We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pleasantly surprised” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Catalonia Puerta del Sol

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Catalonia Puerta del Sol to your Saves list
Catalonia Puerta del Sol
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Atocha 23, 28012 Madrid, Spain (Centro)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 458 Hotels in Madrid
Valencia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“pleasantly surprised”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

this hotel was once a palace. while it is small, it is quite charming with a lot of character. in the USA we would call it a boutique hotel. the staff were super friendly and very courteous, especially Monica and Aida. the rooms were clean, and the ones inside the courtyard were quiet although without a view and seemed larger. the ones facing the streets w/balcony were smaller and a little noisy at times, but not bad. the air conditioning was adequate, but very noisy. all in all, it is a good choice. it is located close to the Plaza Mayor.

Room Tip: inside rooms are larger and quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moratindireccion, Director General at Catalonia Puerta del Sol, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Gloria Jean,

Thank you for taking your time and let us know your feedback. We are remodelating constanly the hotel because we want to be a boutique hotel, so thank you for your comments.

I will let know to Aida and Monica about your comments.
Also we take care about the air conditioning noise to fix it.

Hope to see you back son.

Best regards,

César Rionda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    109
    22
    9
    4
See reviews for
52
124
14
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

The location of this hotel is very good. You can walk everywhere in the city center! We just used the transportation system when we went to Santiago Bernabeu to se a football match. The breakfast room is very nice and the breakfast is alright. The room are clean and spacious.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moratindireccion, Director General at Catalonia Puerta del Sol, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear I-am-AKG,

Thank you so much for your comments.
We are doing our best to keep improving and be a better hotel.

Best regards and hope you visit us again son.

César Rionda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

This is a lovely establishment with a beautiful 'inner' courtyard and very helpful and friendly staff.
Close (if you're okay with a 15 minute walk, to the astonishing Prado).
Breakfast was nice, and the room was nicely outfitted. Only minor complaint was that there was a bit of noise coming from that courtyard (people talking, etc.), but it was not especially disturbing.

Also: smelled great!

Room Tip: Maybe ask for one a bit away from the courtyard. On the other hand, the courtyard is lovely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moratindireccion, Director General at Catalonia Puerta del Sol, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear WendyGanz,

Thank you very much for your comments.
We will take care about your minor complaint this is important for us to keep improving.

Best regards and hope you can visit us again.

César Rionda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nepean
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Pleasant check in and in a good location 5 minutes from Plaza Mayor. Having said that, the room is not in great shape, the plasticky sort of wood decor in the rooms is chipped, the bath and shower are outdated, the grout in the bathroom is cracked,broken and discoloured as are the tiles, the lighting is poor and basically everything needs a strong refreshing. The safe does not have a charger in it for your electronics although the website says it does.Oh, and you can hear EVERYTHING through the walls and doors. I have ear plugs for that very thing however. The bed is comfortable though and the balcony doors open up so that you can take the room chair and sit with a street view and listen to the action outside...and there is plenty of that. The most attractive thing however is the most fabulous staircase that runs through the middle of the hotel with the original pine boards and lovely original plaster work- that is a nice historical touch.
I don't think I would stay here again....there are so many other options in such a beautiful city.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moratindireccion, Director General at Catalonia Puerta del Sol, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Jmvasile,

Thank you very much for your feedback.

I agree that some rooms need to be renewed and we are already working on it for a few months, all the decoration fabric room has been renewed for a much more modern and continue with new beds, shower screens in the bathrooms etc.

I hope to check back often because I assure you we will reform a more modern hotel.

receive a warm welcome and thank you for making us better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Hotel was on a main Madrid street (Atocha), near a Metro station, near a plaza, with taxis readily available if needed. Walking was a main form of travel in this city. Front desk staff very pleasant/conversant/efficient.

Did have some difficulty with map/directions and an unexpected restaurant closure (one day).

Very impressed with the train (Renfe) system. And the museums, and more museums.....
and the Botanical Gardens.

Room Tip: My room overlooked the interior courtyard; very guiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moratindireccion, Director General at Catalonia Puerta del Sol, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear Helen,

Thank you very much for your comments.
Customers service is our most important comitment and is great to know it was good for you.
Hope you come back soon.

Best regards,

César RIonda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zonhoven
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

On 14 June we stayed for 2 nights at this hotel. The location is excellent. You can do a lot of things on foot: Puerta del sol, Plaza Mayor, Plaza Santa Ana( with lots of good tapas bars). You get a very warm welcome.when entering the hotel. We were offered a glass of cava Staff at the front desk are really very nice and helpful. Our bedroom was nice and clean. So was the bathroom. Airco sometimes made some noise, but there was no noise from the street.. We had breakfast at the hotel. It was very good and there was enough choice. In front of the bar is a nice courtyard where you can relax and have a drink. We liked the hotel very much and will certainly come back next time we visit Madrid. .

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moratindireccion, Director General at Catalonia Puerta del Sol, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear Erika,

Thank you very much for taking your time and share your experience at the hotel. We are very happy to know you have had a great stay with us.
I really hope you can visit us again, I am pretty sure we keep improving.

Best regards and thank you one more time.

César Rionda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evergem, Belgium
Top Contributor
217 reviews 217 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

I stayed here for 3 nights, was my first time in Madrid. The hotel is good and situated very close to center of the old town. Everything is very close and can be done by foot. There is also the famous hop on, hop of bus that stops few Streets away. The people at the front desk are very friendly and efficient, all of them are but sure wont forget the friendly smile of Aida. The rooms are spacious, they have what you need, nice big bathroom with all ammenities there. The airco makes some noise now and then but nothing really bad when you put on low speed. I had a lamp that was finished, reported it at front desk and few hours later it was fixed already. The breakfast is good and fresh, you have enough choice in my opinion. Nice courtyard in the hotel to relax and have a drink. I was there when the national strike of taxi drivers started and needed a tranfer to the airport, the people at front desk did whatever they could to get me a private car..and they succeeded so many thanks for that. I can say the hotel has great value and i would definatly go back there when i visit Madrid again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moratindireccion, Director General at Catalonia Puerta del Sol, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear Mr. Hugo Colle,

It´s an honour and so motivate for us to see an opinión as yours. Thank you very much for all your comments, I will let know to all the staff and specially to Aida.
Customers service is our most important comitment and read this opnions keep us improving on it.

Thank you very much and hope to see you back.

Best regards,

César Rionda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Catalonia Puerta del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Puerta del Sol

Address: Atocha 23, 28012 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro , Cortes / Plaza Santa Ana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#35 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#40 Family Hotel in Madrid
#41 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Catalonia Puerta del Sol 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Catalonia Moratin hotel, which opened its doors in August 2002, is conveniently situated near the famous Golden Triangle (the Prado Museum, the Thyssen Bornemisza Museum and the Reina Sofia Museum), adjacent to the historic nucleus of the city which includes the Puerta del Sol and the Plaza Mayor. It is only a few metres away from the Plaza Santa Ana, known to be one of the best places for tapas nationwide, and close to the most popular theatres in town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Catalonia Puerta del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Puerta Del Sol Hotel Madrid
Catalonia Moratin Hotel Madrid
Catalonia Moratin Madrid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Catalonia Puerta del Sol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.