We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“upgrade!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ganivet Hotel

Save Saved
You added Ganivet Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Ganivet Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Toledo Street 111-113, 28005 Madrid, Spain (Centro)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #112 of 457 hotels in Madrid
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“upgrade!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We stayed in the ganivet on our last trip o madrid a few years ago and thought it was pretty central and clean so stayed again!!his time because we were out of season we were upgraded to a room with a terrace!!It was a nice touch and room was clean and big too!!The only downside is that there is no fridge in the room, only water coolers in the hallways and none on the 5th floor, where we were!!This would be a good asset especially to rooms there!Also why have terrace if you can't drink cold drinks on it!!Apart from that staff were friendly and say hello but aren't in your face which suited us!!would stay again if we ever went back to Madrid!!Road is a bit dingy and downtrodden but you can get to main tourist area at Sol in around 20 mins!

Room Tip: floor 5 is where all the terraces are ask for an upgrade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

667 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    176
    391
    78
    17
    5
See reviews for
108
256
37
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Hotel was in a good location but not great. It's few blocks outside of all the happening areas. However if you would like to experience a bit of suburb and experience the culture then this is the place for you. We loved it here as we did not want to stay right where all the tourists would be staying. We were able to catch Madrid city bus tours few blocks from this hotel. Puerta de Toledo metro is also few blocks away. Easy walk to la Latina area and plaza mayor and royal palace. If you want some sleep at night then I recommend you get a room on the other side then where the club Shoko is located as it can get pretty loud at night.

Room Tip: Pleas get a room on the other side then where the club shoko is located as it gets pretty loud at ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GDYNIA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

The hotel is very convenient situated within walking distance of all places worth seeing.Wi- fi free of charge good quality of signal.You can leave your car in the underground garage cost 19 euro pay 24 hrs.Air condition in the room - O.K.The room is clean and the bathroom has a window.Breakfast cost additionally 10 euros per person per day.There is a market with small shops with local produce ,like ham,cheese ,chorizo,bread,fruits to the right side of the hotel (20 mtrs) so you can make your own breakfast for the smallest cost.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Not many frills at this well-situated hotel. Very good value; rooms adequate, with foreign TV channels, but no fridge/minibar. Very handy for lively La Latina tapas-bar area and Puerto de Toledo metro station, and an easy walk to the city centre. Breakfast is not included but at 10€ is a very good deal. If not, there is a cafeteria in the hotel for a simpler meal. Staff polite and friendly; One initially declined to store bags (late train) but she may have misunderstood request. Would certainly stay here again. Free wifi.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

This was a great choice as the hotel was very clean, our room was spotless, the staff were very helpful and friendly, free wifi, good bar, good breakfast and a great location. A ten minute walk takes you into the La Latina area then you can wander from district to district. The place and cathedral are just minutes away, we bought a 10 trip train ticket between 2 of us from the airport, we gave it away on our departure 4 days later with 4 trips still on it. That shows how good a location it is. Definitely go back to this hotel.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

Hotel was booked via Gate 1 travel, for us. Great value excellent location. Able to walk to numerous historical locations.
Several metro locations very cloe by.
Staff very helpful. My best advice take the green line from the airport will save you quite a bit of time and money.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We stayed for five nights and while the hotel wasn't the best we stayed in, it wasn't the worst. I thought the staff was very attentive and informational. When we needed to print tickets for our train trip to Segovia they were more than happy to print it for us. The bar area was great to go to after a night out. Some little things that bothered me were how noisy it could get. The hallways are very small so we could hear people moving about, also were were on the second floor and occasionally we could hear the staff downstairs. There was also no clock in the room. The hotel was located near many attractions and a metro stop.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ganivet Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ganivet Hotel

Address: Toledo Street 111-113, 28005 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#76 Family Hotel in Madrid
#127 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ganivet Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, HostelBookers, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Ganivet Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ganivet Hotel Madrid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ganivet Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.