We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent apartment” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Madrid SmartRentals Barrio De Las Letras

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Madrid SmartRentals Barrio De Las Letras to your Saves list
Madrid SmartRentals Barrio De Las Letras
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Santa Maria 36, 28014 Madrid, Spain (Formerly Madrid4rentals Barrio De Las Letras) (Centro)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Free room upgrade
Ranked #14 of 352 Specialty Lodging in Madrid
Shanghai
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent apartment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

The hotel is located in central Madrid, and is within walking distance to the main scenic spots. The room is very well equipped and comfortable. I love the decoration which is simple but very modern.

Our flight to Madrid was delayed, and we arrived at the apartment at round 12am. Mariló waited for us to do the check-in without any complaints. During our stay, if we need something for the apartment, Mariló always sent it over immediately. We really appreciated her kindness and good services.

If we have chance to go back to Madrid, we will definitely stay in Madrid4Rentals again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid4rentals, Director General at Madrid SmartRentals Barrio De Las Letras, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear customer,

First off, we would like to thank you for your positive and encouraging feedback. We are really glad that you liked our modern apartment in the heart of Madrid, and that you found our staff members welcoming.
Our customers are the most important to us, and what we want is to feel at home.
We are delighted that we have enjoyed our apartments and hope to see you again at Madrid4rentals
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    69
    8
    2
    2
See reviews for
79
13
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We are 2 couples and stayed 5 nights in the 2 bedroom apartment in September. We used the company recommended by Madrid4rentals for our transfer from the airport and it worked out well and was good value. Check in was easy as there was someone at the apartment when we arrived and we simply rang the bell as advised. There is a lift in building so our luggage was no problem. The apartment is large and comfortable with amenities as described. There was plenty of room and the 2 bathrooms were much appreciated. The only negative was that the second bedroom had a pull out bed, which although quite comfortable, took up the whole room when extended. There is plenty of wardrobe space, free wi fi, and a very nice TV and sound system (unfortunately no English speaking channels).
The location is fantastic in a reasonably quiet street, but close to the busy nightlife area. It is close to Atocha station and even closer to the metro system. There are many good restaurants and cafes close by and Plaza Mayor and Puerta Del Sol are within easy walking distance. The Prado and other museums are close by as is Retiro Park and the Botanic gardens. We had a great time in Madrid and this apartment is perfectly located to explore the city.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid4rentals, Director General at Madrid SmartRentals Barrio De Las Letras, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear customer,

First off, we would like to thank you for your positive and encouraging feedback. We are really glad that you liked our modern apartment in the heart of Madrid
In our apartments comfort and design go hand in hand. We realize this may seem surprising aspects of our apartments, and we always try to improve in which our clients do stop.
We do care about our guests and your opinion is very important for us.
We just want you to feel like if you were at home,away from home
We hope to see you again at Madrid4rentals
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

From first impression, the telephone operator who answered our call was friendly and assured us that the checkin person will arrive within 15minutes. The checkin person Nicholas did arrive within 15 minutes. He was very friendly and helpful with a map and information about Madrid e.g. Food, music, etc.
The 2 bedroom apartment was very spacious with a large lounge. It was very clean. The location was very quiet and convenient to the Botanical gardens and parks, jazz and flamenco venues, San Miguel market, the central railway station for high speed train and restaurants.

The down side is that the shower area was very small and we kept hitting the shower tap. There was no holder for shampoo or soap so we had to put them on the floor. There was no provision for washing powder or dish washing liquid. Only one pillow per person was provided. The floor boards squeaked around the kitchen area. The key to the our apartment door was difficult to operate and we nearly locked ourselves out. There is no 24 hour checkin so you have to inform them what time you are going to arrive and call them 30 minutes before arrival.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid4rentals, Director General at Madrid SmartRentals Barrio De Las Letras, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Google Translation
Estimado cliente,
Ante todo muchísimas gracias por aportar su punto de vista y por haber reservado con Madrid4Rentals.
En nuestros apartamentos la comodidad y el diseño van de la mano. Entendemos que puede resultar llamativo algunos aspectos de nuestros apartamentos, y siempre intentamos mejorar aquello en lo que nuestros clientes se detienen.
Por eso su comentario es tan importante para nosotros,cada detalle en el que ustedes se fijan es un aliciente para mejorar cada día,y que su estancia sea cada vea mas parecida a sentirse "Como en casa".
Tomamos nota de sus opiniones,y esperamos verles de nuevo en Madrid4rentals
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zuchwil, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

The nicely furnished appartment is located in a cute, lively neighbourhood with lots of restaurants, bars and little shops arround. Also, all major sights of Madrid are within walking distance. We initially considered getting a metro or bus card but figured out quickly that it is not really necessary.
The staff that we met, whether upon arrival or when we left our bags at the office on the day we left was also super friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay with Madrid4rentals again if we come back to Madrid

