We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Again and again and again ...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal Barrera

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Madrid
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hostal Barrera
Save
You added Hostal Barrera to your Saves list
Calle Atocha 96, 2 planta, 28012 Madrid, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #29 of 459 Hotels in Madrid
Nerja, Spain
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“Again and again and again ...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We first stayed at the Barrera in 2007 (which I then reviewed) and return there every time we visit Madrid - including this past week. I like everything about it: its location (walking distance to Sol and Atocha), the rooms (they´ve been renovated since our first trip), but most of all the lovely staff. They are the kindest hoteliers I´ve met, and I will never hesitate to recommend the Barrera. It´s great value for the money, and the staff treat you like family.

How lovely is that?

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    66
    10
    3
    1
See reviews for
21
94
22
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Every single staff in this hostel was amazingly friendly - even the older gentlemen who had the night reception shift and spoke no word of English :)
The whole place was neat. Room was cozy and had all you need - cute bathroom, free wi-fi, storage, TV, air conditioning. Towels are provided, hair drier can be borrowed at the reception. Available laundry service.

Great position - a few steps to the night life, to the train station, to park Retiro, museums.

I will for sure be coming back!

Room Tip: I had single room 204 at the back side and it was perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rothesay, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

We found this hostal to be an excellent place to stay. The location was great. Near the Anton Martin metro stop. The staff was very efficient and helpful. We were very near to a lot of sites we visited. Prado, botanical gardens etc.

The shower was a little small but good water pressure and hot water. The room was excellent and comfortable. I would recommend this place to anyone.
Check in was very easy.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Loved staying at Hostal Barrera! The rooms are fabulous-- clean and bright with simple and colorful Ikea decor. Lovely, clean, and spacious bathrooms. Fast and reliable wi-fi in all rooms. Located on Calle Atocha with easy access to all Madrid hot spots as well as the train station and Metro stations. Tons of neat restaurants nearby and a quick walk to Parque Del Buen Retiro, which is a great place to hang out and enjoy the green space. The staff at Hostal Barrera were so hospitable and friendly! They were very helpful as well to answer questions about trains, where to go, what to do. Even offered to make me tea when I got really sick with food poisoning during my stay. I was in Madrid for a week and stayed at Hostal Barrera for 2 nights with a friend, and once my friend left I re-located to a different hostal that had a cheaper rate for an individual room. The other place was so terrible that I came back to Hostal Barrera first thing the next morning and re-booked with them for that night. I will glady pay an extra few euros for the comfort and hospitality offered at Hostal Barrera!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

This 2-star hostel felt like a 3-star hotel. The staff was friendly and helpful. The rooms were comfortable and very clean. We were 2 mins from Atocha train station and close to pretty much everything. Probably one of the best 'hostels' I've stayed at. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Stayed here two nights in July 2011. The room was very clean, the lady at the desk was helpful and was even able to check us in early. We were able to walk almost everywhere. The Atocha Train Station, the Prado, the Reina Sofia. Great place to stay at a great price! Highly reccommend.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

I am a freelance international travelwriter traveling at my own expense who has traveled in over 60 countries on 6 continents. My 2 buddies & I recently stayed in the fantastic Hotel Barrera in Central Madrid, Spain for 3 nights. This was the finest Hostal (it's NOT a hostel) I have ever stayed in! The location is outstanding on Calle Atocha midway between the main train station and the Puerta del Sol situated in Barrio de las Letras. EVERYTHING was within walking distance to include the popular Plaza Santa Ana, Plaza Major, Pueta del Sol, the Prado, Reina Sofia, Barrio La Latina etc. You couldn't find a better central location in Madrid! The Hostal is spotless and was recently renovated and extremely economical for lodging in central Madrid. The owner is a very nice lady Nieves Mollo and I enjoyed meeting her. One of the nicest things (actually THE nicest thing about our stay) was the OUTSTANDING attention and service provided to us by their best employee Josefa Fernandez. She is a very intelligent woman with a bundle of invaluable information about anything to do with Madrid (tapas bars, bars, cafes, restaurants, teatros, tours etc)! She went above and beyond the call of duty. I'm sure Nieves is extremely happy to have a person such as Josefa in her employ. Although the room was a little small for 3 men, it worked out fine. It normally has 2 single beds but they provided us with a rollout for the 3 person. Our room was in the rear of the building, very quiet, with ensuite bathroom. I suggested to Nieves having a small kitchen for the guest's use would be nice but I don't believe she is looking to attract guests that would want a kitchen. Josefa was so kind as to store our bottles of wine in a small fridge in their laundry room. She actually joined me for just a small sip of our wine one early evening. Nieves would probably approve in the best interest of customer care! Josefa is the BEST!!! The hostal has free internet, wifi, washer/dryer and the small fridge. I would not hesitate to recommend Hostal Barrera to anyone, even those looking for a more expensive hotel! The price is right! Como no!?

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostal Barrera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Barrera

Address: Calle Atocha 96, 2 planta, 28012 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#29 Best Value Hotel in Madrid
#43 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#120 Family Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostal Barrera is cozy hostal, offering newly refurbished rooms en-suite, FREE WI-FI,LCD tv, central heating and air conditoning .... and unbeatable rates.Ideal location in the city center of Madrid, just a walking distance of the main museums and attractions in town, and also to the main train station, Atocha Rail Way Station, to get to cities such as Seville,Barcelona, Toledo, Córdoba, Valencia ... We speak english, french, italian. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hostal Barrera Madrid
Hostal Barrera Hotel Madrid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostal Barrera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.