We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, good value hotel but I won't be back.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel One Shot 23

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel One Shot 23 to your Saves list
Hotel One Shot 23
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle del Prado, 23, 28014 Madrid, Spain (Centro)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #23 of 457 Hotels in Madrid
Javea, Spain
Top Contributor
196 reviews 196 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
273 helpful votes 273 helpful votes
“Nice, good value hotel but I won't be back.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Nice hotel in excellent location with friendly staff I would not stay here again..The car park is very narrow indeed; in fact anything very much larger than the Peugoet 207cc I was driving would be a struggle.The location of this hotel could not be better for all the major attractions, museums and art galleries with an extensive range of restaurants and bars nearby; in fact it's position in the city is perfect.
Our room and the hotel were clean, well appointed, well designed and really offered great value for a city centre hotel where the room is just 'a bed for the night'. Be that as it may the room temperature was so cold blowing cold air all night, even with the thermoststat for the air heating system set at 30C, that sleep was affected and it took less time to walk to El Prado than it did for the hot water to run from the shower. Sad reflection is that the warmest appliance in the room was the hair dryer
Not a bad hotel but unfortunately the negatives outweigh the positives and in an area where reasonably priced hotels abound there are not enough reasons to stay here rather than elsewhere.

Room Tip: Check that the heating works before accepting the room, even if you are in the most pressing hurry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaJoseAM, Gerente at Hotel One Shot 23, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear felipehavana,

Thank you for your comment, we are glad to know you liked our Hotel and you had a pleasant stay in Madrid.

I am very sorry because you did not say anything at reception about the air conditioning, because it works perfectly when placed in heating mode. With regard to parking, we know it's tight but it is the common problem in many buildings in the center of Madrid and so we notify before entering and it is the customer who decides if it comes

Anyway, I hope you change your mind and you can give us a new opportunity.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    106
    13
    8
    3
See reviews for
39
163
28
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
chennai
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is located just 100 meters from the prada museum.across a beautiful centre square with plenty of restaurants.The services is fine and coffee tea is available to ease the morning surge needed. The breakfast is in the adjacent building,a bit expensive for what they serve. For that the restaurant t down the road suffices and give you coffee and bread,Spanish omelette at reasonable prices.
The hotel is decent and clean,and walking distance from most places of interest like the puerto de sol. just as you reach the main road ahead on the left a store cells Toledo engraved jewellery though machine made one gets in reasonable prices. Just on the central garden there are shops selling trinkets again easy to take away. the train. Station is just 5 to 8 mins by taxi.Take the taxi on the road as the ones from the station charge an extra 5 euros for reasons best known to them.
Food is easy to get.there are many attractions which can be covered by the hop on and hop off bus tour which starts adjacent to the prada museum.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaJoseAM, Gerente at Hotel One Shot 23, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear suresh k,

Thank you for your comment, we are glad to know you liked our Hotel and you had a pleasant stay in Madrid. The hotel is very well situated right in the middle of Barrio de las Letras, plenty of bars and good restaurants, closed to the museums.

We hope you can visit us again in the near future.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston, ma
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

I was very pleased with my stay at this hotel. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The location was very convenient and we were able to walk almost everywhere we wanted to go. I just wish the hotel were a little closer to a Metro stop.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaJoseAM, Gerente at Hotel One Shot 23, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear wbp657,

Thank you very much for your comment. We appreciate that you liked the hotel. Actually, we are in an excellent location in the Barrio de las Letras, with many bars and restaurants. and closed to all attractions in Madrid.

We hope to see you again in the near future.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Conclusion: We would happily return

The GOOD:
The most comfortable bed, cleanest, and recently-remodeled room out of 3 similar-priced hotels we visited in Spain. The central location is walking distance to the major attractions, just a couple blocks to the Prado, and a 5 Euro cab ride from the train station. The staff understood English and was fast, friendly, and happy to hold our bags both prior to check-in and after check-out. While we waited on our room to be cleaned, they provided a map and made recommendations on what to do. The one shot espresso was very tasty.

