We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good choice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal Barrera

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hostal Barrera to your Saves list
Hostal Barrera
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle de Atocha 96, 2nd Floor, 28012 Madrid, Spain (Huertas)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Click for details
Ranked #32 of 453 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“very good choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

All the good things you;ve read about this hostal are true. The staff were extremely helpful, the rooms are basic but freah and clean and well insulated form the outside noise. Insulation from noise of the next rooms is not so great but it wasn't really an issue. Importantly it's only a short walk from the main station ( Atocha) and the blocks around it are full of great bars, restaurants etc.
Great value for the money.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nieves M, Gerente at Hostal Barrera, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Dear OwenHOz,

Thank you so much for your review.
We are very happy that your stay was a positive experience and that you were comfortable with us.
We appreciatte your feedback and take notice of it . It will help us !!!

Nice to know you found our location good and liked the neighbourhood , it is so alive and full of restaurants as you say!!
Warm regards and hope to host you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    67
    10
    3
    1
See reviews for
22
95
23
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We stayed for a few nights in mid-June. The location is perfect (walking distance to the train station and several major attractions) and the room was clean and comfortable. We would definitely stay again and recommend to friends.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nieves M, Gerente at Hostal Barrera, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Dear Lisa L,

Thank you so much for your review.
We appreciatte your comments about our location and value, and happy to know you found your room confortable and clean. We work every day to improve our work and it is a pleasure to hear your compliments.

We will be very happy to accomodate you and your friends also again any time you return to Madrid.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Three of us stayed for 3 nights. You couldn't ask for a better location or more hospitable staff. A 10 minute walk to the museums and perhaps 20-25 minutes to Playa Major and Playa del Sol. Best of all, Josefa and Nieves went out of their way to make our stay comfortable. Ask them for restaurant recommendations and don't forget to pick up Saffron from across the road (ask Nieves)!! There are plenty of breakfast options; a couple 2 minutes downhill or then 5 minutes off Calle Fucar. Street noise wasn't an issue for us and in many ways the room size and amenities were perfect for out needs. Without a doubt I'd stay here again the next time I visit Madrid.

Room Tip: Go with the double-room; the single room may feel especially small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nieves M, Gerente at Hostal Barrera, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Dear aniruhil,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. And thank you for your words and comments about our location and room. We are really happy to know our recommendations were helpful and you felt welcome all your days at our hostal.

Really appreciate your compliments and we will be very happy to host you again any time you visit Madrid in the future.

Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We stayed in Hostal Barrera in late May, 2014. Located on C. Atocha not far from the Atocha Renfe and metro stations and a 10 minute walk to the Prado, this hostal is well situated. Sites near the city center (the Palacio Real, etc.) are within 30 minutes by foot. There are plenty of eating options within a five-minute walk, including the excellent Los Gatos. At first glance, the neighborhood is European-uban (I'm not sure what that means either), but a few blocks away is the gorgeous Paseo del Prado neighborhood.

The room we stayed in was basic, but met our traveling needs - good location, relatively quiet, OK bed, decent bathroom and ample closet and drawer space. It's nothing special, but we were more interested in getting out and seeing wonderful Madrid than hanging out in the hotel.

The staff was great and humored me by dealing with us in my broken Spanish. The person who checked us in gave us a map and marked it up with some must-see tourist spots (the Retiro, the Palace, the Prado, etc.).

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nieves M, Gerente at Hostal Barrera, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Dear ctj71081

We appreciate a lot your time to review Hostal Barrera.
Thanks so much for point out our privileged Location and the friendliness of our staff ,we will transfer your positive comments to all of them.
We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay in Madrid.

Hope to see you again some day.
Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights and for a 2 star hotel this place was great. The hotel was located within 5 minutes walk of Atocha station and walking distance to most attractions. It was simple but clean and the staff at the desk were extremely friendly and helpful. Only negative was the street noise but provided you kept your window shut it wasn't too much of an issue. Would definitely stay here again!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nieves M, Gerente at Hostal Barrera, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear Diana N,
Thank you very much for write good comments about the location,our clean rooms, and our staff.

Our location really good to visit the city walking, the best option to know Madrid.

We do hope to see you again.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

We are 6ppl stayed in Barrera 4nights. Total 3 rooms.
1 rooms are little bit small, 2 rooms are ok; All rooms are petty & clean with new decoration.
The location is good, 10mins from Atocha by walk.
Bathroom is ok, but shower water is not hot, just warm and some time is cold.
TV is ok, Air con is ok; No hair dryer in room, but you can borrow from Barrera.
All staffs are very nice and good in english. And reply your email is fast & efficiency.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nieves M, Gerente at Hostal Barrera, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear lmklmkit,
We appreciate your time to review Hostal Barrera.
Thanks a lot for your comments about our pretty ,clean and nice rooms and the friendliness of our staff, we will transfer their positive comments to all our Team .

We hope you stay with us next time you return to Madrid.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

We stayed in Barrera 7-11 May 2014. The location was excellent. The room was not surprisingly small, we expected that, and it was modern and very clean including the bathroom (shower and toilet). 2 negatives:
1. The air conditioning didn't really blow any cold air even though it was quite warm outside, the book in the room said the temp is maintained at a 'comfortable' 25 degrees. Not comfortable for us, so we had to open the sound proof window and thus were exposed to the weekend nightlife noises which went until 6 am. Thus a poor rating for sleep quality.
2. The same book in the room warned against smoking in the room which was good. But one of the night clerks was smoking at the desk and you could smell it upon entry to the accommodation area before entering the room.
Value - we booked this first for our 30 day holiday, initially thought $70 EUR was good value, however later we found much better hotels not that far away for less.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nieves M, Gerente at Hostal Barrera, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear Warren,

First of all , thank you for post a note about our hostal.
Besides my apologies for the trouble about airconditioning. Actually, the next guests told us about this issue, and there was somenthing going wrong with the machine in your room. We fixed it inmediatly and working .

It was a shame you didn´t tell us about it , we could have arranged it while you were and you wouldn´t have to have the window opened.

On the other hand, the dates you stayed with us it was high season but ,we always recomend to book through our website as we always have offers and we think really good rates.

Thank you for your feedback as it always helps to improve our services and rethink some of our ways of work. We are open to all suggestions and opinions.

We hope we can accomodate you in the future.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostal Barrera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Barrera

Address: Calle de Atocha 96, 2nd Floor, 28012 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#54 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#138 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Barrera 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostal Barrera is cozy hostal, offering newly refurbished rooms en-suite, FREE WI-FI,LCD tv, central heating and air conditoning .... And unbeatable rates.Ideal location in the city center of Madrid, just a walking distance of the main museums and attractions in town, and also to the main train station, Atocha Rail Way Station, to get to cities such as Seville,Barcelona, Toledo, Cordoba, Valencia ... We speak english, french, italian. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hostal Barrera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Barrera Madrid
Hostal Barrera Hotel Madrid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostal Barrera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.