We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal Aguilar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hostal Aguilar to your Saves list
Hostal Aguilar
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   c/ Carrera de San Jeronimo, n0 32 , 20, 28014 Madrid, Spain (Centro)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #247 of 458 Hotels in Madrid
Madrid
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“good value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

We stayed at Hostal Aguilar over three periods in June and July 2012. The first room given to us was rather gloomy and painted a sad shade of orange, moreover the AC wasn't effective in the heat of June. On the two other occasions, we had a much nicer pleasanter room with a spacious bath and a good AC . Unlike in other places, the third bed was in a different room of the suite, which made it much more spacious.
The staff were friendly and helpful, the location is within half a kilometre of Plaza Sol and the Prado, with a lot of choices of good eating places around. The cost was much lower than what we paid for equivalent accomodation in Rome, Barcelona or Florence. The building and the reception area were not in the best of shape, but the room and the location more than made up for that. Wi Fi was free and fast, which was a great help.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    37
    20
    1
    1
See reviews for
14
23
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Large rooms but old style. Excellent location. Very good for a very short stay with friends. Not for an idyllic trip with girlfriend.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

We booked this hotel with a lot of anticipation however, we were not disappointed. May be it was because we went with very low expectations. The good part of this hotel:
1.It’s located in the middle of all tourist attractions – Sol, Museum, Plaza Mayor, Palace – all are in walking distance.
2.The reception is always staffed ( 24 hours) . They all speak English and are very helpful.
3.Rooms are of decent size, we had three beds in the room and lots of space for our luggage and to move around.
4.We arrived at 8 AM, our room was ready and we could check in immediately.
5.The room was clean, serviced everyday, bathrooms had basic toiletries if one needed them.
6.There is a vending machine in the lobby where you can get your drinks at normal prices ( which is a rarity in the tourist areas of Madrid)
7.Hassle free air-conditioning which is a rare find even in 3* hotels in Spain.
8.Free internet broadband with very strong signal and it allowed us to log on more than one device at the same time from the room
9.The place is safe and security monitored.

Not so nice parts:

1.Our bathroom had an issue with ants, they were swarming all over.
2.The TV was miniscule and I don’t remember seeing any English Channels, but the internet worked great, I logged on to youtube, etc for everything.

Verdict- This is not a five star or even a four star and they don’t claim it to be. What they provide is a safe, clean, convenient place to board. We were happy with Aguilar. It didn’t burn a hole in our pockets and met all our needs and more. When I return to Madrid I will definitely stay here.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

Hostal Aguilar is situated in the very center of Madrid between "Sol" and the "Prado" and a few meter from ministry buildings and cafés.
It is cheap and basic, but has all the necessary comforts. Clean rooms, sheets, towels.
There is no breakfast, but there are many cafés in easy walking distance who offer breakfast from 2,5€ (Café, Croissant, Orange Juice) or the "very Spanish" Chocolate con Curros which you should try at least once during your stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostal Aguilar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Aguilar

Address: c/ Carrera de San Jeronimo, n0 32 , 20, 28014 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro , Cortes / Plaza Santa Ana
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #247 of 458 Hotels in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Aguilar 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Hostal Aguilar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Aguilar Madrid
Hostal Aguilar Hotel Madrid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostal Aguilar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.