The BAD:
We had a red eye flight that arrived early in the morning, but were not able to check-in until 2:30PM because the room was not clean (disappointing but understandable as it was Saturday). It was difficult to nap during the day because the maid was very noisy as she cleaned adjacent rooms. There was no exhaust fan in the bathroom to vent steam, so we had to open a window and see our neighbor across the central courtyard - also in their towel.

Room Tip: Get an interior room to avoid street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaJoseAM, Gerente at Hotel One Shot 23, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear UnhandledException,

Thank you very much for your comment. We appreciate that you liked the hotel and I transmit your comment to the staff. Actually, we are in an excellent location in the Barrio de las Letras, with many bars and restaurants. and closed to all attractions in Madrid.

With regard to check in, it is made ​​from 14.00h as you can see when booking because customers can check out until 12:00h. But as you say, we keep the bags of customers until the moment the room will be ready.

We hope that on your next visit to Madrid, you choose to visit us again in One Shot 23 or in the new hotel One Shot 04, which will open in the begining of 2014 close to Cibeles square.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

The hotel is well located, which is a big plus, and the rooms are really nice and in general well equiped, however a nice equipment doesn´t help, if the things don´t work properly (internet, temperature regulation, tv). Besides, the personnel was not convincing during my stay - NOT AT ALL! I would have expected a friendlier and more competent service (greetings, better communication skills in english, more helpful advice) for the money I paid than I got in the end. Summing up, I would say, that I can imagine staying at this hotel again in the future because of its really good location, however the hotel and its employees need far more experience in dealing with foreign guests and need to do a lot to improve their offer/service.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaJoseAM, Gerente at Hotel One Shot 23, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear TiM052013,

Could you please contact me in prado23@oneshothotels.com to know about your experience?

Thanks a lot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Clean, stylish, comfortable. Friendly helpful staff. A short block from Plaza Santa Ana, which has lots of restaurants, tapas bars, wine bars, and a micro-brewery. Close to Prado Museum, the Reina Sofia Museum and the Thyssen-Bornemisza Museum.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaJoseAM, Gerente at Hotel One Shot 23, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear Lars133,

Thank you for your comment, we are glad to know you liked our Hotel and you had a pleasant stay in Madrid. The hotel is very well situated right in the middle of Barrio de las Letras, plenty of bars and good restaurants, closed to the museums.

We hope you can visit us again in the near future.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

Great location, lovely staff, brilliantly designed rooms, clever decor, terrific value. A plethora of choices of places to eat just around the corner, and also the Prado 5 mins away. STAY HERE and you will be glad you did.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaJoseAM, Gerente at Hotel One Shot 23, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear sarahalice1953,

Thank you for your comment, we are glad to know you liked our Hotel and you had a pleasant stay in Madrid. The hotel is very well situated right in the middle of Barrio de las Letras, plenty of bars and good restaurants.

We hope you can visit us again in the near future.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel One Shot 23? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel One Shot 23

Address: Calle del Prado, 23, 28014 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro , Cortes / Plaza Santa Ana
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 457 Hotels in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel One Shot 23 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Art, culture, beauty and creation, are part of the day to day of the hotel, not with added elements, but firmly established in its identity and expressed along the distribution of its spaces, in the design of its environments or for its selected furniture. We are referring to a very unconventional hotel, full of positive atmosphere and always on the move, that will surprise you. The Hotel One Shot Prado 23 has 42 rooms. The interior design is a fascinating and personal interpretation of modernity, born from the interior design study of Las2Mercerdes. Every room is equipped with a 42" Ad Notam Mirror TV , Touch Panel ( Laptop to TV connection ), very special illumination, individual Heating system, Mini - Bar, Safe box and an astonishing rain-shower of 40 cm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel One Shot 23 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel One Shot 23, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.