We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, great staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Urban Hotel Madrid

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Urban Hotel Madrid to your Saves list
Urban Hotel Madrid
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carrera de San Jeronimo 34, 28014 Madrid, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #26 of 457 Hotels in Madrid
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, great staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Stayed here for about 10 days while in town for work. The front desk was extremely helpful and friendly. The rooms were very nice as well. I had a duplex with a nice loft. The gym is a bit small but it has what I needed. The only negative comment I have is that the hallways smell of incense and it is a bit too strong of a smell for my liking. Everything else was amazing. The food, the location, the service. Even the doorman at the entrance was super helpful and gave us great suggestions. The location, again, was the best. So close to everything for a first time visitor.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionDerbyHotels, Subdirector at Urban Hotel Madrid, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for posting such a good comment about the service and in general about the hotel.

The staff is always happy to read we are doing a good job and we have made you feel comfortable in your stay at hotel .

We hope to see you again.

Best regards,

Antonio Martin Ortega
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,010 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    552
    313
    99
    36
    10
See reviews for
92
536
54
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I enjoyed walking around the art galleries and sights and using this as a comfortable base. We had a split level room which gave a feeling of space and luxury with an upstairs living room. Everyone was friendly and helpful and ate room service breakfast and dinner was fantastic.
We are fans of the modern contemporary design le so it fitted our tastes very well.
Uber cool and luxerous and no problems sleepng with sensible blackout blinds and comfortable level of heat of room in which to sleep. The bathroom was a tad small but on the whole very good.It was a great base and would tell my friends about it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionDerbyHotels, subdirector at Urban Hotel Madrid, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Guest.

First of all, I would like to thank you for expressing your opinions
About the services of our hotel during your stay.

The opinion of our clients is extremely important to us, as it makes us
Improve our services continually.

I thank you once more for your collaboration. I stay at your disposal.

I would like to have the opportunity to meet you in a future visit. I will
Personally make sure it is pleasant for you.

Yours sincerely,

Antonio Martin Ortega
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

The Urban Hotel in Madrid is undoubtedly a stylish hotel, well-located in the centre of Madrid. The hotel is relatively modern, built around a 6-storey atrium. Lots of dark timber and fascinating ornaments give the hotel a chic and stylish feel. The hotel bar is also a great place to hang out, and seems to attract a cool crowd. Breakfast was good, with made-to-order hot dishes to supplement the typical European buffer of fruits and cheeses. All sounds good so far? Unfortunately, you choose a hotel for the rooms, which in this case are small, and an example of style given priority over comfort. There was limited desk space, and a rather uncomfy bench rather than a chair to sit on. The cupboard had a nifty bi-fold door, which was a clever design but while open made one side of the bed inaccessible. The dark timber fittings are also beginning to show their age, meaning the room did not have a particularly warm or welcoming feel to it. Would I stay here again? Probably for a short stay, it would be OK. But I think for more than a few nights I'd look for something else.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionDerbyHotels, Subdirector at Urban Hotel Madrid, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Guest.

First of all, I would like to thank you for expressing your opinions about the services of our hotel during your stay.

I would like to inform you that your case was an exceptional situation. Your opinion is extremely important to us, as it makes us improve our services continually. We have therefore taken the necessary measures.

The hotel is in constant renewal so we hope that you find everything pleasant in your next stay. I thank you once more for your collaboration. I stay at your disposal.

Yours sincerely,

Antonio Martin Ortega
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Stayed here in November. Here is what I think:

Positive:
- Friendly personell;
- Clean rooms;
- Super location;
- Beds firm and in good condition.


Negative:
- Small rooms;
- View non-existant (my room was facing the emergency staircase);
- Smells of incense sticks;
- Breakfast selection disappointing (no regional specialties, no warm stuff - you need to know what to ask for);
- WiFi 90 minutes free per day; free internet connection with cable; otherwise quite pricey.

My recommendations:
- If you bring your computer, ask for a cable at the reception;
- Have breakfast outside of the hotel in any of the nice little coffee shops/bars;
- Taxi from the Airport is around 25 EUR.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionDerbyHotels, Subdirector at Urban Hotel Madrid, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Guest.

First of all, I would like to thank you for expressing your opinions
About the services of our hotel during your stay.

The opinion of our clients is extremely important to us, as it makes us
Improve our services continually.

I thank you once more for your collaboration. I stay at your disposal.

