We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location for visiting the city” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de las Letras

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel de las Letras to your Saves list
Hotel de las Letras
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gran Via, 11, 28013 Madrid, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #70 of 458 Hotels in Madrid
Rome, Italy
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great Location for visiting the city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

We spent a weekend in Madrid and choose this hotel for its convenient location in the city centre.
The room was spacious, clean and really well furnished; the bathroom was big and warm (which is a plus in winter).
We could hear the noise coming from the Hotel bar since our room was right above it (3 floors above)while we were getting ready to go out, when we got back it was quiet.
We didn't have dinner or breakfast in the restaurant, bud had drinks at the bar; it was crowded on Friday night, but we still managed to get a table and get the drinks quickly.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

978 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    457
    387
    73
    39
    22
See reviews for
92
474
73
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Smithtown, New York
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

I spent a weekend here in Oct 2011, while on business. The location on the Gran Via is very convenient to the major tourist spots, and a lot is within walking distance. The hop-on/hop-off bus has a stop right across the street and metro stop is only a block away. I found the standard room to be a good value, and it was very comfortable. The hotel building seems to be from the turn of the century, and has a lot of very interesting architectual details. With so many great restaurants and tapas bars around, I was not motivated to eat in the hotel restaurant. But the hotel has a nice lobby bar area and it is great for relaxing with a cocktail or coffee after a day of sight seeing.
My one gripe was with the front desk service... I asked for help hailing a taxi when checking out on a rainy Monday morning. It was grudgingly provided. Dissapointing but I am starting to learn that Spain has a different standard level of acceptable service than the rest of Europe.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

Highs:
Location right near metro & a comfortable walking distance (considering you are in moderately good health) from many areas & attractions.*
(* the immediate area is a bit seedy at night & the metro down the block is in front of the McDonald's ...which we affectionately came to call, "The Hooker McDonalds." So if you are traveling with children, this may not be the best area...lest you have those "raised in a big city" type of kids who are jaded & unaffected by such scenes.)

Nice lobby / comfortable waiting area for meeting friends

Bar provided a well priced coffee/juice/sandwich (or croissant, but it was tiny) breakfast option if you wanted to stay in the hotel but not spend a lot at the restaurant.

They have a library in the basement with complimentary internet access which proved very helpful during our stay.

Lows:

The restaurant turned into a disco on Saturday night. We had an early train to catch & our room was two floors above the music & it sounded as if there was an only slightly muffled speaker in our room. Just awful. It went on until past 2:30a.m. Since there was no chance of sleeping, we used this time to pack so we could make our train the next morning.
When we called the front desk about the noise, they couldn't do anything & they didn't have a certain time when it would stop... Be a hotel or be a disco...but don't be both.

We were shorted towels & when we called to have more brought up...none were ever brought. We ended up having to go to the front desk after returning from a long day of sight seeing.

Upon check-in, the trash in the room had not been emptied from the last guests & the toiletries were half-used & not replenished.

Bed: Veeeery low to the ground & not very comfortable.

No offer of assistance to help with bags to the room.

+++++++
It was average. I will look for another hotel for my next visit to Madrid, but it was okay. Just okay.
If you come back to the hotel very late & need a soda or water or small snacks to take back to the room, there is a 24 hour convenience store just a few stores down from the hooker McDonald's.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankara, Turkey
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

de las letras offers a comfortable stay in the heart of madrid. i can describe this hotel as facsinating as madrid itself.
it is very enjoyable to stay in a historic building as such. the interior design of the hotel creates a wicked contrast with the historic heritage. the bed i slept in was ery comfortable; i felt like stealing the pilows to be honest (but sure i did not). the staff is helpful and very down to earth. rooms are clean.
its central position, proximity to metro station makes it highly accesible. if you like peace and quite, then why are you in madrid? go stay in a small german town. so as you would expect from a hotel in the hear of a city like madrid, the animated street reflects to your experience of this hotel. the noise from the street was entertaining for me. on the other hand, when i closed my windows and turned on my air condition i could sleep early when i needed to.
internet connection was fast and reception was good.
i really enjoyed the service at roof restaurant and breakfast is very sufficient.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

The hotel is very well situated on the busy Gran Via, within easy walking distance of the royal palace, the Prado and the shops of Puerta del Sol. The street was noisy till late on Friday and Saturday nights but much quieter other nights. Our rooms were excellent, spacious and airy, simply but stylishly furnished. The room lighting however was totally inadequate with just a couple of side lamps to provide illumination. It was impossible to read while seated in the sofa area. Also the free wifi didn't work in either bedroom, we had to hover around the staircase to get connected. The bathroom was excellent, well-lit, with a large walk-in shower. The staff were helpful, changing a room for a quieter one with better lighting. The bar, restaurant and lounge areas are obviously popular locally and were very busy at night. We didn't eat in the hotel, preferring to try the local cafes and restaurants instead, but the occasional coffees and glasses of wine we ordered in the bar were very reasonably priced (€6.70 for two glasses of white wine and a dish of crisps). I would be happy to recommend the hotel for a weekend stay in Madrid.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back if you need quiet in order to sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011 via mobile

The hotel is good. Location of Las Letras is wonderful, rooms are big and clean. The main problem for me was the lack of light. It was too dark in the hotel.
The Internet was free, but very slow.
Breakfasts in the hotel were not wonderful, but not very bad.
O, I forgotten to say, if you want to sleep at night, the hotel is not for you, because it is too noisy at nights.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

We spent a week here, and found it ... admirable but not more than that. Perhaps my expectations were too high.
I loved the room, which was large, attractive and clean. The bathroom was perfect (bring shampoo though). We had a room at the back and with the pollution and noise of Gran Via outside, I don't think you could really cope otherwise. A beautiful view of the back streets of a gorgeous city.
But the staff was hostile to the point of outright rudeness. Even if there was a problem that was easy to fix--the card that had to be inserted in the wall for water and electricity, the cleaner leaving the balcony doors unlocked (it would have made theft easy from the street, with the hotel offering no responsibility even for the room safe), the air conditioning breaking down--the staff always reacted as if we'd done something wrong.
An earlier traveller was right. Occasionally the air conditioning vent would send in room scent and on one night, heavy cigarette smoke. Better that than the unseasonable heat, even in September, but it wasn't pleasant in the middle of the night.
The bed was very hard. Not everyone would like it, but I found it okay with an extra quilt.
The restaurant was dreadful and the computer room really inadequate. There are many small cafes just off Gran Via that have breakfast for two at 6-10 euros rather than the 38 euros the hotel charges.
It's a beautiful, clean hotel. But I would advise staying here for no more than a night or two. The location, close to the Prado and the Thyssen and a subway stop, is very good indeed.

Room Tip: Make sure you have a room at the back if you value quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel de las Letras? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de las Letras

Address: Gran Via, 11, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Family Hotel in Madrid
#47 Business Hotel in Madrid
#49 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#51 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de las Letras 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel de las Letras reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Las Letras Hotel
De Las Letras Madrid
Hotel De Las Letras Madrid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de las Letras, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.