We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitality” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal San Lorenzo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added Hostal San Lorenzo to your Saves list
Hostal San Lorenzo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Clavel 8, 28004 Madrid, Spain (Centro)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #307 of 455 Hotels in Madrid
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Hospitality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The reception staff a very kind,friendly and spoke English very well.
They went the extra mile by on request they kept my laptop under lock and key within their office

The room was clean and functional. All in all a very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    76
    48
    23
    15
See reviews for
20
54
26
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here for three nights just gone, it's location is just off the gran via slap bang in the heart of everything. You will not have to walk far for anything. The hotel itself was basic but clean enough and pleasant staff no criticism from me, if you don't like lively you are probably in the wrong area it is night club next door restaurant the other side fantastic.

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This place was recommended to us by a friend who lives in Madrid and we were not disappointed. The staff is friendly, rooms are decent and WiFi reception is good throughout the whole building. We could arrange a late checkout (8pm) at a reasonable price. The location is very good. A lot of interesting places, as well as restaurants and bars are within walking distance.

Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Spotlessly clean, cleaned and towels refreshed daily. Very central for shops, bars and restaurants, a great little find in a lively area. Easy walking distance to Puerto del sol and plaza de mayor and much more. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This great little hotel is very central. It is spotlessly clean and the rooms are of a good size. We were in room 102 and it was Saturday night. Madrid is a great partying town and people were eating and drinking through until dawn broke. Our room was directly above a great little tapas bar and opened onto the lively square. There was noise but we had both large doors onto the balconies wide open; only a killjoy could complain about people going out to have fun.
The room had plenty of seating it was light and airy and had good electric lights. The bathroom had a comfortable bath and an over bath shower; the room was well equipped and clean.
The staff a great and helpful, they give you directions and advice. I suggest using the airport 'bus to hotel' service coasting all of E9 for a mercedes to the aeroport; very quick and efficient.
Breakfast is okay and there is plenty of cakes, toast and cold meat available. It does cost extra and isn't really worthwhile. I would go out and have a coffe and pastry.

Room Tip: If you are concerned about the noise go for a room on one of the upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai Province, Thailand
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Being on the road most of the time, my job make me spending most of my nights at the hotel.
This one is one of the worst i' ve been staying in!
Smelly enough to make me getting sick from air allergy, i have been coughing all night...

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DORSET
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2014

Very lucky with this Hotel on a weekend trip to Madrid, located just off main shopping, dining areas, although the area is lively at night which may not be to every ones taste. Also within walking distance of Palace and an older part of Madrid. The room was spotless if a little small, only disappointment was breakfast but that's Spain! Every member of staff excellent they beat a lot of the staff at the big chain hotels with their helpfulness and professionalism. Very much at the budget end of the market but no complaints from me for the cost.

Room Tip: Go for interior for quietness and at least a Superior.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostal San Lorenzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal San Lorenzo

Address: Calle Clavel 8, 28004 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #307 of 455 Hotels in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hostal San Lorenzo 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Venere, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HostelWorld, Otel, Odigeo, HostelBookers and Tingo so you can book your Hostal San Lorenzo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal San Lorenzo Madrid
Hostal San Lorenzo Hotel Madrid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostal San Lorenzo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.