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid4rentals, Director General at Madrid SmartRentals Barrio De Las Letras, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear customer,

First off, we would like to thank you for your positive and encouraging feedback. We are really glad that you liked our modern apartment in the heart of Madrid, and that you found our staff members welcoming.
We are very pleased that you liked the location of our apartments, which are in the center of Madrid and effectively reaches all sites very easily.
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Just what we want is that you feel at home.
Your satisfaction is ours.
Thank you again for your feedback
We hope to seeing you again soon at Madrid4rentals
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We got off to a bad start here, but recovered well. We initially had rented a loft apartment at 36 Calle Santa Maria. It turned out to be better suited for hipsters than for people our age—we’re more interested in having adequate lighting, trash baskets, towel racks, and other necessities of life than 3D glasses for watching TV, and IPad docking stations, but that’s us. And as other guests have mentioned, the metal stairs leading up the loft part of the unit are pretty treacherous. Our initial meeting with the staff person who let us in was not satisfactory--she couldn't wait to leave and be on her way; not helpful at all.
On the other hand, Etheria at the rental office was very helpful—she offered to move us to Apt. 2B, just refurbished and it was perfect. Two bedrooms, large living room, dining area and good kitchen, and a large bathroom with excellent shower, provided us with a very comfortable base for our five night stay in Madrid. The location is excellent—less than a ten minute walk to either the Prado, or the Sofia Reina museums—and in the old city with the feel of a neighborhood setting. Five minute walk to the Metro for an overnight train trip to Toledo. And the area is abuzz with restaurants , bars, stores, etc in the evenings, though the apartment itself is perfectly quiet. An easy walk to the Plaza Santa Ana, the Puerta del Sol, Plaza Mayor, with all available options for eating and drinking.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid4rentals, Director General at Madrid SmartRentals Barrio De Las Letras, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Google Translation
Estimado cliente,
Ante todo muchísimas gracias por aportar su punto de vista y por haber reservado con Madrid4Rentals.
Nos es muy grato saber que el personal fuera agradable con ustedes,les haremos llegar sus felicitaciones.
Para nosotros lo mas importante son nuestros clientes,y que se sientan como en casa
Nos alegramos de que encontraran el apartamento muy céntrico,realmente esa es una de las ventajas de alojarse en Madrid4rentals.
Esperamos volver a verles pronto entre nosotros
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangkok
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

The staff were young, lively, good-looking but their best quality was the attitude that they all showed in welcoming the guests and accommodating to our needs. Apartment was clean and spacious. Very easy access to the trendy Sta. Ana and Prado Museum. Looking forward to try other Madrid4Rental properties.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid4rentals, Director General at Madrid SmartRentals Barrio De Las Letras, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear customer,

First off, we would like to thank you for your positive and encouraging feedback. We are really glad that you liked our modern apartment in the heart of Madrid, and that you found our staff members welcoming.
We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deurne, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We had a fantastic long weekend in Madrid. The accommodation was great, well equipped, service OK. We also appreciated the location in the neighbourhood of the top museums of Madrid.
One minor issue: we were with friends and expected a reasonably normal sized second bedroom with 2 beds, but it turned out to be a very small bedroom with sliding beds and no floor space left at all with the beds in position.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid4rentals, Director General at Madrid SmartRentals Barrio De Las Letras, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear Customer
Firstly thank you for your comment and your booking with Madrid4Rentals.
In our apartment comfort and design go hand in hand. We realize this may seem surprising aspects of our apartments, and we always try to improve that in which our clients are stopped.
Your comments are very valuable to us, help us to improve every day.
The most important thing for us is that the client spend a pleasant stay and leave Madrid with pleasant memories
Best regards and hope to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Madrid SmartRentals Barrio De Las Letras? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madrid SmartRentals Barrio De Las Letras

Address: Santa Maria 36, 28014 Madrid, Spain (Formerly Madrid4rentals Barrio De Las Letras)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro , Cortes / Plaza Santa Ana
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 352 Specialty Lodging in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Madrid SmartRentals Barrio De Las Letras 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Madrid SmartRentals Barrio de las Letras goza de una ubicacion centrica en Madrid, a 5 minutos a pie del Museo del Prado, Thyssen, Puerta del Sol y de la estacion de trenes de Atocha. Apartamentos modernos con aire acondicionado y conexion Wi-Fi gratuita. Los apartamentos cuentan con sala de estar con TV de pantalla plana, sofa cama y mini cadena iPod, bano privado con secador de pelo y ducha y cocina bien equipada con lavadora y lavavajillas. Muchos de ellos son aticos duplex, y otros cuentan con balcon. En los alrededores del establecimiento hay muchas tiendas, bares y restaurantes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Madrid SmartRentals Barrio De Las Letras reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Madrid SmartRentals Barrio De Las Letras, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.