We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent (estupendo)” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Petit Palace Ducal Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Petit Palace Ducal Hotel to your Saves list
Petit Palace Ducal Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Hortaleza 3 | (Esquina C/ Gran Via 26) Chueca, 28004 Madrid, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #267 of 458 Hotels in Madrid
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    96
    61
    30
    11
See reviews for
36
71
20
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jamshedpur
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

A walk away from what you want. Room has whatever you want. Reasonable breakfast included, and rest of the meals are close by.
We had a room on to the street. Didnt mind the noise because it compensated with a lot to look out at.

Room Tip: ask if there are rooms not facing the street if you want some quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petitpalaceducal, Revenue Management at Petit Palace Ducal Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear guest:

Thank you for your comments. We are happy to know that we met your expectations. Without doubt, our guest’s satisfaction is our objective.
We hope to see you again soon.

Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

First time in Madrid and stayed here for 5 days and my friends and I were amazed at how good the location was for the price. Rooms/hotel were clean and the staff were extremely helpful and very friendly, good local knowledge with suggestions on where to go, how to get there and spoke good English too. The only negative point is the free wifi. Had problems connecting to it the further away from reception/ground floor you were.
Thinking of visiting Madrid again soon and will be looking to book this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petitpalaceducal, Revenue Management at Petit Palace Ducal Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your comments. We are happy to know that we met your expectations. Without doubt, our guest’s satisfaction is our objective. We are sorry about the problem with the WIFI connection, we will do our best to improve in this issue.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

This hotel is situated in an ideal location just off the infamous Gran Via street and close to all the main attractions in the city centre. Stayed for 2 nights with the wife and enjoyed our stay and loved the convenience due to the location. The full length mirror in the room is situated in a weird place though and you can't actually see yourself properly - good for other obvious reasons though! ;)

Breakfast is not worth 7 euros but Spain isn't famous for it's food so we didn't expect much anyway.

There is a lovely wine bar just a few doors down the road which is well worth checking out.

Room Tip: We had a street balcony view which is OK if you smoke and like to get the vibe from hussle and bussl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura C, Online Sales Department at Petit Palace Ducal Hotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
To our esteemed guest:
Thank you for your comments. We are happy to know that we met your expectations. Without doubt, our guest’s satisfaction is our objective.
We hope to see you again soon.
Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campinas, SP
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

This hotel is one of the best values in Madrid: its location is wonderful, pratically on Calle Gran Via, next to all sorts of magazines and a short walk from a main metro station.
Its rooms were new and renovated, all with air conditioner (helped a lot on the spanish summer...) and pristine clean. The only issue was that the hotel did not serve breakfast, but it was not a problem because there were plenty of restaurants on the neighborhood. A great choice of hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura C, Online Sales Department at Petit Palace Ducal Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
To our esteemed guest,
It was such a pleasure reading your comment. Without doubt, feedback like yours encourages us to continue working hard. We would love to see you again soon at any of our establishments.
We remind you that we have more hotels with the same good location in Barcelona, Valencia, Málaga, Sevilla, Salamanca, Bilbao, Getxo and, as you know, in Madrid.
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Great Location (short 2 min walk from Gran Via Metro) Located in a wonderful looking building. Reception staff are very friendly and check in was quick and simple.

Decor is modern and pleasing to the eye. Room was small but enough for 2 people the en-suite is not ideal for people who are "not close" as it is separated by a glass box where the doors don't quite meet in the middle so don't expect privacy (however everything in the bathroom works a treat, well once you work out how to use the shower)

Beds are comfortable and very clean, style of the room is excellent and normally facilities you'd expect from a decent hotel, fridge, safe, iron, etc.

Only gripes was the TV didn't work but as i had no intention of staying in this was not a massive issue, and the free wifi is temperamental but effective

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura C, Online Sales Department at Petit Palace Ducal Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear client:

Thank you very much for your comment about our Hotel Petit Palace Ducal. It helps us to improve. We will pass along your congratulations to the entire hotel staff.
We remind you that we have more hotels with the same good location in Barcelona, Valencia, Málaga, Sevilla, Salamanca, Bilbao, Getxo and, as you know, in Madrid.
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

I stayed in a room with a friend and am very satisfied with our stay. Staff was friendly and spoke very good English, so no problem if you don't speak Spanish. The location is excellent if you want to live in a lively area close to the nightlife. Getting around the city is easy: the subway is a 3 minute walk from the hotel. There is some traffic outside the hotel, but it is hardly audible if you don't open the window. The only not-so-good thing about our stay was that the elevator didn't work an evening/morning which could be a big problem if you have heavy luggage or are disabled and stay on the top floors. Don't know if this is a recurring problem though.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura C, Online Sales Department at Petit Palace Ducal Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear guest,
First of all, we would like to thank you for choosing us during your recent visit to Madrid.!
Thank you very much for you comment,
We are sorry to hear about your problem with the lift, but I want to detail that it’s not a recurring problem though, I suppose it was a punctual failed problem.
Anyway we are pleased to read such a glowing review and we hope to see you again in Madrid!
Thanks and regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Petit Palace Ducal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petit Palace Ducal Hotel

Address: C/ Hortaleza 3 | (Esquina C/ Gran Via 26) Chueca, 28004 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #267 of 458 Hotels in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Petit Palace Ducal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3* Hotel Petit Palace Ducal enjoys a wonderful location in Chueca, the heart of Historic Madrid. Guests of Hotel Petite Palace Ducal will find excellent shopping opportunities, fine dining experiences, theatres, cinemas, art galleries, museums and tourist attractions including Prado Museum, Plaza de Cibeles and the Thyssen Museum all within easy reach either on foot, by tram, bus or metro. Offering great value for money, services, facilities, amenities with contemporary comfortable high tech guestrooms the 3* Hotel Petite Palace Ducal makes the ideal choice of hotel for your next stay in Madrid. For a good deal and a memorable visit book the lovely 3* Hotel Petit Palace Ducal today.The 3* Hotel Petit Palace Ducal features contemporary guestrooms fully equipped with everything required for a wonderful stay in Madrid with bathroom featuring hydromassage shower, PC, exercise bike, valet press, complimentary internet WIFI free, air conditioning, heating, seating, writing desk/dressing table, in room safe, satellite tv, direct dial telephone. Extra bedding, linen, towels, infant cots and ironing facilities are available on request. All guestrooms enjoy views of surrounding areas.24hr reception, currency exchange services, housekeeping, maid services, safety deposit box (reception), newspapers, smoking rooms, air conditioning, heating, disabled access/facilities, family rooms, tourist information services, conference/meeting rooms with media technology, parking nearby, complimentary business centre services in public areas, complimentary WIFI internet access, business services including wake up call, postal, fax, copying and printing, group bookings welcome. Some services will incur local charges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelBookers, BookIt.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Petit Palace Ducal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petit Palace Ducal Madrid
Hotel Petit Palace Ducal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Petit Palace Ducal Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.