chueca
H10 Villa de la Reina
H10 Villa de la Reina
#91 of 452 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 stars 88 reviews
Centro
Hotel Indigo Madrid - Gran Via
Huertas
Catalonia Las Cortes
Catalonia Las Cortes
#5 of 452 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 stars 936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Las Letras Gran Via? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Las Letras Gran Via

Address: Gran Via, 11, 28013 Madrid, Spain (Formerly Hotel de las Letras)
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Madrid
#37 Family Hotel in Madrid
#38 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#40 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Las Letras Gran Via 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The IBEROSTAR Las Letras Gran Via is an avant-garde hotel standing on Gran Via, Madrid. It has the character of a place for literati and seductive services that include informal haute cuisine, guestrooms with terrace whirlpool tub, parking in the area (charge applies), fitness room and Wi-Fi & Walk, among others. Boasting an excellent location in Madrid, the IBEROSTAR Las Letras Gran Via makes the perfect base to explore the theatres and musicals on Gran Via, the museums of the Spanish capital and the nooks and crannies in Barrio de las Letras (Literary Quarter). Stay in a special, charming hotel on Madrid's Gran Via. The IBEROSTAR Las Letras Gran Via is all ready for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Splendia, Odigeo, Venere, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Iberostar Las Letras Gran Via reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Las Letras Hotel
De Las Letras Madrid
Hotel De Las Letras Madrid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberostar Las Letras Gran Via, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.