We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Urban Hotel Madrid

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Urban Hotel Madrid to your Saves list
Urban Hotel Madrid
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carrera de San Jeronimo 34, 28014 Madrid, Spain (Huertas)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #19 of 453 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Urban for the second time this past weekend. We loved the location -- walkable to literally everything you might want to see. The best thing, though, is the customer service. For example, I asked the front desk staff to help me reserve a table at a restaurant in town. When they found out that the restaurant had no availability at all that entire weekend, they found an alternative owned by the same chef and got us a table there. Another example: the manager overheard me say something about my husband's birthday and later that evening, we received ice cream and cake and a bottle of champagne! The rooms are clean, comfy, modern and quiet. We'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionDerbyHotels, Subdirector at Urban Hotel Madrid, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Guest.

First of all, I would like to thank you for expressing your opinions
About the services of our hotel during your stay.

The opinion of our clients is extremely important to us, as it makes us
Improve our services continually.

I thank you once more for your collaboration. I stay at your disposal.

I would like to have the opportunity to meet you in a future visit. I will
Personally make sure it is pleasant for you.

Yours sincerely,

Antonio Martin Ortega
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    636
    334
    106
    37
    10
See reviews for
106
590
58
169
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Suprising friendly, Suprising Upgrade, just perfect! We were in Madrid for one Night, therefore the location was also very important. Location is great as well. Breakfast is a little bit high priced but worth it. Even in the Evening there was a great Event in Bar located in the hotel. A very good recommondation for Madrid. Price for Rooms is ok, I've seen much higher Prices for less. Last but not least, there is a nice rooftop bar with pool - enjoy.

Room Tip: very friendly, Breakfast high priced but worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionDerbyHotels, Subdirector at Urban Hotel Madrid, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for posting such a good comment about the service and in general about the hotel.

All the staff is happy to read we are doing a good job and we have made you feel comfortable in your stay at hotel .

We hope to see you again.

Best regards,

Antonio Martin Ortega
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Excellent location right next to Puerta del Sol, utterly trendy decor - intentionally and seriously kitschy, thus definitely not for all tastes, but I just loved it - and superb service at the front desk. The ground floor bar is really nice, though surprisingly small. The rooms could indeed be bigger (don't know about the suites as we did not get a glimpse of those). And the complaints from some other reviewer regarding the doors applied 100 % to our room as well; the bathroom door and the inner door of the room are constantly making noise when used as they are seemingly not in perfect shape. So a small renovation could be a good idea.

Also the room was not as sound proof as someone might hope for. Especially when located close to the elevator as we were, the sound of people talking in the hallway entered the room pretty loud and clear at times.

Another tiny glitch were the cigarette burns in the curtains in the room. There were only a few holes, but still, at 5 stars you would not expect to find something like that.

Everyone should also know that the room called 'gym' on the rooftop of this hotel is very tiny, with only two machines and a bench for lifting weights. This was not an issue during the Christmas time as it seemed that hardly anyone was using it but us. One thing to point out in relation to this during the coldest winter months is the steam room in conjunction with the gym. In theory the room warms up quickly, but the rocky benches remain ice cold. So it ain't that adviceable to try and use it in case the outdoor temperature is low.

Otherwise just loved the rooftop terrace, even if the bar there is closed for the winter months.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionDerbyHotels, Subdirector at Urban Hotel Madrid, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Guest.

First of all, I would like to thank you for expressing your opinions
About the services of our hotel during your stay.

The opinion of our clients is extremely important to us, as it makes us
Improve our services continually.

I thank you once more for your collaboration. I stay at your disposal.

I would like to have the opportunity to meet you in a future visit. I will
Personally make sure it is pleasant for you.

Yours sincerely,

Antonio Martin Ortega
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We were group of 20 people from office, visiting Madrid for our annual industry exhibition. The hotel was booked by our travel agent saying best place to be in city centre.

Indeed the hotel's best thing is its location, walkable distance to every citi centre attraction and night life.

But that's it.....the rooms were such that it made me feel claustrophic, poor lighting. The worst thing was Gym, I decided to hit the gym at 6 AM one day and to my surprise the staff says it opens only at 9 AM (whoa......what a suprprise)

Except the reception staff other staff was a bit high headed. May be just my perceptions.

Positives
- Location
- Nice Bathroom with shower and batch tub sections differentiated, large wash basin with artistic floor
- Nice Bar at the receptions area
- Decent Breakfast (routine and monotonous though, ate same things for 3 days of our stay)

Negatives
- Claustrophobic rooms
- Wired internet (we are in Europe, where is Wifi?)
- Gym (Opens only at 9 AM)

Not business traveller friendly at all and the rates are too high compared to services.

Room Tip: Chose front or side rooms, back side rooms make you feel you are in some closed n dark place in pris...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionDerbyHotels, Subdirector at Urban Hotel Madrid, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
On behalf of all of us at the Hotel Urban, thank you for taking the time to complete the recent Trip Advisor Review. I wanted to follow up with you personally, as you are a most valued client and we appreciated receiving your feedback.

First of all,. I have shared your comments with the entire team at the Hotel Urban. We have immediately implemented procedures to ensure to improve all the points you mentioned. We are actively pursuing corrective measures so that you will have a better experience, should you give us the chance to earn your future business. Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we can improve. It is important to us that we use the feedback given to us by our guests as a tool to improve so that we continue to exceed your expectations.

I would also appreciate an opportunity to discuss your stay in additional detail. Please call me directly at your earliest convenience and I look forward to speaking to you so this matter can be settled to your satisfaction. I can also be reached via email as well if that is more convenient.

