We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great night out” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Brabantino

El Brabantino
Fray Ceferino Gonzalez 5, 28005 Madrid, Spain (La Latina)
+34 680 71 70 35
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 145 Shopping in Madrid
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Small wine boutique specialized in Spanish wines & wine tastings. We organize wine tourism trips and have open events. Cosy and personal atmosphere. English, Dutch and Spanish spoken and we can try to mutter some German, French and Catalan. No-nonsense attitude to wine and great value for your money!
Eindh
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great night out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

El Brabantino is a great place to taste and buy some nice wines. What a great atmosphere Jean-Pierre has created here! Great wines, accompanied with nice tapas, great company and stories and tips. I will definitely come back here when I'm in Madrid again.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    1
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Geneve, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Vinos españoles en muchas idiomas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We discovered El Brabantino when living in Madrid. Relaxed atmosphere, no nonsense explanation about wine and a surprising offer of lesser know but excellent wines. Located in a very typical area of Madrid (el rastro) this is an excellent place to take a rest and enjoy a good glass/bottle of wine hosted by JP and Marta.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Madrid, Spain
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A unique wine experience in Madrid”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Stop by and see this little shop in the Rastro area. It is an excellent place to learn about Spanish wine from different regions and organize a tasting. You can also pop in and buy a bottle recommended by the Dutch owner and long time Spanish resident, JP, who carries wines at a very affordable price range. There is a nice selection of traditional wines and more modern varieties. It is a beautiful set up, and should not be missed when checking out the La Latina and Rastro area in Madrid. Work it into your trip and you will walk away with a better understanding of Spanish wine, and maybe even some new friends :)

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“True winelovers in Madrid”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

El Brabantino is without a doubt the best place in Madrid for buying, tasting and enjoying a good glass (or bottle!) of wine. The owners have found a great way to make good wine accesible; no bragging about a bouquet of blabla but sharing all their knowledge about international wines in a welcoming and friendly way. Definately a great place for wine tasting or a sweet Sunday afternoon!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A great evening out!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We unexpectedly stumbled upon El Brabantino one evening and were welcomed into a wine tasting. The hospitality and the wines were excellent. It was great to partake in some lesser-known wines (for us anyway), accompanied by some lovely cheese. We will definately be going back next time we're in town.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Brabantino also viewed

Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 

Been to El Brabantino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Brabantino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.