We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel and Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Regina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Regina to your Saves list
Hotel Regina
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19 Alcala Street, 28014 Madrid, Spain (Centro)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
50% off room rate
Ranked #53 of 457 Hotels in Madrid
Newnan, Georgia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great Hotel and Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Just got back from a 3 night trip to Madrid, Spain staying at the Hotel Regina. The location is right next to the Metro which was nice and easy to get to the airport. It's also close distance to all the restaurants, bars and shopping. We got the standard double-twin room which was plenty big and had a nice size bathroom. It was very clean and located at the back side of the hotel which was nice considering we had no street noise. We didn't eat the breakfast buffet but it looked quite nice. I'd recommend heading to the Mercado de San Miguel which is about a 15 minute walk if you take a right out of the hotel just past Plaza Mayor.

Room Tip: Stay in the back of the hotel if you don't want the street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReginaMadrid, Gerente at Hotel Regina, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear client.
Your opinion is very important for the hotel, and we, re delighted to know
that your stay with us was satisfactory and memorable.
We hope welcome you again in your next visit to Madrid.
Thank you for your time.
Best regards.
Carlos López.
Director.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,067
    912
    198
    58
    31
See reviews for
357
1,072
161
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rome
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

We spent a week at the Regina, first-time travellers to Madrid, and were very happy with the place. Great location, just a short walk from very good restaurants (for breakfast, try Bar Suecia on calle del Cruz, for wine and tapas La Soberbia, off Puerta del Sol). The service was fantastic, the rooms immaculately clean and surprisingly large. One thing to bear in mind: this is an old building and walls and ceilings are thin, so you do get (at least in the room we stayed in) a live-feed of what your neighbours are up to. Also, the street noise on weekend nights is quite something. However, this is, I guess, something you will encounter with most places in the centre of Madrid - just bring good earplugs. Heartily recommend this place nevertheless!

Room Tip: Perhaps try to avoid the rooms facing onto Calle d'Alcala to cut some of the street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReginaMadrid, Gerente at Hotel Regina, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear client.
It,s always nice to know that you have had a pleasant stay with us,
due to the service as well as the cleanliness and location of the hotel.
We are working to improve and ensure that our customers have a
pleasant and excellent service and your words help us.
We thank you very much for your feedback.
Best regards.
Carlos López.
Director.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinsale, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Just back after 6 days at the Regina hotel in Madrid .
This is a very popular hotel not just with residents but also the locals as there is plenty of life throughout the hotel foyer all day & night.There is no need really to use taxis as all the attractions can be walked from this location. Very comfortable queen size bed & the room also had a small balcony It was freezing in Madrid however there were very cozy blankets laid on if required so did not present a problem . Rooms were totally serviced every day with complimentary wifi & safe Can recommend this hotel without reservation!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We spent two nights at Regina which is perfectly located close to many attractions in beautiful Madrid. Very clean and modern hotel, nice lobby, large, clean and very well equipped rooms with comfortable beds. Super helpful front desk that knows a thing or two about customer service. When in Madrid, will stay at Regina again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReginaMadrid, Gerente at Hotel Regina, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear client.
Thank you very much for your comments about the location, cleanliness
and mainly about the attentions and kindness of our staff during your stay.
It,s very important for us to know our client´s opinion, and of course
we thank very much your feedback.
We hope welcome you again when you return to Madrid.
Thank you again for choosing us.
Best regards.
Carlos López.
Director.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Great hotel thanks to Trip Advisor. We couldn't have asked for a more central location with the Sevilla Metro stop right outside the front door and only a few steps to Puerta del Sol and Gran Via right around the corner. Valentin at the front desk was tremendously helpful with everything from tours to restaurants to shopping. The rooms were a typical European size, however, they were modern and clean. I will definitely recommend this hotel to others traveling to Madrid.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReginaMadrid, Gerente at Hotel Regina, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear client.
We thank you very much for the description of your experience in our
hotel. Your feedback about location and treatment is the
best incentive, not only for the management, but also for the hotel staff:
our most important purpose is making of your stay an unforgettable
experience.
we hope welcome you again in your next visit to Madrid.
Thank yor again for recommending us.
Best regards.
Carlos López.
Director.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012 via mobile

We had booked this hotel via travel zoo for an excellent price. We were very pleased on arrival with the feel of the hotel lobby - it had an understated elegance and an old style feel to it. This contrasted greatly with the ultra modern room - what a surprise! The only slightly disappointing aspect was the service. We had to go and chase up our bags via the concierge on arrival and the breakfast staff weren't over friendly or efficient. However the location and the hotel ambience, more than made up for this. We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReginaMadrid, Gerente at Hotel Regina, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Dear client.
Thank you very much for your time. We are pleased that the ambience and location are right for you. We are working to improve and ensure that our customers have a pleasant stay and excellent service and your words are very helpful.
We hope welcome you again in your next visit to Madrid.
Thank you again for choosing us.
Sincerely.
Carlos López.
Director.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

The location is nice and very convenient. The staff was adequate. The room was renovated and decent. The price was nice.

The street noise? That was terrible.

Literally didn't sleep but a few hours at a time while in Madrid - and it wasn't by choice. Loved the city and will absolutely be back but we will find a different hotel.

To note, it appears that the hotel is divided into two distinct areas: 1) renovated 2) not renovated. The renovated rooms are modern and fine enough (albeit cold - heat wouldn't go above anything considered comfortable and the Madrid nights can be chilly) but holy crap, the non-updated rooms look like a combination of 1970's era hostels mixed with a poorly funded mental ward.

Room Tip: be prepared to wake up to house keeping and for them to ignore the "do not disturb" sign
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReginaMadrid, Gerente at Hotel Regina, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear client.
We are glad that the location and staff have been to your liking.
We regret the problems caused by noise, we are working to improve and ensure that our customers have a pleasant stay, we apologize for it
We hope to see you on your next visit to Madrid and see that we have improved.
Thank you for your time.
Sincerely.
Carlos López.
Director.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Regina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Regina

Address: 19 Alcala Street, 28014 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro , Sol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#39 Family Hotel in Madrid
#117 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Regina 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Regina has a superb location in the heart of Madrid, next to the famous Puerta del Sol and in front of the Sevilla metro station. It has a rich buffet breakfast, and free Wi-Fi access. The hotel offers a variety of modern and stylish rooms with air conditioning, pay TV and satellite TV, large work desk and private bathroom with free toiletries. The Restaurant Amayra serves Mediterranean cuisine prepared with seasonal, local ingredients. The restaurant also has a wine cellar featuring over 60 international wines. Hotel Regina is ideally located for visiting Madrid's most popular sights. The Prado and Thyssen museums are a short walk away ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, T4B, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Regina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Regina Madrid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Regina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.