We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Surprise for Tapas in Madrid!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taberna la Concha

Taberna la Concha
Cava Baja 7, 28005 Madrid, Spain
+34 616 91 06 71
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #50 of 6,814 Restaurants in Madrid
Price range: $0 - $23
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Katonah, New York
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Nice Surprise for Tapas in Madrid!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2014

We came to Taberna la Concha based on the recommendation from the Madrid Food Tours. We're glad we tried this bar restaurant for tapas. We arrived early so we were seated downstairs comfortably and were able to order approx. five plates for our group of six. We had two members of our group who were gluten free so we were pleasantly surprised to see that they had a separate menu of gluten free tapas. The wine was very reasonably priced as well. The service was attentive and very friendly as well. By the time we left, the upstairs area was very crowded showing how popular and good this place is.

  • Visited November 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    187
    71
    27
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great little Bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2014

Not far from the centre of Madrid, a small entrance to a bigger experience. Good selection of tapas, and wines, barman was very knowledgeable about different wines. mixture of locals in suits, and more casual dressed folk, a good overall experience.

  • Visited September 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Cool and great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2014

The restaurant is small, but cozy, young and cool.
You can find all kind of people, but specially people who want to taste great food.
Good service and affordable.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“First-rate tapas, open when others are closed.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2014

The Taberna la Concha looks like a tiny unassuming bar from the outside, but once you get seated at one of the little tables in the basement, the tapas you get are first-rate, with generous portions. We had mostly seafood; especially recommended are the salmorejo (a thick Andalusian tomato-based soup), the bacalao (salted and dried cod — it's like sushi) and the two different versions of anchovies. The servers must be in excellent shape, as they make contless trips up and down the steep basement stairs to supply the diners.

A major plus of this restaurant for American diners is that it's open in the early evening, while most others don't start serving food until 8:30.

  • Visited November 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Not the best tapas bar I have been to”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2014 via mobile

The lady serving us was lovely and I quite liked the atmosphere. The food was overpriced. We had a few tapas, mostly nice except for tomato soup which was too bittery. All overpriced considering the size and quality.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Taberna la Concha also viewed

Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 

Been to Taberna la Concha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taberna la Concha, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.