We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Madrid city centre accomodation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal Barrera

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Madrid
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hostal Barrera
Save
You added Hostal Barrera to your Saves list
Calle Atocha 96, 2 planta, 28012 Madrid, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Click for details
Ranked #29 of 457 Hotels in Madrid
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Madrid city centre accomodation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Have stayed in this accomodation twice and all the staff are really friendly and the rooms are a very good price for the level of service and with its location. Nothing spectacular but a great place if you're wanting a clean, friendly and well located hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    66
    10
    3
    1
See reviews for
21
94
22
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beijing
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

I would like to thanks all employees in Hostal Barrera here on behalf of all of my friends and myself. Their warmly welcome and willing to help for everything made us feel in home. The excellent English (It is not popular during our whole travelling in Spain) helped a lot to the travelers whom could not speak any Spanish like us.
The room is tiny, but all things were placed well-organized in the room that made you feel not so small of the room. The room is very clean. Heating worked very well. Actually too well to be a little bit hot. 
The location is also very good. Walking distance to the central train station. And there are several good restaurants along the street from Hostal Barrera to central train station.
We would like to come back Hostal Barrera next time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

A friend and I stayed at Hostal Barrera for a last minute city break and arrived in Madrid rather clueless. Fortunately for us the staff at the hostel were very knowledgeable and helpful. The hostel is located close to the town centre and has good transport links at Atocha. The hostel included everything that I would expect (towels, toiletries, etc.)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
210 helpful votes 210 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

I stayed here 7 nights and at €50 a night it was tremendous value for money.

The location was ideal for my tourist trip - close to Atocha station (for the airport bus and long distance trains), there is a Metro station nearby, Plaza Major is a 10 minute walk away, it is close to the three major art museums. (The Prado and Reina Sofia have free entry for 2 hours at the end of each day and I used this to go through the Prado collection over 4 days. That was a good way to see it – the collection is huge and looking at a bit each day kept it fresh.)

The room was newly renovated but with a small shower cubicle (not unexpected in European hotels). There is a free internet PC in the lobby. Breakfast is not available but there are plenty of inexpensive cafes/bars nearby.

The staff were exceptionally nice and helpful – one lady recommended places where I could try the local specialty cocido Madrileno (Madrid stew)

The only negative was noise from other guests one night – this was only an issue for one night out of the seven though.

There are also a couple of supermarkets along the road.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ohio, United States
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

My wife and I booked Hostal Barrera for the last couple of nights in Madrid on a 2-week Spain trip because we liked the proximity to the Atocha train station as well as the museum district and lots of great dining. Everything was great and super clean. The hostal is located on the second floor and has a secure entrance. Our room had the most strong and reliable WiFi of anyplace we stayed on our trip, which was important to us for reviewing our flights information and checking email just before flying home. We also had a couple of extremely friendly and capable young ladies, Nieves and Michaela, helping us at the front desk and giving all sorts of good advice. As advertised, hair dryers were not in the rooms but easily borrowed as needed from the front desk. The biggest downsides were: No in-room refrigerator, and also our room overlooked Calle Atocha so we got some amount of traffic noise throughout the night which might bother light sleepers. Also worth knowing is that you are penalized for doing any laundry in the room, however the hotel's charges for their own laundry service seemed very reasonable. As it happened, we had ample clean clothes on hand to get us through our stay there and back to the U.S.

We would recommend this as a great hotel choice for visiting Madrid.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the rear (if in fact they have any) to minimize the traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Very polite, attentive and friendly staff, super clean rooms, with enough space, good comfortable beds, several and international tv channels, like BBC, CNN and Vaughan system tv. Only air co not very powerful, but we have stayed in Oct, a week ago..
They provide towels, rather good shampoo & gel, something I did not expect.. and tooth brush and paste.. Modern and very tasteful decoration, loved so much the abstract drawings of "Don Quijote de la Mancha" on the first floor walls..

Room Tip: Rooms on the back are quieter if the window is open
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nerja, Spain
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We first stayed at the Barrera in 2007 (which I then reviewed) and return there every time we visit Madrid - including this past week. I like everything about it: its location (walking distance to Sol and Atocha), the rooms (they´ve been renovated since our first trip), but most of all the lovely staff. They are the kindest hoteliers I´ve met, and I will never hesitate to recommend the Barrera. It´s great value for the money, and the staff treat you like family.

How lovely is that?

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostal Barrera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Barrera

Address: Calle Atocha 96, 2 planta, 28012 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#26 Best Value Hotel in Madrid
#44 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#121 Family Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostal Barrera is cozy hostal, offering newly refurbished rooms en-suite, FREE WI-FI,LCD tv, central heating and air conditoning .... and unbeatable rates.Ideal location in the city center of Madrid, just a walking distance of the main museums and attractions in town, and also to the main train station, Atocha Rail Way Station, to get to cities such as Seville,Barcelona, Toledo, Córdoba, Valencia ... We speak english, french, italian. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hostal Barrera Madrid
Hostal Barrera Hotel Madrid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostal Barrera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.