We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location and price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Petit Palace Ducal Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Petit Palace Ducal Hotel to your Saves list
Petit Palace Ducal Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Hortaleza 3 | (Esquina C/ Gran Via 26) Chueca, 28004 Madrid, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #267 of 457 Hotels in Madrid
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Location, location and price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

This hotel's location is very convenient for visiting many parts of central Madrid.

It was also cheaper compared to many hotels in the center.

The rooms are a bit outdated but clean. Noise insulation is nonexistent so u will hear your neighbors and if close enough, the lift. We think the old style lift is absolutely no problems. Many old cities in Europe have such elevators.

Stay here on a short stay and go out to enjoy the city.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura C, Online Sales Department at Petit Palace Ducal Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear guest,

We are very glad that you make a comment.

We try to maintain the old structure of the building including the lift. We have finished some works of improvement in rooms, maybe you stayed in one of old ones, then we hope that you visit us in future.

We hope to see you again in Madrid!
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    96
    61
    30
    11
See reviews for
37
71
20
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

well, the romantic offer is a joke...but we had a good time in Madrid. the room was cleaned and we liked the breakfast and the place of the city in Madrid. we would be happy to visit Madrid again, and sure the same hotel...


  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura C, Online Sales Department at Petit Palace Ducal Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear guest,

First of all, many thanks to write your comments!
We are very glad that you enjoy in Madrid and we hope that you come back in other occasion.

Kind regards from all our team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, GA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We stayed here for 6 nights. The room (3rd floor) was clean and modern, the beds were comfortable. The bathroom was a good size, but the shower was a bit messy as we could not get the doors to close completely so we had water on the floor. There is a Juliet-balcony, but it's nice to have the door open for fresh air and city sounds when relaxing. The room could use a small sofa or sitting chairs. The elevator is an older open-framed system, which added even more character to the hotel; it was very safe a quick. The hotel staff was very helpful in helping us to find directions, recommending restaurants and bars, and sights to see; also in getting our boarding passes printed. Being that it is located at the corner of Gran Via, it is somewhat noisy at night, but that's to be expected from a city like Madrid. Close to several Metro stations (one directly across the street), Puerta de Sol (across the street and down the hill) and Plaza Mayor, among other locations. We would stay here again!

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors are quieter from the street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura C, Revenue Manager at Petit Palace Ducal Hotel, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear BCZip
We are very happy that we were able to make your stay a pleasant one and would like to thank you for sharing this with everyone on Tripadvisor.
Its true that our hotel is ideally located in the city centre and an area abuntant with bars and cafes and just a few metres walking from the city centre.
Best regards and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novo Mesto, Slovenia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for 2 nights. The location is great, really great, in the city center, just few steps from the main shopping street. My room was in 1st floor, so I didnt need to use the elevator, which really looked odd and old. The room was very big with one double bed and the possibility of bunk bed. The view from the room was terrible, it looked to the celing :( the cleanliness of the room was average, the bathroom looked nice at the begining, but closely you could see some defectivenesses (hole in the floor, yellow dirt around the shower...).

It was very strange for me, that breakfast was not included in the price, although I paid a lot for the room. I paid for the breakfast additionaly and I was very setisfied with the food and service. There was planty choice of fruit, yogurts, salami, cheese, bread..and everything good.

At the reception you could find some useful information and staff is willing to help.

The location is this highlight which made the hotel good. I found it great that main door of the hotel is loocked all the time and you have to ring when you come and it makes you feel safer. The disadvantage is that the door ring is quite laud and in 1st foor room you could hear it.

Room Tip: In 1st floor rooms you can hear the door bell and the view is terrible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura C, Online Sales Department at Petit Palace Ducal Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear guest,

As you tell us, the main attractive of our hotel is the location so close to the landmarks of Madrid.

Our elevator works perfectly fine and we maintain the old grille to respect the original aspect of the building, in fact this grille is subsidized by the national wealth.

We will bear in mind your comment about the cleaning and we will do our best to improve our cleaning.

As for the room view, we try to give rooms according to guest preferences, in this case probably we don`t have free rooms with street view.
We will be very glad if you give us the opportunity to offer a very good stay in other occasion.

