We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Place to Stay in the Heart of Madrid!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Europa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Europa to your Saves list
Hotel Europa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle del Carmen 4, 28013 Madrid, Spain (Centro)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Super Offer/Super Oferta
Ranked #26 of 453 Hotels in Madrid
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A Great Place to Stay in the Heart of Madrid!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

The hotel is located just a short walk from the Sol stop of the Madrid Metro, just within walking distance to a lot of shops and restaurants, and via short taxi ride is within reach to a lot of significant sites in Madrid.

Our accommodations included breakfast and we were pleased to find out the Hotel's restaurant, the Cafeteria del Hotel Europa, was a decent place for breakfast.

The staff were quite formal yet warm and accommodating. Like most Madrid locals, they were not too keen to speak English (but they speak English) which in Madrid is not a bad thing. They work hard to please though.

There was a moment when I had a problem with the internet connection in the middle of the night, and the staff immediately scrambled and worked to get the internet fixed, and checking on me time and again to be sure everything was working.

What impressed me most of all was the cleaning staff. Each time we returned to our rooms, not only were they immaculate, our personal clutter left lying about were neatly and very nicely organized around the room. It seems our room was getting cleaner the longer we stayed there too!

Room Tip: We chose a courtyard room away from the busy front. Although we know the windows were quality enoug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,093 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    580
    424
    65
    13
    11
See reviews for
249
482
79
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Seriously this hotel hit all the checks! Loved our balcony view that overlooked Puerta Del Sol and the street below. I had special requests -- no fridge in the room but wanted to refrigerate stuff. They were so accommodating! Got lots of help from the concierge on getting around & booking shows and restaurants. Great choice and fantastic value! Thanks Hotel Europa!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, CA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

We spent 4 days here and could not have had a better experience. Our room was spacious, by European standards, and had a beautifully appointed bathroom with all updated fixtures. It was a "show" outside our window overlooking Plaza del Sol all day and continuing into the early morning hours...mimes, skaters, breakdancers, talented musicians, etc. The hotel staff were very helpful and catered to our every need. Many, many top notch restaurants within a short walking distance. We would definitely stay here again!!

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Hotel Europa is situated in a fantastic spot for my favorite past time - people watching. The staff is very friendly and helpful especially with directions and restaurant recommendations.

It can be a bit noisy, but the double pane windows do a good job of drowning out most of the noise.

I was sitting out on the terrace one morning, and noticed the maid was scrubbing the terrace floor next to me. The maids clean the sidewalk in front of the hotel. The hotel is very clean and very central for the sight-seeing that I wanted to do. In the evenings, you can go hang out at Plaza del Sol and there are a variety of restaurants and dessert shops close by.

I miss ordering a croissant and coffee and sitting out on the terrace and watching the world go by. It's a fantastic spot. When you check out, make sure you bring your room key down with you. I left it in the room because I was checking out at 6:00 a.m., and still trying to wake up. The employee totally lost it when I said I didn't have the key and said he couldn't close out my account with out the key. He was the only rude employee I encountered the whole time.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

The Hotel Europa has an excellent location. the staff is super friendly, and helpful. My room was very nice and clean with excellent view of puerta del sol. The room has a good a/c. There were a lot of stores and restaurants around it. The hop on and off was across the hotel which make it convenient. If I come back to Madrid, I will definitely stay in this hotel

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

This hotel is great, the location is amazing, the staff was very helpful, and the hotel was very very clean with a great little cafe (that serves breakfast).
American travelers need to keep in mind that this is a European hotel, with high ceilings but smaller rooms. Our room had a balcony that overlooked the main plaza and while we could faintly hear the music it didn't prohibit us from easily sleeping. The location of the hotel is amazing, there are restaurants, shopping and a grocery store right outside the doors. We used the laundry service which was prompt. I would strongly recommend the hotel, and would stay here
again.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Mississippi
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

This hotel is in an excellent location to walk to so many things. Just a 10 minute walk to the palace. The staff was extremely helpful and spoke very good English. The room was very clean and had a great view of the Plaza del Sol. We were worried it would be too noisy, but as soon as you closed the balcony doors, it was completely quiet in the room no matter how noisy it was out in the plaza. We were thrilled when we showed up at 8:30 a.m. and we were able to check into our room. That is almost unheard of in American hotels. We also enjoyed having the restaurant attached right to the hotel. We ate breakfast and lunch there as well as had drinks in the patio seating which made for excellent people watching. It was a great value and we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Europa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Europa

Address: Calle del Carmen 4, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#27 Family Hotel in Madrid
#133 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Europa 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, T4B, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Europa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europa Hotel Madrid
Hotel Europa Madrid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Europa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.