I would like to have the opportunity to meet you in a future visit. I will
Personally make sure it is pleasant for you.

Yours sincerely,

Antonio Martin Ortega
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Very nice hotel, perfect located for a sightseeing trip to Madrid and probably also for a business stay. The rooms are small, typical for a Derby Hotel (at least what I saw!), but very clean, modern and stylish. The breakfast is spanish light. The bar is small, but a good place after a soccer game (Real Madrid e.g.) or a shopping tour. Just ask for an extra blanket in autumn and winter!!!
We didn`t try the restaurant. But we got a good recommendation for a lunch nearby, El Rincon de Esteban, Santa Catalina, 3 enjoy (even better in the evening)! We would come back to the Urban, also with our kids!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionDerbyHotels, Subdirector at Urban Hotel Madrid, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Guest.

First of all, I would like to thank you for expressing your opinions
About the services of our hotel during your stay.

The opinion of our clients is extremely important to us, as it makes us
Improve our services continually.

I thank you once more for your collaboration. I stay at your disposal.

I would like to have the opportunity to meet you in a future visit. I will
Personally make sure it is pleasant for you.

Yours sincerely,

Antonio Martin Ortega
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

THis hotel has a "5 star Grand Luxe" rating so you would expect to pay top $$. However we pre booked it for 5 nights on their internet site and the average for each night was around $250 per room. Imagine what you would pay in London or Paris or Sydney etc. At least double that amount. It is a very modern purpose built hotel. All glass and steel with ancient artifacts for decoration. The service all round was very good. Before venturing out each night for dinner we would have a drink in the glass bar. The staff there could not be friendlier and more helpful if they tried. Great atmosphere. We paid extra for the breakfast but got it discounted because we prepaid on arrival for breakfast each day of the stay. And it was an excellent buffet breakfast. They also did cooked breakfasts to order so no dreaded bain maire. The rooms are great for sleeping. Comfortable and quiet. Good value indeed. Maybe showing wear and tear a little but which hotel isn't. Only criticism is paying for wifi as a guest. You get some time free each day but really......... in the 21st century?

Room Tip: Their standard rooms are very adequate. Good size with all the amentities you need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionDerbyHotels, Subdirector at Urban Hotel Madrid, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Dear Guest.

First of all, I would like to thank you for expressing your opinions
About the services of our hotel during your stay.

The opinion of our clients is extremely important to us, as it makes us
Improve our services continually.

I thank you once more for your collaboration. I stay at your disposal.

I would like to have the opportunity to meet you in a future visit. I will
Personally make sure it is pleasant for you.

Yours sincerely,

Antonio Martin Ortega
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Urban Hotel Madrid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Urban Hotel Madrid

Address: Carrera de San Jeronimo 34, 28014 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Madrid
#15 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#18 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#18 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Urban Hotel Madrid 5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A grand luxury five-star hotel located in the very heart of Madrid, in the museum triangle formed by the Museo del Prado, the Thyssen-Bornemisza Museum and the Queen Sofia Foundation and just a few minutes away from Paseo del Prado, Puerta del Sol and El Retiro park.Located in a newly constructed building in the heart of the financial, political, commercial and cultural centre of Madrid, the Hotel Urban won't fail to catch your interest.With a marked Art-Deco style and opting for avant-garde architecture, the Hotel Urban is a boutique hotel from the 21st century, urban, design and ideal for exacting lovers of luxury who shy from conventionality. A charming, modern design hotel that has already become a point of reference. It stands out not only in the hotel panorama but also among Madrid's dining establishments and nighttime entertainment venues thanks to Europa Decó and the Glass Bar.Services102 guest rooms: 78 superior rooms, 10 junior suite duplex, 5 junior suites, 8 suites, and 1 duplex loft suiteEuropa Decó gastronomic restaurantGlass Bar oyster barLa Terraza del Urban cocktail barEl Cielo del UrbanBreakfast buffetBreakfast until 1.00 pm24-hour room service and mini-barWi-Fi in all areasBusiness centreFunction rooms and spaces for events: Nagha room, Khemer room, Nefer room, Egyptian Museum, lobby/atrium, terrace-pool and suite 132Outdoor swimming pool and solariumGymEgyptian MuseumCollection of ancient artParkingLaundry and ironing serviceDisabled accessSmall dogs allowed ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Venere, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Urban Hotel Madrid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madrid Urban Hotel
Hotel Urban Madrid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Urban Hotel Madrid, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.