At Hotel Urban hospitality we pride ourselves in providing unique hospitality experiences and superior service. Thank you for your consideration and I look forward to hearing from you.

At your Service,

Antonio Martin
Subdirector
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Witney, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

When we returned to Madrid we decided to try Urban instead of returning to ME Plaza Santa Ana. Unfortunately not a good decision as I found the bed to be uncomfortable and the pillows awful, whereas the Me was extremely comfortable.
In addition although you can can access wifi you have to log on every day, which is a pain. Spanish hotels especially 5 star hotels, really must provide unlimited wifi access.
We did eat at the restaurant for dinner, which was enjoyable food, but unnecessarily fussy and very expensive.
When we ordered room service unfortunately the person could not understand English well, and instead of a pineapple juice we got a plate of pineapple an we got 2 plates of chips we did not require
In fact we had breakfast out of the hotel which saved a fortune.
The TV had connections for Apple TV or the adapters that link an iPad to be able to watch downloaded stuff as the tV has limited English programmes

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionDerbyHotels, Subdirector at Urban Hotel Madrid, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
On behalf of all of us at the Hotel Urban, thank you for taking the time to complete the recent Trip Advisor Review. I wanted to follow up with you personally, as you are a most valued client and we appreciated receiving your feedback.

First of all,. I have shared your comments with the entire team at the Hotel Urban. We have immediately implemented procedures to ensure to improve all the points you mentioned. We are actively pursuing corrective measures so that you will have a better experience, should you give us the chance to earn your future business. Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we can improve. It is important to us that we use the feedback given to us by our guests as a tool to improve so that we continue to exceed your expectations.

I would also appreciate an opportunity to discuss your stay in additional detail. Please call me directly at your earliest convenience and I look forward to speaking to you so this matter can be settled to your satisfaction. I can also be reached via email as well if that is more convenient.

At Hotel Urban hospitality we pride ourselves in providing unique hospitality experiences and superior service. Thank you for your consideration and I look forward to hearing from you.

At your Service,

Antonio Martin
Subdirector
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

The hotel is centrally located, the staff were extremely nice, the service was excellent but the decor is so outdated... very not stylish. depressing. Breakfast was good, it is nice to have a bar in the lobby, every morning a large bottled water was delivered to our room. The staff were very helpfull in recommending restaurants and a flamengo eve.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionDerbyHotels, Subdirector at Urban Hotel Madrid, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Guest.

First of all, I would like to thank you for expressing your opinions
About the services of our hotel during your stay.

The opinion of our clients is extremely important to us, as it makes us
Improve our services continually.

I thank you once more for your collaboration. I stay at your disposal.

I would like to have the opportunity to meet you in a future visit. I will
Personally make sure it is pleasant for you.

Yours sincerely,

Antonio Martin Ortega
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
121 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

The hotel is very stylish, modern and looks to be one of the hip place of Madrid.
Rooms are not too big but very modern and clean.
At the top of the roof there is a nice bar with many people especially at night.
Definitely a place were to go.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionDerbyHotels, Subdirector at Urban Hotel Madrid, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Google Translation
Gentile Signore,

Vorrei innanzitutto ringraziarla per i complimenti e i commenti che ha riservato al nostro albergo e il servizio offerto.

Siamo lieti che il suo soggiorno sia trascorso in modo del tutto soddisfacente, essendo nostro obiettivo principale far sì che tutti i nostri clienti si sentano a casa. Per questo motivo proviamo a migliorarci giorno per giorno.

Speriamo di rivederla nuovamente nel nostro hotel Urban, dove mi piacerebbe salutarla personalmente.

Distinti saluti,

Antonio Martin
Subdirector
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Urban Hotel Madrid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Urban Hotel Madrid

Address: Carrera de San Jeronimo 34, 28014 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Madrid
#13 Business Hotel in Madrid
#14 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#16 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Urban Hotel Madrid 5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A grand luxury five-star hotel located in the very heart of Madrid, in the museum triangle formed by the Museo del Prado, the Thyssen-Bornemisza Museum and the Queen Sofia Foundation and just a few minutes away from Paseo del Prado, Puerta del Sol and El Retiro park.Located in a newly constructed building in the heart of the financial, political, commercial and cultural centre of Madrid, the Hotel Urban won't fail to catch your interest.With a marked Art-Deco style and opting for avant-garde architecture, the Hotel Urban is a boutique hotel from the 21st century, urban, design and ideal for exacting lovers of luxury who shy from conventionality. A charming, modern design hotel that has already become a point of reference. It stands out not only in the hotel panorama but also among Madrid's dining establishments and nighttime entertainment venues thanks to Europa Decó and the Glass Bar.Services102 guest rooms: 78 superior rooms, 10 junior suite duplex, 5 junior suites, 8 suites, and 1 duplex loft suiteEuropa Decó gastronomic restaurantGlass Bar oyster barLa Terraza del Urban cocktail barEl Cielo del UrbanBreakfast buffetBreakfast until 1.00 pm24-hour room service and mini-barWi-Fi in all areasBusiness centreFunction rooms and spaces for events: Nagha room, Khemer room, Nefer room, Egyptian Museum, lobby/atrium, terrace-pool and suite 132Outdoor swimming pool and solariumGymEgyptian MuseumCollection of ancient artParkingLaundry and ironing serviceDisabled accessSmall dogs allowed ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Splendia, Priceline, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Urban Hotel Madrid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madrid Urban Hotel
Hotel Urban Madrid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Urban Hotel Madrid, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.