We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Europa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Europa to your Saves list
Hotel Europa
Calle del Carmen 4, 28013 Madrid, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #25 of 458 Hotels in Madrid
SA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Excellent Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed in Hotel Europa in August 2012. We picked this hotel after thorough study through Trip Advisor website. We were looking for the hotel in the centre of Madrid. The choice was good. Location was great and condition of accommodation were satisfactory. Hotel Europa is located at Puerta del Sol which is a hub of Madrid. This is noisy place so if u looking for tranquillity this is not a place for you. If you don’t mind vibrant atmosphere of the city , like us, don’t go anywhere else. Hotels windows muffle noise efficiently so you can still have a quiet night. We were enjoying sitting on tiny balcony sipping bear and watching buzzing crowd. Our room was air-conditioned, spacious and clean. It didn’t contain fridge which was a minus. Hotel Europa is located in close proximity to all major attractions of Madrid. Plenty of cafes and restaurants are around.
To and from the airport we travelled by Aeropuerto Express , tickets are 5E, get off bus at Plaza de Cibeles. From there is 15 – 20 min on foot to the hotel. If you have heavy suitcases take a taxi at Plaza de Cibeles.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

930 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    502
    350
    55
    12
    11
See reviews for
206
408
69
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We didn't research this hotel a lot before booking it for our first trip to Madrid in March. We stayed 3 nights. The location could not have been better - it's right on the Plaza del Sol, the center of Madrid. Upon arriving (very easy by train from the airport), the staff was very polite and they upgraded us to a corner room with two balconies overlooking the square. The room was nicely decorated with all the amenities we needed. The only major consideration is that on Friday and Saturday nights (Sunday was much better), it was very loud down in the square until 3 or 4 in the morning. Definitely something to consider as it was March and quite cold; in nicer weather it would be even worse. But the location and price may be worth the trade-off.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburg, Texas
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We had a great stay at this hotel which is located on the Puerta del Sol in the heart of Madrid. We arrived by train to Madrid from Sevilla. From the Atocha Station, we jumped on the Metro which dropped us off at the Puerta del Sol Metro Station which was only steps from the Hotel. The front desk was very courteous and efficient with our check-in. Rooms were spacious, modern and very clean. Everything is in walking distance or a quick Metro ride. Stay here.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony overlooking the Puerta del Sol for some interesting people watching at all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

Everything you need close at hand. My husband and I have stayed here many times. Its great and if this is your first time in Madrid I recommend it for the location. Corte Inglés is across the street and you can spend an amazing amount of time just browsing the grocery store in the basement.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

If you want an easy time in Madrid then this hotel is excellent. It is right in the centre next to Sol metro station and train station. Easy to get to from airport. We had 2 rooms with balconies looking over sol and the only noise we could hear was the clock bell sometimes but couldn't hear any noise from the square which was great. Room was tidy and nice.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimberley, Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Right on the main plaza (Puerto de Sol) and our room had a small balcony that overlooked the plaza. Over the next 3 days and nights, watching the crowds in the plaza are major entertainment.

Most areas are nearby. We walked to Plaza Mayor, Plaza Santa Ana (several good dining choices), Plaza de Oriente and the Palacio Real. The Museo Reina Sofia (don't miss the "Picassos"!) and Prado Museum are a bit far (take the Metro). But a slow stroll back to the Hotel Europa up the "pedestrian" Calle de las Huertas offers many small cafes for lunch or dinner.

The rooms are large and clean and the staff usually addresses you by name and is friendly and very helpful.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a balcony room on the side facing the plaza - it's worht it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Mill, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We stayed here in July 2012. It was easy to get to from the airport using trains and the subway. There is a subway stop in Puerta del Sol right in front of the hotel. Check in was easy and our room overlooked the plaza. I was concerned about noise, but the windows are very solid and noise was not an issue. The restaurant provides good food at a decent price. Sit outside to enjoy the people watching!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking Puerta del Sol.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Europa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Europa

Address: Calle del Carmen 4, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#31 Family Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, T4B, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Europa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europa Hotel Madrid
Hotel Europa Madrid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Europa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.