We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Tijcal II Hostal Madrid

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Tijcal II Hostal Madrid to your Saves list
Tijcal II Hostal Madrid
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Cruz 26, 28012 Madrid, Spain (Centro)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #330 of 457 Hotels in Madrid
Wellington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Terrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2007

This hotel is terrible. We would never reccomend it to anyone. Not only is it some of the smallest, dirty and insuffient accommodation you will find but the service is horrific. The Manager of this hotel is possibly one of the rudist people we have ever met. The rooms are so small that you would not even fit one suitcase in let alone two and the bathrooms are even smaller with the doors not even opening fully! We knew two other groups staying at this hotel and their experience was worse than ours. I would suggest you don't waste your money - you would have a better experience at a backpackers

Stayed October 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    41
    37
    15
    5
See reviews for
7
37
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wirral
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2007

This hotel was in a great location with clean rooms - small but at this price expected.
However, that is where my good comments end.
This was a building site. There was half the floor dug up as soon as you set foot inside, with little or no boarding to attempt to make it safe, then rooms were still being built right next door to ours. The noise & dust was horrible.
Also, the staff could do with some lessons in manners as they were very rude. They seemed to look for ways to argue with you & tried to charge us for things already paid for (breakfast was paid for but did not arrive & we were later told this was our fault even though we ordered it!) Also charge 5Euro per day for aircon which is not mentioned when booking & was also not available for most rooms due to the building work - they said they could not turn the electricity on as a result it was hot hot hot in those rooms! We eventually did get air-con but I know most rooms were still without it.
Also, our friends were accused of flooding the hotel when they took a shower - the shower was not plumbed in properly by the look of it, but this was their fault apparently!
All I can conclude is that this will be a clean travel-lodge style place in a good location once they finish building & staff have some lessons in customer relations.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Everything but location!
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK / Newcastle, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2007

Location: great for Sol Metro station, theatre, shops and main attractions
Reception: quick and easy
Room: small but clean
Breakfast: didn’t purchase (3EUR p/p delivered to room)

  • Liked — location, felt safe
  • Disliked — no internet and mould in the shower
  • Stayed April 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg, Germany
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2007

This is a prime location in Madrid- I feel lucky that we found it. Great price. The rooms are even more tiny than usual European rooms. We were not traveling to spend a lot of time in our room, we just needed a great, centrally located place to sleep, and it worked out great. It was very clean, A/C worked great (I think we had to pay 5Euro for this), and it was very secure. Lots of great tapas places around, including "Abuelos" just down the street. There is a great place for churros in the morning just down the street to the right.

  • Liked — Location and price
  • Disliked — Size
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2006

My boyfriend and i stayed here in June 06 for 4 nights (before taking the overnight train to Barcelona). The hotel is located about 300m from Puerta Del Sol.
It was clean and tidy.
The room was small, as was the ensuite bathroom but perfect for you if all you want is somewhere to lay your head at night. We had fresh sheets and towels everyday, there is also a tv in the room with a couple of english channels.
We were in the room right next to the reception desk - which i was initially a little concerned about due to noise - didn't hear a thing! You have to pay a little more for the airconditioning but it is worth it especially in the summer! Everything is a short distance from this hotel and there are lots of bars and restaurants on the doorstep if you don't fancy venturing to far from the hotel but the city itself had oudles of restaurants to go to.
The day that we left they were more than happy with us leaving our bags at the hotel as we went for a final day of sight seeing before we caught our train.
The staff speak english too and are very helpful recommending various attractions to see.
You have to be buzzed into the building at night (and sometimes during the day), the hotel is on the 2nd floor, but there is a lift. There is a step to get in the building and once in the hotel another step to contend with so may not be ideal for those in wheel chairs

  • Liked — Location was great
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Souzas, SP, Brazil
Top Contributor
262 reviews 262 reviews
161 hotel reviews
Reviews in 163 cities Reviews in 163 cities
592 helpful votes 592 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2006

I was at fault for booking this place without doing sufficient research. It was mentioned in a Brazilian travel magazine picked up at random.

As we were at the end of a three week trip traveling with one big suitcase each plus hand luggage, it was nearly impossible for both of us to be in the room at once unless one was in bed or in the tiny bathroom. They charged extra for air conditioning, which we needed.

Upon checking out after one night, we were told that we must pay for the three nights that were booked. It was a rip off.

In all fairness, the place was clean but for 69 Euros I thought it over priced.

Think about it twice before booking this Hostal.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2006

We don't really want to give this hotel a bad review, because the staff were extremely friendly and helpful, and the location was good - but the main purpose of a hotel is to give you a good night's sleep, and the Tijcal II just didn't.

The rooms (and hallways) were tiny, and we didn't sleep well any of the three nights we stayed - the bed just wasn't at all comfortable. The other problem was noise. The walls were thin enough to hear when someone else was talking (in reception and other rooms), and the doors slamming was like two pots hit together right by your ears.

Still, if you can sleep practically anywhere, and you want to be in the thick of Madrid - this may be your place.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tijcal II Hostal Madrid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tijcal II Hostal Madrid

Address: C/ Cruz 26, 28012 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro , Sol
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #330 of 457 Hotels in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tijcal II Hostal Madrid 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Tijcal II Hostal Madrid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tijcal Ii Hostal Madrid Hotel Madrid
Tijcal Ii Hostal Hotel Madrid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tijcal II Hostal Madrid, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.