We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well Located” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Siete Islas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Siete Islas to your Saves list
Siete Islas
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Valverde, 14, 28004 Madrid, Spain (Malasana)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #84 of 453 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Southampton
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Well Located”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

I'm not quite sure why this hotel is rated as 4 star as it doesn't have the facilities I would expect - tea and coffee in the room for starters, but never the less it is clean and comfortable and perfectly placed for the Gran Vie and the other sights.
We had a very nice welcome, with the offer of hot chocolate on arrival and generally found the staff helpful, even working out the best deal for us for the Madrid Tour Bus.
Our room was tiny, you could just about squeeze past the end of the bed and the TV to get to the far side of the room. Our other room next door, used by the kids, was much bigger (they got first dibs!) so I guess we were unlucky. If you find you get offered something similar, don't assume they are all the same and try asking for another.
Breakfast was included and whilst I have seen bigger spreads, was more than adequate for our needs and set us up for the day. The cafe bar was a bit soul-less and not well used. I know that there is competition outside but I think that they can make more of it if they tried.
I’ve seen comments regarding the sex trade in the area. It’s there, but let me say my wife and teenage girls never noticed so don’t let it put you off. As others have mentioned, you can stay in much more expensive hotels close by and they will still be around.
All in all, as a base for a city break, you won’t go far wrong staying here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sieteislas, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Siete Islas, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Guest, thank you very much for sharing your feedback with us. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, our service and our location. Just one thing to add from our side, tea and coffee facilities are not requirements for a 4 star hotel, despite of this we offer this facilities when requested by our guests. Once again, thank you very much for choosing SieteIslas, we hope to welcome you back in the near future. Till the, best wishes, SieteIslas Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

841 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    299
    427
    88
    18
    9
See reviews for
109
415
49
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grecia, Alajuela, Costa Rica
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We spent 4 nights in Sept at Siete Islas and found it to be quite a nice hotel. It is located on a relatively quiet side street 130 meters or so from Gran Villa so it is, at least our room was, quiet. The room was none too large but quite adequate and the beds were comfortable. The staff was friendly and helpful and the price was, for Spain, reasonable. We liked it well enough that we returned for our last night prior to departure from Spain. It is an easy walk from the Gran Villa subway station.
I would stay there again if staying in Madrid.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sieteislas, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Siete Islas, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Guest, we are delighted to read your lovely comments and feedback about your stay at SieteIslas. Thank you for share your review with us and other TripAdvisor users. We hope to see you back in the near future, It will be great to welcome you back! All the best, kindest regards from Madrid.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Our company team was in Madrid for a pharmaceutical exhibition in October. It was a very tiring business trip but Hotel Siete Islas made our life comfortable. It has been a very pleasant stay for our team as they have been so helpful to us. The hotel serves breakfast at 7:30 am only but as we had to leave at 7:30 am during the days of the exhibition, they were able to manage to serve breakfast by 7:00 am! Their staff were also knowledgeable on Madrid restaurants. All the restaurants they recommended was really great, even the flamenco show! We would definitely put Hotel Siete Islas as no. 1 place to stay at while in Madrid.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sieteislas, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Siete Islas, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Guest, THANK YOU so much for your comments! We were so glad to have you here at SieteIslas, and so proud about your comments too. We just can hope now to see you back soon. All the best from Madrid, take care and see you soon. SieteIslas Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Stayed for 5 nights for exhibition so needed a hotel with good location to the metro. When the taxi pulled up outside the Hotel, I have to admit I was a little worried as it is located in a small side street. Upon entering then I could see it was perfectly OK! Overall was not disappointed with anything at this hotel! The staff were extremely friendly, espec the Front Desk who offered advice for restaurants and travelling - first class! WiFi worked mostly OK, breakfast was very good with good coffee machine! The hotel has a small bar area and was not busy - I guess this is because a few local bars are very close by, and the Gran Via area is 5 mins walk away. If you want to see some of Madrid in a reasonably priced central hotel, this is hard to beat!

Room Tip: Ask for room not facing the main street
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sieteislas, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Siete Islas, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Guest, thank you so much for sharing your feedback with us and other TripAdvisor users. It is great when we see that our lovely guests appreciate also our Service. We are happy to know that you also enjoy our location and, of course Madrid. Once again, thank you for staying at SieteIslas. We all hope to be able to welcome you back very soon. In the meantime, kindest regards from Madrid, all the best, SieteIslas Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Ives, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

An excellent location om the edge of the main shopping area, but peaceful at night. Very large bedroom and super friendly staff. Easy walking distance to many attractions and only a short walk to the nearest city bus stop!

Great late night bar directly opposite and they do the best mojito's I have had!

We shall definately go back to Madrid and this hotel!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sieteislas, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Siete Islas, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Guest, thank yopu so much for your great feedback and lovely comments about our staff and service. Just to add that we hope to welcome you back to SieteIslas ASAP! All the best from sunny Madrid. P.S.: great to see that you enjoyed the Mojitos! it´s true, they are really good....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
israel
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Very good 4 star hotel, best location, very rich breakfast, nice rooms free wifi bad conection in some rooms.Good conection in public area. Near to all higlights of the city.Good public transportion.Big bathrooms fully equiped.

Room Tip: Room 310 the best withour balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sieteislas, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Siete Islas, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Dear Guest, thank you very much for your comments and feedback. We are really happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, our location and our service. About the WiFi, please be aware that we are introducing a brand new WiFi system in the Hotel in the next 2-3 weeks. We will keep offering WiFi free for all our guests but it will be quicker and the signal will be stronger. All the best from Madrid and hope to see you soon in SieteIslas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Siete Islas twice this year. Both times our stay was recommendable, especially to anyone planning a city break in Madrid. The location is very central and easy to get to, just a few steps off the Gran Via, however its in a quiet street. The hotel is clean, comfortable and up-to-date. I will possibly return to the hotel on my next visit to Madrid.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sieteislas, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Siete Islas, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear "Regular" Guest, THANK YOU VERY MUCH! We are so proud to see that you enjoyed your stay once again with us at SieteIslas. We really appreciate your lovely comments and of course we wish to welcome you back very soon! consider this your House in Madrid. Until your next visit, warmest regards from Madrid!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Siete Islas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Siete Islas

Address: Calle Valverde, 14, 28004 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Malasana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#35 Business Hotel in Madrid
#50 Family Hotel in Madrid
#57 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#76 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Siete Islas 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Star Hotel in central Madrid, near Gran Via street, one of the most vital streets in the city. A modern hotel, offering comfort, service and location to be one of the most comfortable hotels in Madrid. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, T4B, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Siete Islas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Siete Islas Madrid
Siete Islas Hotel Madrid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Siete Islas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.