We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional yet particular” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taberna la Concha

Taberna la Concha
Cava Baja 7, 28005 Madrid, Spain
+34 616 91 06 71
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 6,417 restaurants in Madrid
Price range: $0 - $23
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Madrid
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Traditional yet particular”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Highly recommendable place on a street with many bars but decreasing variety. The food is excellent and non-standard, and the wine is excellently selected - a great, young, jammy Bierzo is available now. I've been going here for six years, and it's only improving!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    146
    46
    21
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Traditional little bar, serving excellent food and wine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Others have used the term "gem", and I think that sums this place up perfectly. It's on Calle Cava Baja – a street packed with tapas bars. But this unassuming little place is turning out excellent food and wine for the price. Dishes are fresh, tasty and, while being rooted in tradition, are given a modern twist. The wine list is well though out, and not just limited to the typical Rioja/Ribera del Duero range. Also, excellent cavas by the glass. Stand at the marble bar, order a few plates to share, and enjoy.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best Tapas Bar in Madrid”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We visited here based on other reviews on tripadvisor. Loved this place, downstairs is small eating area but you can also eat upstairs in the bar which we did as it had a lovely relaxed atmosphere. Tapas were all excellent, everything we ordered tasted great especially the stuffed peppers & the duck with orange. The service was great, we order cava which was lovely & had a few drinks after, the bartender was very nice, he had a very friendly manner. I would highly recommend this place for anyone visiting Madird. I will definitely be going back here if I am ever back in Madrid again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Funky little eatery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

We loved La Concha. We visited based on trip advisor reviews and we were not disappointed. This little tavern has a bar upstairs and the restaurant downstairs. We chose to eat at the bar. The tapas are amazing. We followed their recommendations which turned out to be a very wise choice. We drank Cava (Spanish champagne), beer and a mojito. Overall prices very reasonable. We would definitely recommend this tavern for anyone travelling to Madrid.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“For something different ... and great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Sorry that "winetripper" couldn't appreciate the atmosphere of this little gem. It's certainly not a coat and tie type of place so leave your strand of pearls in the hotel safe. Yes, there are other places that charge you through the nose for the atmosphere, but be prepared for lackluster food and the usual tourist trappings. The tapas here were very good as well as the sangria made with sweet vermouth. We started our night eating downstairs in the small dining area and then moved to the bar upstairs to finish our evening and chat with the bartender. He was very nice even though he was the only one serving and tending bar (short-staffed that night). Highly recommend.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taberna la Concha also viewed

Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 

Been to Taberna la Concha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taberna la Concha, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.