We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We would not look for anywhere else to stay in Madrid.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal Las Fuentes

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hostal Las Fuentes to your Saves list
Hostal Las Fuentes
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Las Fuentes 10, 1-D | Plaza de la Opera, 28013 Madrid, Spain (Centro)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #89 of 453 Hotels in Madrid
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
199 reviews 199 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“We would not look for anywhere else to stay in Madrid.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

This is a late review as we stayed here for 2 nights in August 2011. Las Fuentes was an excellent choice, clean, comfortable, central and reasonably priced. The only thing missing was WiFi (we knew this prior to booking). A bonus is being close to the Mercado de San Miguel food hall which quickly became a favorite. My wife and I were in a 3 bed room which was quiet - the bathroom was nice and newish. Is the lift (elevator) in this building the smallest in Madrid? We preferred the stairs. Las Fuentes met our expectations and we would not look for anywhere else to stay in the city.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    152
    37
    7
    6
See reviews for
25
120
54
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

The hostel is located right in the heart of the city. The entrance is a bit strange and confusing like it is a private flats building. You have to go up to the 1st floor and ring the bell on the door to get to the reception. The room we got was a bit small (just enough to walk around the double bed), but the price was reasonable and most importantly it was clean. The bathroom was like new. There is a computer with internet access that you can use near the reception.

The staff were friendly, although the lady who checked us in didn't know a single word of English (not even to say "signature").

Overall it was great, and I would go back there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort McMurray, Alberta, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

I husband and I stayed at the hostal for 4 nights in October 2012. It's a very clean hostal, clean towels every day. Air conditioner worked great! we had the room at the back not in front of the street, as i am a light sleeper i traveled with my earplugs, but the noise was not that bad. I do have to say that the room doors are very noisy when opening or closing.
If you are looking for a great location, clean hostal at a great price this is it!!! Rooms are small, but all the rooms in Europe are so you know!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Hostal Las Fuentes in Oct 2012 for four nights. I will echo everything good said by the reviewer Mario B - we even stayed in the same double room, #8.

However, we had a problem with the VIsa charge made in error by the Hostal which takes the first night's charges at the time of booking. The type of booking we made was fully refundable, given sufficient notice. Due to an error by the hotel's staff member who took the booking, they mistakenly charged the whole stay to my Visa card at the time of booking. Within ten minutes, they realized the mistake and reversed the charges. Unfortunately the exchange rate was different upon reimbursing the amount than it was when the charge was put the card so we lost $7.00 on that exchange due to the hotel's mistake. The English speaking staff person refused to acknowledge that it was due to the Hostal's error that we were out that money but instead blamed it on Visa's differential rates when taking the charge and giving us the refund. Since it was the Hostal's error, we would have hoped that they might have credited our account with the difference but this was not the case. Although not a huge amount, it was still a bit of a downer given the Hostal's attitude towards it.

Having said that, we really enjoyed the stay in this spotless, very quiet hotel. The hotel is surrounded by so many restaurants of various kinds (even McDonald's if you must) that it is relatively easy to grab something to eat.

Our room was big enough for the two of us - and much bigger than the hostal we had in Barcelona. Spotless, newly refurbished, with free WiFi and AC if needed as well as heat. TV only seemed to have Spanish channels. The bonus was a small mini-fridge stocked with cold drinks - but also useable for storing other foods/drinks you might buy. There was also a couple of vending machines in the hall which sold drinks and snacks which can be handy if you are too tired to go out to buy something. The small but adequate bathroom had a shower and hair dryer.

The location was fantastic - as said previously, 1/2 block to the pedestrian street "Arenal" and then steps to the Opera Metro Station. The Hostal was a 10 Euro taxi ride from the Atocha Train station which allowed us and our luggage to get to the Hostal relatively painlessly and then get our bearings. The airport bus (5 Euros per person) is also available from the train station.

A couple of blocks the other direction from the Hostal is Plaza Mayor with the added attraction of the Mercato de San Miquel, a fantastic (but not cheap) great indoor market with everything from wine bars to cheese, ham, fish, fruits, ice cream and tapas of every type which stays open late. A great value there are the crepes at 3 Euros - with either Ham and Cheese fillings or sweet fillings (banana, chocolate, etc.), made fresh on the spot. The same place offers Churros and chocolate for 3 Euros.

Right next door from the market (away from Plaza Mayor) is a great grocery store where you can stock up on everything from cheese, meats, fruit, bread, yogurt, wine, etc.and store it in your mini-fridge in your room for breakfasts.

Bottom line: Very clean, very quiet, newly refurbished hostal in a great location. Card locks on the street door as well as the Hostal door although you to come and go easily. A very small (but new) elevator allows you to take your luggage to the first floor Hostal.

Room Tip: We had an "inside" room which had a window opening into a open area in the back of the bui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

I stayed at Hostal las Fuentes, for 3 nights recently.
Yes the room was small, but it was adequate, just right for me, staff were helpful, even the lady who couldn't speak much English.I felt guilty because my Spanish was inadequate.The room was spotless, in fact the hotel was spotless.
Situated in the heart of the city so everywhere was easily accessible from this hotel.
Free wi fi too.
I felt very safe in this hotel, there is someone on reception 24 hours a day.
Definitely would stay there again when I next visit Madrid!

Room Tip: I had a room at the back and was not disturbed by any street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
w
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

nicely rennovated hostal in very good central location with, unfortunately, very small rooms
nicely rennovated hostal in very good central location with, unfortunately, very small rooms
nicely rennovated hostal in very good central location with, unfortunately, very small rooms

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

This hostal was right in the middle of a lively area. It was on a side street (single lane, one way) off a pedestrian zone so did not receive much traffic. We where minutes away from literally everything. Subway, train, shopping and eating. The entire area had many different pedestrian zones. Plaza Mayor was minutes away. The ease to get to the hostal involved two transfers by subway, but that was no big deal as everything is very well marked. Once you are off the Opera station, you are under two minutes walk, so very convenient.

A bonus was the Sol station was a 5min walk down a pedestrian zone. This station had the bonus of another line as well as local train station which brought us to El Escorial & Aranjuez, both World Heritage sites. The Prado and Thyssen museums are a very close walk as well. We tied Reina Sofia in with a trip to Alcala De Heneres which leaves from Atocha station. Reina is beside the Atocha. It was a short walk balk to the Hostal from there.

Now you would assume with all the attractions being so close by, it would be noisy. Incredibly quiet. We had an interior room (#8) which was a good size. We did notice there where rooms of various sizes, and that there where a lot of interior rooms.

It was also very clean, and the rooms where in great shape, as well as the furniture.

Room Tip: ask for an interior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostal Las Fuentes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Las Fuentes

Address: C/ Las Fuentes 10, 1-D | Plaza de la Opera, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro , Sol
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
#72 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#91 Family Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Las Fuentes 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hostal Las Fuentes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Las Fuentes Madrid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostal Las Fuentes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.