We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back again!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal Barrera

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hostal Barrera to your Saves list
Hostal Barrera
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle de Atocha 96, 2nd Floor, 28012 Madrid, Spain (Huertas)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Click for details
Ranked #32 of 453 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence 2014
england
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Back again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We decided to take a break in Madrid to celebrate my birthday and even before we booked the flights we checked on availability here because we rate this hostal so highly!

As always the team led by Nieves provided a faultless welcome -- now in Spanish, English and Italian -- with great attention to detail and comfort. We adore the location of this hostal and its proximity to the Retiro for strolling, Atocha for local trains to intersting small towns nearby, Lavapies just down the hill for a cosmopolitan mix of people, food and culture and of course to the galleries and museums.

Again we say -- hasta muy pronto!!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter but all rooms have double glazing to subdue the inevitable noise from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nieves M, Gerente at Hostal Barrera, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Elizabeth and David,
What to say !!!! We are the lucky ones having you back with us. For us, all the team, it is a pleasure to you see how you enjoy the city everytime you are in Madrid.You explore all corners, neibourhoods all bars, and we are grateful we are part of this.

Thank you for your words about the team, They do a very good work, and they try to offer the best. I´m lucky , so lucky with their work and know that you appreciate it is a reward.

And you are right, our location offers an easy way to get to the main places in the city, museums,train station, restaurants......

Elizabeth and David, as always, hasta siempre, y por supuesto hasta la próxima.
Always very wellcome at Hostal Barrera

Best regards

Nieves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    67
    10
    3
    1
See reviews for
22
95
23
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

This was my first experience abroad outside of a major hotel chain. The staff was great, most notably Josephina who arranged flamenco tickets for my sister and I. The room was spotless and well worth the cost.

The entry was on the 2nd floor so you needed to be "buzzed in" to the building. They ask you to cite your last name and/or room number, but after day 1 the staff knows you and lets you in based on appearance alone.

I would recommend this place to anyone looking for a small and cozy bed in the middle of the action. I would advise solo travelers not to hesitate as I felt safer here than in most large hotels.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nieves M, Gerente at Hostal Barrera, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Courileigh,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Hostal Barrera with other people in tripadvisor.com. We appreciatte the time you spent writting about Hostal Barrera, and we are very pleased you had a confortable stay and enjoy your time in Madrid.

You are right, to come in you have to buzz and we think is very safe as there is always someone in the desk. It is good to know this made you feel safe as a solo traveler.

Josephine is very grateful to you and happy you had a good time in the flamenco.

Best for you and your sister in Madrid and hope to see you back at Hostal Barrera !!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
POOLESVILLE
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Hostal Barrera is a very nice hotel, with small but spotless rooms near Atocha train station. Calle de Atocha isn't the greatest street to be on. But the hotel is close to the train station and only a bit farther to Plaza Santa Ana and surrounding area for food. The real reason for staying there is the super friendly and helpful staff. All of four of the folks we interfaced with were very helpful and spoke excellent English. It is on the second floor of a building and there is a lift, but access to the lift is half way to the hotel entrance, so it's not so necessary to use it. The desk is staffed 24x7 and front door of the hotel itself is locked - as is the front door to the building. In both cases, ringing the buzzer will get you access. The place is a keeper.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nieves M, Gerente at Hostal Barrera, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Rowerr,
Thank you for sharing your experience at Hostal Barrera with other travelers , and for the time it took you to write it.
All the staff at Hotal Barrera really appreciate your words and encourage us. Actually, our aim is to make your visit as good as possible, provinding tips,advices.... about Madrid. Holidays are to enjoy !!!!
Our location is great to visit the Prado, Reina Sofia and Thysses Musums just walking , and , as you said, also the restaurants.
Besides,we will provide a nice rooms with all facilities and all of them with double glazed windows and blindes, and the ones facing Atocha street have special windows to helping avoid noise from the street.
Best wishes Rowerr and hope we accomodate you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

I booked this hotel for 4 nights in Madrid based on Trip Advisor and was not disappointed.

