We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, helpful staff, Nice rooms.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Europa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Europa to your Saves list
Hotel Europa
Calle del Carmen 4, 28013 Madrid, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #22 of 455 Hotels in Madrid
Madison, Mississippi
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great location, helpful staff, Nice rooms.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

This hotel is in an excellent location to walk to so many things. Just a 10 minute walk to the palace. The staff was extremely helpful and spoke very good English. The room was very clean and had a great view of the Plaza del Sol. We were worried it would be too noisy, but as soon as you closed the balcony doors, it was completely quiet in the room no matter how noisy it was out in the plaza. We were thrilled when we showed up at 8:30 a.m. and we were able to check into our room. That is almost unheard of in American hotels. We also enjoyed having the restaurant attached right to the hotel. We ate breakfast and lunch there as well as had drinks in the patio seating which made for excellent people watching. It was a great value and we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

909 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    492
    340
    54
    12
    11
See reviews for
199
399
68
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maui, Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

They accommodated our last minute room change without a hitch. A balcony room overlooking Puerta del Sol made for a special stay. Windows are well insulated and blocked out the noise. Staff was always very helpful and it was a busy time during the San Isidro festival. I would definitely return again for this festival. The special events throughout the city were great. A real taste of Madrid, not just tourist attractions.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughkeepsie, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

The hotel staff was friendly and helpful. The room was no frills but very comfortable and had
everything we needed. The bathroom was large and nicely appointed. The hotel was centrally located -- we walked everywhere. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gig Harbor, WA
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

The Hotel Europa is located in a wonderful spot, just off the main plaza. The rooms are very nice and the hotel staff is helpful. A good bargain for the price. Breakfast isn't included, but there's a lovely restaurant/bar attached to the hotel, and you can eat outside in the pedestrian walkway. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

This is our first time in Madrid. The hotel is very well situated. It's best location, friendliness and helpful staffs with excellent view from our balcony make our stay there a wonderful memory.
We will definitely return and will recommend this hotel to friends who will come to Madrid. The food at the restaurant is also good. Thank you and hope to be able to come back again next year.

Room Tip: We love the room with view on the square and once you close the windows it is fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Texas
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

My daughter and I recently enjoyed our stay at Hotel Europa. Besides the perfect location, the hotel staff was so gracious and accomodating. We arrived early and were able to check it immediately. The room service for weary travelers was excellent. I would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

My friends and I stayed at Hotel Europa June 5 2014-June 9. It is a perfect location right by Puerta del Sol. When we first checked in, there was a very potent smell, like a teenage boy who put too much cologne. The room was clean, quiet, small but, had all the essentials. There was a safe which was great and a hair dryer. The front desk was very helpful with directions and they spoke english well. They will charge 1 euro to make reservations, which we were not aware of. Also, every time we used the shower the floors were soaking wet. Overall, great place to stay, especially if you want to be in the center of Madrid!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Europa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Europa

Address: Calle del Carmen 4, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#32 Family Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Europa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europa Hotel Madrid
Hotel Europa Madrid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Europa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.