We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be visited” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Palacio Real de El Pardo

Palacio Real de El Pardo
C/ Manuel Alonso s/n | El Pardo, 28048 Madrid, Spain
34-913-761-500
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Palacio Real de El Pardo like an insider
$54*
and up
Ranked #90 of 1,404 things to do in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Could be visited”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

It is not one of the most impressive castles in Europe but it remains a big and nice monument to visit in Madrid. I like the architecture from the outside. Too bad you can't take pictures from the inside. Don't forget to check if there is any official ceremony before going as it might be closed for visitors. (it was the case for 2 days when i was in Madrid in June 2014). You can visit as well the facing Cathedral while you are there and go on top to enjoy a nice view of the city.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    65
    23
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Inishmore, Ireland
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
72 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Majestic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Even though I could not visit the interior I really enjoyed the visit. It is a very elegant palace worth the visit. Several lovely tapas bars in the area and lovely views.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Beautiful gardens worthwhile expirience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

If you have time for a stroll take a walk through the gardens of this palace and imagine days gone by., it can get extremely hot so take a drink, lots to see monuments and pretty gardens.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
50 attraction reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
188 helpful votes 188 helpful votes
“Don't miss it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Don't go to Madrid and not see this. Hire one of the audioguides (4 euros), as there is limited information in each room. As you're walking through you can really imagine what it must have been like to live there, and the information on the politics etc is really interesting. It's still sometimes a working palace, and has been the site of various significant events in history. Definitely recommended.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Sight worth seeing in Madrid”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

During our last day in Madrid, we decided to check out the Palacio Real, and were not disappointed. The site includes both the royal palace and nearby cathedral as well as other interesting parks and monuments nearby. It was an easy walk from the central area in which we stayed (near Puerta del Sol and Gran Via). The self-guided tour was nicely laid out, though the rooms in the guide didn't completely match those we saw due to renovations. I was impressed by the luxury: gold, silver, tapestries, crystal, paintings, statues, armor, and more. We were able to make our way through the rooms at our own pace, avoiding the tour and school groups when we wanted. If you go, don't overlook the armories. Normally I don't get too excited about armor and weapons, but these exhibits were really impressive (how did they get all that armor on a horse?).

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palacio Real de El Pardo also viewed

Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 

Been to Palacio Real de El Pardo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palacio Real de El Pardo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.