We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern, clean hotel, well located, great value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel One Shot Prado 23

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel One Shot Prado 23 to your Saves list
Hotel One Shot Prado 23
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle del Prado, 23, 28014 Madrid, Spain (Huertas)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #27 of 453 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Horsham, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Modern, clean hotel, well located, great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

This was a very well situate, affordable, clean and contemporary hotel and we thoroughly enjoyed our 3 nights here. There aren't any amenities in the actual hotel but that wasn't an issue for such a short stay. Would definitely come back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaJoseAM, Gerente at Hotel One Shot Prado 23, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear bawhorsham,

Thank you for your comment, we are glad to know you liked our Hotel and you had a pleasant stay in Madrid. The hotel is very well situated right in the middle of Barrio de las Letras, plenty of bars and good restaurants. We hope you can visit us again in the near future.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    133
    19
    9
    3
See reviews for
48
194
35
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

The hotel is in a n excellent location within easy walking distance of the Prado, Thyssen, Plaza Mayor etc. We found the staff to be extremely helpful and friendly, eager to ensure the best possible stay. The room was minimalist with just the basics for overnighting but it was always kept spotlessly clean. There is no restaurant in the hotel but heaps of them in the surrounding area. The hotel is on a quiet street with little or no noise to disturb. Would certainly recommend if one wants a quiet, modern hotel in easy distance of all the tourist spots.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaJoseAM, Gerente at Hotel One Shot Prado 23, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear David,

Thank you for your comment, we are glad to know you liked our Hotel and you had a pleasant stay in Madrid. The hotel is very well situated right in the middle of Barrio de las Letras, plenty of bars and good restaurants.

We hope you can visit us again in the near future.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

First a few words about the staff - amazingly nice and helpful, including the house cleaners. And, the location is excellent - walk to the Prado and a gazillion restaurants. Our room was spotless and quiet - and the bed was comfortable. That said, the rooms favor a hip, modern, Spartan-like aesthetic over comfort. There is little space to put a suitcase or clothes. We got six hangers and a desk-like counter in an open alcove. If you are with someone else, one of the suitcases will be on the counter top, the other on the floor. The safe is also on the floor and requires you to get on the floor to use it. The shower and toilet have a door but the sink area is open to the room. Short on privacy.

People who travel easily with one carefully packed carry-on should have no problem with these rooms. We, however, are not such people. Still, the location triumphed over inconveniences and we had a good time during our stay here.

To sum it up: the concept of this hotel is a clean, simple, arty aesthetic with smallish rooms and good customer service but short on extra comforts including the aforementioned luggage and privacy awkwardness. Additionally, there is no bar, eating area, or gathering place. The idea is you go out for that, which, given the area, works fairly well.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaJoseAM, Gerente at Hotel One Shot Prado 23, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear mowfree,

Thank you very much for your comment. We appreciate that you stayed good in the hotel and I transmit your comment to the staff. Actually, we are in an excellent location in the Barrio de las Letras.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

This hotel is everything is states on the website. Clean, minimalist, modern with interesting art around the hotel. The room had a large comfortable bed and very cool mirror-TV, rain shower and we had booked a balcony room which overlooked the Calle Prada. Everything we required and expected, excellent! However the best thing about the hotel has to be the location. You can walk to 99% of all the touristy places you would want to go and you are spoilt for choice for bars, restaurants, clubs, shops! I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone going to Madrid.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaJoseAM, Gerente at Hotel One Shot Prado 23, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear LHRobbo,

Thank you for your comment, we are glad to know you liked our Hotel and you had a pleasant stay in Madrid. The hotel is very well situated right in the middle of Barrio de las Letras, plenty of bars and good restaurants. We hope you can visit us again in the near future.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicenza, Italy
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Background: Madrid was stop #2 for us in Spain. We took the train from Seville (comfortable, scenic ride) and then cabbed it to the hotel (although the train station isn't too far away, if we had less luggage and it wasn't so hot we might have walked). We booked a terrace room and really enjoyed the space and being able to sit outside in the evening with a glass of Spanish wine.