The hotel’s chief asset is the location. It’s a 10 minute walk to the Prado, Reina Sofia, Thyssen museums and the Atocha train station - where you can get a train to Toledo for a day trip (and you should!) and the cheap bus to the airport. It’s about a 15 minute walk to Plaza Mayor and 20 mins to the Royal Palace. It’s very convenient to return to your room in the afternoon for a rest and change of clothes before heading out for a night of Tapas, dinner or whatever – all of which can also be found within walking distance. We were tired after a (late) dinner (with drinks and wine) on Sat night, so we grabbed a cab back to the room. Less than 10 euro.

The other thing I loved about this hotel was how friendly and helpful the staff were. Even though you are staying in a major tourist center, you feel very welcome. On our first day, they noticed I had a cold and brought me a cup of tea! They were also happy to hold our bags after checkout on Sunday morning, so we could spend our last few hours in the city without worrying. You can check in at any time.

The rooms are compact, but clean and very efficiently laid out. The water pressure in the shower was good.

The only drawback is the noise. The walls are thin and you can hear if someone in another room is playing music (which they might do at 10pm while getting ready to go out!) or coughing. It’s the middle of the city, so even if you stay in the back, you need to keep the windows closed to keep out the street noise. Garbage pickup is at 4 am. However, the windows do make it quiet and the rooms have heat/air conditioning controls.

There is no breakfast at the hotel, but a café /bakery a few doors down.

Room Tip: I stayed "in the back" but still had trouble with street noise while windows were open. E...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nieves M, Gerente at Hostal Barrera, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear Rschwartz375,

First of all we hope you recovered from your cold and you feel better now. And thank you for taking the time to writte about Hostal Barrera.

Yes , you are right when you talk about our location as it is ideal for visiting the city on foot since the most important museums and tourist attractions are very close. And also restaurants, cafes, tapas bars, and so on.....
Besides, we do our best to keep our rooms as comfortable and updated as we can in order to provide our guests the best of our services.

Noise is an issue in Madrid, though we have double glazzed windows and blinds, it is right, garbage pick up is at night, around 3 or 4 a.m , and it is all around Madrid. I will take notice of this and inform the Hostels Association. Let´s see if they can suggest the city council a different schedule.

We are very greatfull you felt welcome , and all the Hostal Barrera staff will be very happy to hear about it .

Thank you very much for having stayed with us and we hope to accommodate you again.
Sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We booked a room at Hostal Barrera because of the good reviews and we are so glad we did! Perfect location, safe, very kind, thoughtful staff and a small, but superclean and modern (renovated) room. All for a great price. (see discount on their website)
Tip: we saw the best flamenco show ever in Casa Patas, close to the hostal!

Room Tip: Rooms on the backside have no view (around small court), but they are very quiet and pitch dark if y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nieves M, Gerente at Hostal Barrera, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear guest,

We are grateful for the time you took to review Hostal Barrera. Thanks for the comments about our staff and rooms, we are always trying to improve our hostal and offer the best of our place.
Certainly we are located in the heart of Madrid,easy to get walking to the main places in town , museums, Retiro Park, Plaza Mayor, .....


Looking forward to welcome you again
Best regards,

Nieves M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Have stayed in this accomodation twice and all the staff are really friendly and the rooms are a very good price for the level of service and with its location. Nothing spectacular but a great place if you're wanting a clean, friendly and well located hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

I would like to thanks all employees in Hostal Barrera here on behalf of all of my friends and myself. Their warmly welcome and willing to help for everything made us feel in home. The excellent English (It is not popular during our whole travelling in Spain) helped a lot to the travelers whom could not speak any Spanish like us.
The room is tiny, but all things were placed well-organized in the room that made you feel not so small of the room. The room is very clean. Heating worked very well. Actually too well to be a little bit hot. 
The location is also very good. Walking distance to the central train station. And there are several good restaurants along the street from Hostal Barrera to central train station.
We would like to come back Hostal Barrera next time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostal Barrera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Barrera

Address: Calle de Atocha 96, 2nd Floor, 28012 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#54 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#138 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Barrera 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostal Barrera is cozy hostal, offering newly refurbished rooms en-suite, FREE WI-FI,LCD tv, central heating and air conditoning .... And unbeatable rates.Ideal location in the city center of Madrid, just a walking distance of the main museums and attractions in town, and also to the main train station, Atocha Rail Way Station, to get to cities such as Seville,Barcelona, Toledo, Cordoba, Valencia ... We speak english, french, italian. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hostal Barrera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Barrera Madrid
Hostal Barrera Hotel Madrid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostal Barrera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.