We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple, nice and great one” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Posada de Huertas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added La Posada de Huertas to your Saves list
La Posada de Huertas
Calle Huertas 21, 28014 Madrid, Spain (Centro)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 353 Specialty Lodging in Madrid
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Simple, nice and great one”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

Great hostel, the location is extraordinary, walking distance to metro station and also to museo del prado and other places such as plaza mayor. The staff is very friendly and helpful. I only spent one night but this hostel surely leave good impression for me.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    64
    21
    6
    5
See reviews for
2
3
49
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

This place was my first hostel and it was amazing. After the horror stories I'd gotten from friends about other hostels, I really wasn't expecting much. my friends and I got placed in an eight person room and ended up only having one other person in the room who joined us on our third night. Given, this was because we were traveling in the middle of the week, but it was still lovely. The sheets were clean and fresh, the bathrooms were immaculate, and they had lockers in the room that were personalized to these bracelets that acted as keys to the hostel, room, and lockers. There were four computers with free internet that were pretty accessible, a clean kitchen for common use, and the concierge was great. Breakfast was really just cornflakes, juice, milk and toast with jam, but that was fine with us. Location was amazing, right next to a metro stop and a quick walk to puerta del sol and the big museums on paese del prado. Couldn't recommend this place more!

Room Tip: Might be worth getting the single sex room, just a little bit more expensive but more likely to get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australind, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011

This place had a really great location, close to grocery stores, a laundramat and lots of pubs/bars/clubs.
The rooms were pretty standard for a hostel, and the bathrooms were relatively clean. There was no area for getting naked and dressed again in the bathroom, so bring a large towel or bathrobe. And wifi was only available in the lobby.

A great thing about this hostel, whether you're alone or with friends is that they run activities for hostel patrons. There's a walking tour, although I didn't go, pub crawls (awesome fun), a discount flamenco show per week and a couple of sangria nights... and they're all great for meeting people.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2010

I chose this hostel based on location and that it seemed to be the only hostel in Madrid with availability. Location turned out to be great. Two minutes from the metro (Anton Martin), 10 minutes top to Plaza del Sol and 5 minutes more to Plaza Mayor. In the other direction, about 10 minutes to the Prado. You could walk to Atocha but the subway is also an easy ride. Beware however that that streets nearby are loud at night, so bring earplugs. On the other hand, there are tons of bars, restaurants and places to buy food nearby (the veg/vegan buffet a few blocks towards the Prado was a good find for when you're feeling tired of Spanish food).

The rooms were your typical hostel dorm rooms - just beds and lockers. However, each bed had its own light. Very handy and I wish more hostels offered that. I don't recall any night time noise. Decent bathrooms, never really a wait. I don't think the water got all that warm but that was fine. The only annoyance was that the showers were set up in a way that offered no privacy. Unless you got changed inside the stall, anyone walking by got an eyeful (though the bathrooms are at the end of the hallway).

Breakfast was toast, cornflakes, milk, oj, nutella and jam. Computer room/dining room had four computers, but two weren't really functional while I was there. And they seem to lock both areas at midnight. There is also no real lounge, just chairs by the reception area.

Didn't participate in any of the hostel's events, so can't comment on that. The front door staff ranged from slightly surly to ok to extremely helpful. The elderly gentleman who was there at night helped me find my camera which I had left in the computer room (the cleaning people who moved it to a high shelf), while the morning front desk person couldn't care less.

Overall, I was happy with my choice - location was great and I was quite happy with the price. This is probably one of the more no frills hostels in Madrid but that was fine by me. And while there was street noise, I was glad to be not right in Sol.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2010

I hadn't stayed in a youth hostel for a few years before I stayed in one of the dorm rooms here for two nights with eight friends - and I'm probably no longer a "youth" now. However, it seemed to compare fine with the hostels I've visited in the past.
First impressions weren't great. We turned up early afternoon with a reservation only to be told "come back later." An hour passed and we returned. Again - "Come back later." Finally, three hours after our first attempt, we got to the dorm.
The room was clean and tidy - standard bunk bed arrangements with pillow cases, sheets and blankets provided. The shared bathroom was small, with three showers and wasn't brilliant. There isn't a curfew but there also wasn't that much noise - the main reason I couldn't sleep was the snoring of my mates rather than people partying elsewhere. Also, following our first impressions, the receptionists did become more cheerful.
The main things this place has got going for it are the price (20 euros per night) and the location, with the sights and bars/restaurants within easy reach. I'd recommend this place, mainly for those reasons.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
212 reviews 212 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2009

This was my first "international hostelling" experience, and I think I put up with it because I didn't know the standards to expect. The receptionist was very slow and seemed confused by the system. The rooms were crowded and the walls paper thin. There was never any hot water and very very very communal showers. breakfast was included but it was meagre (poor quality bread, jam sachets, cheap cornflakes and milk. That was it). A party and international atmosphere, but i didn't enjoy the experience. Saving grace was the fantastic location however. Really really good location for walking around Madrid.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2008

This was my first time staying in a hostel and it was a very positive experience. Hostal Posada is on Calle de Huertas, a pedestrian area that is a block away from a metro stop, just a few blocks from the Prado, and only a few minutes more to the Reina Sofia or Atocha train station. It's also definitely within walking distance to Plaza Mayor and Palacio Real. The hostel was clean (both rooms and bathrooms), the staff were very friendly, there are two computers and free wifi, and a free daily walking tour. The hostel felt very safe and comfortable, and the location really couldn't have been better. I will definitely stay there again if I go back to Madrid.

  • Liked — location, price, cleanliness, security
  • Disliked — I have no complaints - it was a great hostel
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Posada de Huertas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Posada de Huertas

Address: Calle Huertas 21, 28014 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro , Cortes / Plaza Santa Ana
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 353 Specialty Lodging in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Posada de Huertas is in an ideal location in central Madrid, situated between the museums and the main shopping and nightlife district. Hostelworld guests have told us 'the location is fantastic; you can walk around to all the attractions if you want' and 'you can get to the heart of all nightlife in Sol in less than 10 minutes' from here. We like that the hostel has events happening nearly every day, with highly-praised entertaining and informative free walking tours and 'enough good common areas and activities to help you get to know Madrid' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelBookers, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your La Posada de Huertas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Posada de Huertas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.