We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A multi-purpose hotel in the heart of Madrid” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Catalonia Puerta del Sol

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Catalonia Puerta del Sol to your Saves list
Catalonia Puerta del Sol
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Atocha 23, 28012 Madrid, Spain (Huertas)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 453 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Madrid
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A multi-purpose hotel in the heart of Madrid”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

The hotel has a superb location, a few steps away of the main attractions in the Old City of Madrid. Because of its configuration around a nice yard it is very quiet, in spite of its very central location. A very nice venue for meetings, and good cuisine, too.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    131
    22
    9
    4
See reviews for
62
140
18
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

we spent 5 nights here in a superior room as I need to have a standalone shower. the room was very comfortable was a good size and kept clean. Calle de Atocha is not very attractive as such however the hotel is central for most things. The staff were very helpful and the buffet breakfast was good with fried eggs, bacon sausage etc and it was well cared for. The weather was on the cold side so the air conditioning was not really used however I suspect that it may be lacking in efficiency.
Locals in madrid do not eat dinner until about 9.00pm which for us is too late, restaurants in Plaze de Mayor serve dinners before then. All in an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varde
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

Excellent hotel for couples to see and discover Madrid. It´s very close to the central place "Plaza de Mayor" and the shopping area. Nice staff, good and clean rooms and a good breakfast restaurant.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkwall, Orkney
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

We stayed in this hotel over last New Year,it's location is very central,so handy for the metro station,city bus tours etc.
We were offered to have New Year dinner at the hotel, but didn't take them up on the offer, as it was 80 euros a head!
The air conditioning was pretty poor,so we had to have the double doors open, therefore hearing anyone speaking down in the bar/foyer area
If you fancied a drink in their mega expensive bar, then more often than not, you would have to wait an age for someone to turn up,even after asking at reception.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Spent a total of 4 nights on two occaisions last week at this hotel. While the location makes it within easy walking distance of most things you want to see, the street it's on is kind of shabby. Rooms are very "cozy" and as stated by others could be cleaner. First night we had a second floor room, overlooking the street (busy and loud all night) which meant keeping the windows closed and the A/C not doing much. The bed was essentially slab concrete, and the pillows consisted of a long cylinder of minimal diameter and no resilience. NO SLEEP. As we checked out, we asked at the desk for a different room on our return and explained the issues. 4 days later we are offered a very similar room, overlooking the street, one floor higher. Went to look and this bed was completely soft and broken down except for the rigid intermittent bed springs! One couldn't even sit on it. When we refused, we were told the only other room was on the first floor, facing the inner courtyard (reception and the hotel bar) but with double paned glass so there would be no noise. The bed was a bit better than the first, and we immediately requested more of the cylinder pillows. In this room, the A/C was useless. We set the thermostat as low as it would go with adequate fan speed and it never cooled off. Friends, staying on a higher floor were worse off as they said it was even hotter up there. Opening the window was not an option with the noise and cigarette smoke from the courtyard. Breakfast was barely adequate, and the minimal staff easily overwhelmed by the tour groups the hotel had booked.
I read many of the other comments about this hotel and my complaints are not unique, yet they keep giving four stars to this 4 Star hotel. I Don't get it. To me as a 3 star hotel, I would rate it adequate at best.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lecco, Italy
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

We stayed here on a two-night stopover on our way to Mexico and can't complain about the location. The hotel is within walking distance to many attractions and dining options and very close to the subway. Our standard room was pretty small and not as clean as one would expect from a 4-star hotel. To use the old-system safe box in the room we had to request a key at the reception, so we ended up locking our valuables in the suitcase instead. Breakfast included in the rate would have been a plus, but there are other less expensive options nearby. Staff was polite and helpful. In all it's not bad if you don't plan to spend much time in your room.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jakarta
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

Located near the city center. Close to shops, restaurant, and everything
Staff is friendly.
Had to leave very early in the morning and the manager provided me and my family a pot of coffee
I had the room on the 4th floor and long walk from the elevator. Room and bathroom is large, but the bed is not the most comfortable.

My biggest problem is that my room was very hot. I tried to turn on the air conditioner, but only hot air comes out. My room was facing the inside of the hotel, so opening the window doesn't help much.

Tried to change room unfortunately the hotel was fully booked.

Room Tip: Don't get the room facing inside
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Catalonia Puerta del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Puerta del Sol

Address: Atocha 23, 28012 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#24 Family Hotel in Madrid
#35 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#50 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Catalonia Puerta del Sol 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Catalonia Moratin hotel, which opened its doors in August 2002, is conveniently situated near the famous Golden Triangle (the Prado Museum, the Thyssen Bornemisza Museum and the Reina Sofia Museum), adjacent to the historic nucleus of the city which includes the Puerta del Sol and the Plaza Mayor. It is only a few metres away from the Plaza Santa Ana, known to be one of the best places for tapas nationwide, and close to the most popular theatres in town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Catalonia Puerta del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Puerta Del Sol Hotel Madrid
Catalonia Moratin Hotel Madrid
Catalonia Moratin Madrid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Catalonia Puerta del Sol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.