We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You will want to back” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Catalonia Puerta del Sol

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Catalonia Puerta del Sol to your Saves list
Catalonia Puerta del Sol
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Atocha 23, 28012 Madrid, Spain (Centro)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 457 Hotels in Madrid
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“You will want to back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

Ideal location for a tourist visit to Madrid. Only a few minutes walk from most of the best parts of Madrid. From the excellent reception staff to the clean and comfortable rooms, you will not be disappointed. Breakfast had very good choice with very helpful staff. Possible to walk the 15 mins to and from Atocha station where you can get the Airport bus. Certainly would stop here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moratindireccion, Director General at Catalonia Puerta del Sol, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Mark C,

Thank you very much for your nice commets.
I am really happy to have enjoyed your stay with us.
Hope to see you soon and Merry Christmas!

César RIonda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    110
    22
    9
    4
See reviews for
52
124
14
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem, Israel
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

a great hotel. Located in the center of Madrid - very close to all major tourist attractions. The staff at the hotel reception - especially Adalberto, Aida and Angella were fluent in english and most important - were very nice and helpful. Also, the price was very reasonable. we enjoyed our stay very much and recommend the hotel wholeheartedly.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moratindireccion, Director General at Catalonia Puerta del Sol, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Tahail T,

Thank you very much for your comments we are happy to know, you had a great stay with us and we hope you will come back soon.
I will let Aida, Angela and Adalberto know about your comments, we really apreciate that mention to them.

Best regards and hope to see you soon.

César RIonda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Two thumbs up for this hotel. Very reasonably priced and the staff are amazing. This was our first of a few stops in Spain and was our favorite hotel. You can't beat the location, the rooms are clean / comfortable, and the staff goes above and beyond to ensure your vacation runs smoothly. We didn't have extensive experience with speaking Spanish or with the layout of the city but the front desk personnel made it very painless to navigate. Numerous times Aida guided us to awesome local spots which enhanced our experience. Would highly recommend for your next vacation to Madrid.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moratindireccion, Director General at Catalonia Puerta del Sol, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Mr. John R,

Thank you very much for your comments about the hotel and about the staff. I would let them know about your comments, specially to Aida.
It is an honor for us customers satisfation and when we read a guess comment like yours is so motivated and amaze us.

Hope you enjoy Madrid and Spain and I hope you come back soon.

Best regards and thanks again for you comments, we really apreite it.

César Rionda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Very good location for a shopping weekend. Big, clean rooms, very spacious bathroom! Had some issues with wifi, but people at the reception were very helpfull. Just 5 minutes away from mercado de Madrid, the place to be for some delicious tapas! Easy to Reach by bus and metro from the airport.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moratindireccion, Director General at Catalonia Puerta del Sol, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Riet Gabriel,

Thank you very much for your comments.
Hope you come back soon the hotel and enjoy the city.

Best regards,

César Rionda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neenah, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

My two sons and I stayed here for four nights in June and it was an amazing experience! The staff are all very friendly and helpful, the breakfast was absolutely fantastic with LOTS of choices, the room was very spacious and clean and it was very quiet (we had a courtyard room on the third floor). I highly recommend this hotel and I will definitely stay there again when I go back to Madrid. I suppose I need to mention, however, that the mattresses on the beds were quite hard, but if you are used to a very firm mattress it would not bother you. (We all have a latex mattress at home so these mattresses felt VERY hard to us). Other than that, I loved our stay. ¡Gracias por todo!

Room Tip: The rooms that face the courtyard are extremely quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moratindireccion, Director General at Catalonia Puerta del Sol, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Sharon,

Its wonderfull when I read a comment as the one you have wrote. I really want to thank you for that and I really hope you and your family will come back soon.
About the mattress i am sorry about the inconvenience, how ever we are changing all the hotel mattress to latex so I am sure we wont have this problem any more.

Best regards and hope to see you and your family soon.

César Rionda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amman
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

Just checked in and I have to say that the hotel is very nice , the reception lady named Aida is very sweet and helpful, excellent location and the room was very clean and nice . the hotel is near the metro station and plaza mayor details for later :)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moratindireccion, Director General at Catalonia Puerta del Sol, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Sandyzozo,

Thank you very much for your comments. I let Aida knows about your nice comments. I really apreciate the mention, it motivates us a lot to satisfy our customers as better as posible.

Best regards and hope you come back soon.

César Rionda,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

A really convenient and luxurious hotel. Very friendly staff, and they try their very best to make your stay comfortable. The hotel is walking distance from all the fun quarters in Madrid, shops, stores and restaurants. Has a nice lounge area to enjoy good coffee and to read a book. Loved it!

Room Tip: Some rooms are spacious than others for the same price. All rooms have the same view of the central...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moratindireccion, Director General at Catalonia Puerta del Sol, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear MilesToGoBforeIS,

Is´s a great news to know that you have had a nice stay with us, all the entire team of Catalonia Puerta del Sol thank you for your comments.

Hope to see you soon in the hotel.

Best regards,

César Rionda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Catalonia Puerta del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Puerta del Sol

Address: Atocha 23, 28012 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro , Cortes / Plaza Santa Ana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#35 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#39 Family Hotel in Madrid
#45 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Catalonia Puerta del Sol 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Catalonia Moratin hotel, which opened its doors in August 2002, is conveniently situated near the famous Golden Triangle (the Prado Museum, the Thyssen Bornemisza Museum and the Reina Sofia Museum), adjacent to the historic nucleus of the city which includes the Puerta del Sol and the Plaza Mayor. It is only a few metres away from the Plaza Santa Ana, known to be one of the best places for tapas nationwide, and close to the most popular theatres in town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Catalonia Puerta del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Puerta Del Sol Hotel Madrid
Catalonia Moratin Hotel Madrid
Catalonia Moratin Madrid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Catalonia Puerta del Sol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.