We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for a family” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Europa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Europa to your Saves list
Hotel Europa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle del Carmen 4, 28013 Madrid, Spain (Centro)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Super Offer/Super Oferta
Ranked #28 of 452 Hotels in Madrid
Marshallville, GA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great value for a family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

They have a room for five, it was a great deal for my wife and I with our 3 kids. Cafe has great coffee, and churros con chocolate. Walking distance to everywhere. Stayed other places in Madrid this is the best in the city center.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    712
    521
    74
    14
    14
See reviews for
321
592
97
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Panama City, Florida
Level Contributor
98 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012 via mobile

This is the best location to stay in Madrid. Period. Just bring earplugs. Most of the rooms are right on the Puerta Del Sol plaza, and when I say right on the plaza, I mean right on the plaza. Friday and Saturday nights last until 4am and earplugs are mandatory. But guess what? It's still worth the hassle of earplugs to be right in the middle of the action. All of the fantastic places and things to do are only a short stroll from the hotel. Metro, train, bus connections right there on the plaza. The staff was wonderful. Recommend you pass on the included breakfast at the hotel... The desk gives you a card each morning to take to the restaurant, but it only gets you a croissant, a roll with butter and jelly, a glass of juice, and a cup of coffee. They have a great menu of many hot dishes, so, I would skip the included breakfast and order off of the menu. I will return to this hotel on my next trip to Madrid!

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Walking into the lobby feels like a taste of Spanish history - the dark woods, the attentive staff, the attention to details. It is evident when you check in that the hotel wants you to have a very pleasant stay. We actually loved our room which overlooked the Puerta del Sol and provided an excellent view of the plaza and the always interesting people passing through. We were there on a Saturday night, and though the glass doors to the balcony were well insulated, we still heard a lot of noise. In all fairness to the hotel, it was a Saturday night and there had just been a large peaceful demonstration near the Congress building many blocks away. We actually enjoyed being right at the Plaza de Neptuno where many of the protesters were gathering. It was safe and the Spanish are very polite and friendly. They also know how to party late into the night - if not all night! Smiles!! We might have joined them if we had not had such an early flight the next day. We could also feel the subway shaking our room at various times and hear sirens throughout the night. I had earplugs so the noise was more manageable for me. Having said all of that, I would definitely stay here again but maybe ask for a quieter room. It's hard to give up that view though!!

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, you might want to ask for a quieter room such as overlooking the courtya...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
126 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

My husband and I could not have been happier with our first look at Madrid and the Hotel Europa. It is everything it claims to be and I echo what others have said in positive reviews. Such a helpful and friendly staff, contemporary and perfectly immaculate rooms and baths, fabulous location on Puerta del Sol...everything is in walking distance. The adjoining restaurant is a perfect place for coffee and breakfast. It's such a great spot...hope to return someday!

Room Tip: I'll bet they're all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Stayed here for a week (oct 6-12). This is by far the best hotel I ever stayed in Europe. The room it's so big for European standard and very clean as well. All the workers are also very helpful and knowledgeable about the city. The location of this hotel is so strategic. It's located at Porto Del Sol which is easy access to everything you can ever ask for, food, shopping, entertainment etc.. The Sol subway station it's just 3 min walk from the hotel so it's another plus point if you plan to visit other places via subway. One thing I was surprised its how clean the subway in Madrid was. There're many street performance during the night starting from evening so it's a nice place to be after dinner if you wish to taking easy before hitting the sack. Other than being aware of pick pocket, I never felt so safe in a place like Madrid. There literally police everywhere at the square and outside the hotel patrolling. There're many alfresco cafe outside the hotel where you can sit down to watch the world goes by. All and all, this is the hotel to stay if you're in Madrid.

Room Tip: Some people might not like it but I would recommend to have a room facing the square. It can be a bi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, CA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

The location was perfect...only steps away from the metro...
Upon our arrival the hotel staff let us know that we could change our room if we found it too noisy.
I was pleased to find out that the "noise" was merely a lone violin player entertaining us with beautiful music each night. No, we did not change rooms.
While the room was a bit small compared to American style hotels, it was more than adequate and actually quite roomy for our needs. In fact, we found it quite charming with the beautiful red drapes at the large double windows.

The bathroom was extremely clean and a towel warmer is provided.

We enjoyed staying here and would definitely stay here again. We were able to walk to the Prado Museum--it's a long walk--but it made for an enjoyable day.

Room Tip: Our room faced the street...one of my favorite things to do in the morning was to open the shutters...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I stayed one night in this hotel. I picked it specifically off of tripadvisor and I am please to report that the praise this hotel gets is fully justified. I had a minor problem with wireless connectivity overnight, but my machine is known to have some problems every now and then.

I made an explicit request for a quiet room and I was extremely happy with it. It was overlooking the courtyard, but that is exactly what they wanted. The staff were very efficient and professional. The room was very clean and functional. Let us not forget that the location is sensational. I am now recommending this hotel to everyone coming to visit Madrid wanting to stay downtown.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Hotel Liabeny
Hotel Liabeny
#27 of 452 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 stars 1,649 reviews
Centro
Hotel Regina
Hotel Regina
#87 of 452 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 stars 2,636 reviews
Centro
Hotel Francisco I
Hotel Francisco I
#36 of 452 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 stars 1,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Arguelles
Sercotel Suites Viena
Sercotel Suites Viena
#25 of 452 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 stars 846 reviews
Centro
Praktik Metropol
Praktik Metropol
#81 of 452 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 stars 926 reviews
Malasana
Hotel Atlantico
Hotel Atlantico
#8 of 452 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 stars 2,722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Europa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Europa

Address: Calle del Carmen 4, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#22 Family Hotel in Madrid
#151 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Europa 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Otel, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Europa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europa Hotel Madrid
Hotel Europa Madrid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Europa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.