Hotel: Excellent, if you know what to expect
-this is a minimalist hotel so if you're looking for luxury you'll be disappointed (I suggest looking at the actual hotel website to know what you're getting in to)
-think upgraded, cool hostel (no doorman or bellhop, no restaurant or room service)
-modern, clean
-Ikea-esque vibe
-very affordable (cheapest hotel we stayed at during our travels through Portugal and Spain)
-quiet (at least where our room was located, ask for a room away from the elevator and stairs)

Staff: Excellent
-hipsters all around
-helpful, great English

Location: Excellent
-we walked to all of the major sites (Gran Via, Chocolatería San Gines, Buen Retiro, Palace, Plaza Mayor, Mercado de San Miguel, you get the point)
-restaurants, bars, cafes galore minutes away from the hotel
-taxi stop right down the street

Amenities: Decent
-when I booked the hotel I noticed that they offered a breakfast option but at a restaurant across the street. For those of you that want a buffet breakfast delivered to your room, don't book this hotel! We planned on dining out for all of our meals in Madrid, and it's easy. The hotel is within walking distance of plenty of good restaurants, cafes, and bars.
-no gym (we enjoyed a run in Buen Retiro park, a must see!)
-iron available for guest use free of charge
-mini-bar upon request (isn't stocked)
-our only problem was with the tv. They have these really neat "mirror" tvs but only a handful of channels to watch. Many of the channels were unavailable. Seems a waste of such a cool tv…

Overall: We really like Hotel One Shot 23. We liked the price, the modern design, and the location. We didn't expect luxury and we didn't go home unsatisfied.

Room Tip: Book a room with a terrace, it's worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaJoseAM, Gerente at Hotel One Shot Prado 23, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear tudoepossivel,

Thank you for your comment, we are glad to know you liked our Hotel and you had a pleasant stay in Madrid. The hotel is very well situated right in the middle of Barrio de las Letras, plenty of bars and good restaurants.

We hope you can visit us again in the near future.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

I stopped in One Shot for four nights and had a great stay. I had been to Glastonbury over he weekend and had quite a long day travelling to get to Madrid and checked in late. The room was just what I was looking for. Clean, modern and quiet with an amazing shower. The staff were very professional but relaxed. The location is in the heart of Madrid and all the sites are in easy walking distance. Overall a great place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaJoseAM, Gerente at Hotel One Shot Prado 23, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear Sean,

Thank you very much for your comment. We appreciate that you liked the hotel and I transmit your comment to the staff. Actually, we are in an excellent location in the Barrio de las Letras plenty of bars and restaurants.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

The hotel is in a great neighborhood, however the service is virtually non - existent, and to some degree the staff are basically more or less only there to check you in, nothing else. After an entire week stay I was utterly surprised of the low level of service, even basic requests like towels, or housekeeping, despite informing staff they just ignore your requests. I wouldn't recommend this hotel if your looking for basic service or any service for that matter especially given the price. The entire hotel is staffed by one person, who always seems to find new and creative ways to ignore guests. I would avoid!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaJoseAM, Gerente at Hotel One Shot Prado 23, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear Yussef L,

I regret read that your stay has not been satisfactory. Our hotel has the services of a 3 star hotel. We have one or two people per shift at the front desk to help our customers with itineraries, reservations in shows and museums and generally everything that the customers need. In addition, we have several people who are responsible for cleaning the rooms and keep the hotel clean in general.

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel One Shot Prado 23? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel One Shot Prado 23

Address: Calle del Prado, 23, 28014 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 453 Hotels in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel One Shot Prado 23 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Art, culture, beauty and creation, are part of the day to day of the hotel, not with added elements, but firmly established in its identity and expressed along the distribution of its spaces, in the design of its environments or for its selected furniture. We are referring to a very unconventional hotel, full of positive atmosphere and always on the move, that will surprise you. The Hotel One Shot Prado 23 has 42 rooms. The interior design is a fascinating and personal interpretation of modernity, born from the interior design study of Las2Mercerdes. Every room is equipped with a 42" Ad Notam Mirror TV , Touch Panel ( Laptop to TV connection ), very special illumination, individual Heating system, Mini - Bar, Safe box and an astonishing rain-shower of 40 cm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel One Shot Prado 23 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel One Shot Prado 23, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.