We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must see building” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Palacio de Cibeles

Palacio de Cibeles
Plaza Cibeles 1, 28014 Madrid, Spain (Chueca)
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 1,404 things to do in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Epsom, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A must see building”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

You can, if you listen to your inner ear carefully enough, just hear the crackle of old fashioned steam radio from the 30s as music and chat flashes its way across Madrid, sometimes for good, sometimes not. Not everybody's cup of tea, but it brings back so many memories of bygone eras, it makes the hairs stand up on the back of your neck just looking at it from across the street. Magic.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,271 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    712
    454
    83
    15
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Worth going to the top. Great view of the city of Madrid. Interesting history of Correos postal system.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A modern office in a beautifully restored palace”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

The building is the heart of Madrid on Castillana just at the fountain of Cibeles. The art and sculpture exhibitions in one of the entrance lobby are wonderful and changed frequently. The service ai tres rapide et ils ont meme une banquet a l'interieur.
Le personnel est multilingual et very pleasant to foreign customers asking about anything

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“I guess I did go”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

I kept looking for this and probably should have looked at the pictures instead of looking at the location on the TA map. The building is called Centro Centro (at least that's what people's pictures show). I went on Sunday and the observatory was closed but you could still get up to the 6th floor and look out the windows which suggested a decent view. I would imagine the 8th floor observatory would actually be quite nice. I'm not sure there were any other high viewing locations in Madrid. Going up to 6 was free but not sure if getting to 8 would cost money. There were also some art exhibits on the other floors which wasn't free so I didn't bother. I'm

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterrey
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
91 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Just a quick stop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

I had to send a letter to a friend and stopped really fast. I was amazed on the fast service and stamp exposition they have. You can buy collection stamps or just look at them. The staff is not very nice.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palacio de Cibeles also viewed

Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 

Been to Palacio de Cibeles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palacio de Cibeles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.