Many thanks for your comments

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

I just stayed here for 5 days and was totally satisfied with this hotel, though at first impression thought rooms were somewhat untastefully/old fashionately decorated. Just around the corner from Gran Via and only a couple of minutes walk away from Chueca area and from many major Madrid attractions, and taking into account we got a 50% off deal at the hotel´s website, I just coudn´t ask for better for my Madrid stay. Room had a balcony and was soundproof. Will definitely stay here again if I find this hotel again 50% off, if not, would consider surfing the web a bit to see what else comes up, before paying full rate =) The place is nice though.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura C, Online sales department at Petit Palace Ducal Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
I was absolutely delighted to read your feedback regarding your stay hope you will join us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

This is a good 3-star hotel in an excellent position by the Gran Via, just minutes from the Puerta del Sol and on the doorstep of the buzzing Chueca neighbourhood. We loved room 305 even though there were a few very minor decoration blemishes, because it has a balcony to the street and with the door closed, we were undisturbed by street noise. There is a rather expensive mini-bar but at least, there is a fridge for putting in one's own drinks.
WIFI is free and works well but for the slight irritant of the password expiring after a while so that one must re-enter it to regain internet access.
The other niggle is that the lift has rather elegant ironwork gates that need to be manually closed and if a guest forgets to do it, the lift remains out of action until the offending gate is closed. It seems to be an obvious omission that there is no notice in the lifts warning of this fact.
We took advantage of a special offer for breakfast @ 6 euros per person and we found this to be good value, especially with fresh croissants and freshly-squeezed orange juice... and very friendly breakfast staff on duty when we stayed.
When returning to Madrid, we would definitely return to this hotel and would try to secure room 305.

Room Tip: 305 is a good room with a balcony and other rooms ending in 05 are probably similar but maybe we wou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura C, Online sales department at Petit Palace Ducal Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel when you are next visiting the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camarillo, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Excellent location, right off of the Gran Via, and super close to metro stations, restaurants, bars.

Staff was very friendly and helpful, would book dinner reservations, tickets, etc, were very informative about the area, where to find supermarkets and such. They also helped us find alternative transportation to the airport at 4am without shelling out 30euro for a cab.

The room was rather small, but well furnished, with a large comfortable bed, lots of lighting choices, large mirrors, a closet, a safe, and a flat screen TV. The free wifi was easy to access, although you have to keep re-entering the passcode, but it had very good reception.

The bathroom had an awesome shower. However, the bathroom is separated from the room by a glass wall and large glass door that was difficult to open without bumping into the bed, and didn't close all the way. There is absolutely no sound-privacy in the bathroom, so if you don't like hearing your travel companion take care of business, its best to turn on the TV or go for a walk when nature calls.

The windows in our room looked out on an elevator/light shaft, so not a very interesting view, but from other reviewer photos it looks like we were just unlucky with this one.

The elevator was a really cool and old-fashioned-but-modernized. The only downside is that if someone forgot to close the gate on one of the upper floors, the elevator will not come down to get you, so you have to walk up the flights of stairs surrounding the elevator shaft. We were only on the 3rd floor so it wasn't too much of a hassle.

When we left, our credit card didn't work and we had to pay cash. Several days later, upon returning home and seeing our bank statement, we found that the card had indeed worked and we'd been double charged. We contacted the hotel and within a couple days they had reviewed their records, found that we had double paid and immediately refunded us. They were very apologetic, polite and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura C, Online Sales Department at Petit Palace Ducal Hotel, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your comments on Tripadvisor. We are glad to read that the hotel met your expectations, except for certain details.

We hope to see you soon,
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Petit Palace Ducal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petit Palace Ducal Hotel

Address: C/ Hortaleza 3 | (Esquina C/ Gran Via 26) Chueca, 28004 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #267 of 457 Hotels in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Petit Palace Ducal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3* Hotel Petit Palace Ducal enjoys a wonderful location in Chueca, the heart of Historic Madrid. Guests of Hotel Petite Palace Ducal will find excellent shopping opportunities, fine dining experiences, theatres, cinemas, art galleries, museums and tourist attractions including Prado Museum, Plaza de Cibeles and the Thyssen Museum all within easy reach either on foot, by tram, bus or metro. Offering great value for money, services, facilities, amenities with contemporary comfortable high tech guestrooms the 3* Hotel Petite Palace Ducal makes the ideal choice of hotel for your next stay in Madrid. For a good deal and a memorable visit book the lovely 3* Hotel Petit Palace Ducal today.The 3* Hotel Petit Palace Ducal features contemporary guestrooms fully equipped with everything required for a wonderful stay in Madrid with bathroom featuring hydromassage shower, PC, exercise bike, valet press, complimentary internet WIFI free, air conditioning, heating, seating, writing desk/dressing table, in room safe, satellite tv, direct dial telephone. Extra bedding, linen, towels, infant cots and ironing facilities are available on request. All guestrooms enjoy views of surrounding areas.24hr reception, currency exchange services, housekeeping, maid services, safety deposit box (reception), newspapers, smoking rooms, air conditioning, heating, disabled access/facilities, family rooms, tourist information services, conference/meeting rooms with media technology, parking nearby, complimentary business centre services in public areas, complimentary WIFI internet access, business services including wake up call, postal, fax, copying and printing, group bookings welcome. Some services will incur local charges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, Agoda, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Petit Palace Ducal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petit Palace Ducal Madrid
Hotel Petit Palace Ducal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Petit Palace Ducal Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.